We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet rustic place, limited aircon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Ranked #119 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet rustic place, limited aircon”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The place itself is reasonably nice, quite rustic and not necessarily luxury. Quite far from the beach though and you have to fork out quite a bit to get private transport to the other side of the island. Nice if you wanna get away from the standard tourist accommodations though. The owner in our experience is a bit blunt and absent, except when it comes to the payment seems very impatient about that. Well, Fair enough. One more thing that doesn't seem to be very obvious from the website: only 1 bedroom has air-conditioning ! Not really what we expected. Wifi was not working either, owner was not around to report. Loved the hammock on the deck. Wouldn't go back though. After 2 nights we changed our accommodation to a lovely hotel at the other side of the island. Not our thing.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    1
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
40
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Mango House is on a more laid back time schedule. you're still around everything you need (shopping, restaurants, the pier, etc) however you still feel like you are in your own little paradise, surrounded by local culture. This makes for a truly unique experience of Little Koh Lanta.
The rooms are on stilts right over the ocean, nothing better than the lapping of waves as you fall asleep, and you can't beat fishing off your deck with an ice cold Singha in hand!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bie_beach_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed at Mango House villas and we enjoyed our weekend tremendously. The 180 degree view from our villa was amazing. The sunrise was truly spectacular.
Old Town is a great location for exploring Thai culture. There are several good Thai restaurants and coffee shops in town. It's also a great step-off point for exploring the local islands--next time we will plan to stay longer so we have time to go boating.
The sandy beaches are on the other side of the island, where all the tourists are. We were quite happy to escape the crowds.

Room Tip: The fan-cooled rooms get more light. You don't really need air-con anyway--there is a nice wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugened1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I realy loved the place, nice clean, i have a nice time sitting on the deck in front of my room enjoyng my coffee in the morning or my cool drinks late in the afternoon, never been so relaxed before! great place, great memories!

Room Tip: No wifi, no tv...holliday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizzitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

this was our best holiday ever as Thailand lovers!
if you're looking for a genuine holiday experience in the middle of an authentic fisher village, this is the place.
when you're open to meet locals, you might find here some new friends.
from the first moment, it felt like our second home.
the construction of the house (and yes, i must admit, there is room for improvement but the owner is aware and taking care of that....for the moment you pay for what you get and it's a fair price), the view, the surroundings......I can only say.....woooooooooooowwwww!
only one warning, if you're a woose and/or looking for a posh or pampered stay, don't book this place (it will be too much adventures and authentic)!
for the others....stay away....this is our place ;-)
one point of advice for the owner, can you move the light in the kitchen a little bit. when I was standing on a chair and moved a bit too far to the right, that light was shining directly in my eyes ;-)
thanks for that. if you are willing to do that....we'll be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This place more than exceeded my expectations. It's not for everybody because it is a little rustic. But what it has is charm. I love being right on the water. I spent most of my time in the hammock on the deck. I found Duane to be very helpful every step of the way. The house was clean and better than i thought. It is a great value. I really can't imagine why anybody wouldn't love it. I'm coming back the first chance I get.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Now, I know there are some people who will think that any poor review of the mango house is simply because it's not a "resort" or "modern". That could not be farther from the truth. We WANTED an authentic experience and house. What we DIDNT want was to be insulted and hassled.
Yes, it was disorganized upon arrival/check in, but soon the two brothers "running" the place warmed up and were friendly. As with any lodgings, we paid a deposit prior to our arrival and after neither brother made any mention about the remaining balance for days after our arrival, we assumed that it would be due upon checking out.
Old town is small, quaint and quiet, so a new face is certainly something that will catch your attention...so I took notice when after a few days, a new comer- the "owner" (Duane) had been around for he better part of a day, he even saw me come out of my room around noon (from his barstool) and said hello. I walked past him (without knowing he was the owner) no less than 4 times that day. Late that evening, as we all got ready for bed, Duane pounded on the door and then OPENED it without invitation, and then went around back and startled the women from the group who were sitting on the deck and told them to go pay their bill. It was very alarming and extremely unprofessional. A member of our group changed out of her pajamas, went out to talk with him, and came back exasperated. He was very rude to her and very begrudgingly told her that we could settle our balance the next morning.
We are not a group of wimpy girls, we are all accomplished, professional women who travel extensively for work and for pleasure with our respective families. This was not our first time abroad. We have stayed in the poshest of villas and slept in rustic open air jungle tree houses and have loved them all. What ruined our stay in Old Town was the disrespectful way we were treated. Duane was aggressive, rude and belligerent. We are far too old and established to be treated like we are a group of criminals trying to skip out on our bill. We left the mango house as soon as alternate lodging was secured and didn't look back (after our bill was paid in full, of course).

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrLanta, Owner at Mango Guesthouse + Villas, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
This group of so called "professional well-traveled" women were the rudest, most self-important group of Americans to ever stay at Mango House. It is explained very clearly when the booking is made that final payment is due when the guests check in. They basically ignored my request for payment or several days until I was fed up and demanded payment. Also it was clearly stated in the booking details that each unit has a maximum occupancy of 3 people per unit... they however moved beds and furniture around from unit to unit damaging it and the walls in several units so they could all cram into the aircon unit. Yes please don't come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
3.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
667 reviews
6.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,015 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Guesthouse + Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Guesthouse + Villas

Property: Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Address: 45 Sriraya Road, Moo 2 | Lanta Old Town, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Houses – a collection of authentic, Chinese-style wooden pole houses that have been converted into stylish, over-the-sea villas and suites. Each of these vacation home rentals is located directly on the ocean in an old Chinese fishing village named Lanta Old Town on Ko Lanta Island in Krabi, Thailand.Lanta Old Town is located on the nature-rich, southeast coast of Koh Lanta, only 15 minutes away from the beaches and tourist areas on the west coast — yet far enough to allow the village to retain its traditional culture and charm. Mango House is also famous for its quality, western-style food, coffees and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Guesthouse + Villas Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing