We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing Muesli & Coffee & Smiles”
Review of The Asylum

The Asylum
Ranked #118 of 307 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Mexican, Thai, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Located on Klong Dao Beach, on the island of Koh Lanta; The Asylum offers a relaxed Beach Side environment. Good Food, and Chilled Music, Massage and morning Yoga... Relax and Rejuvenate. Free Wifi and Book Exchange.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most amazing Muesli & Coffee & Smiles”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Where do I start about the Asylum Koh Lanta, it is the place where my heart feels at home, May is such a wonderful lady that cannot do enough to help. Food is awesome and look out for her BBQ it will blow you away.

I cant wait to return to the peace and tranquility that will be found here...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 09022010h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Asylum has the kick back atmosphere that I think of when I picture hanging out on a beach. We ate here every day we were in Ko Lanta. It is owned by an expat and his Thai wife so they make not only tasty Thai food but huge burritos and the BEST tuna sandwich I have ever tasted. The fish is fresh caught.
Try a beer while watching sunset - It goes down smooth. :) Look for the hammock on the beach to find the Asylum.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Asylum Koh Lanta is a wonderful place to chill by the beach side for a completely relaxing experience with amazing food and wonderful hosts. Michael and May make this place particularly awesome with their vibrant, caring, interesting, fun and relaxing personalities! The food tastes incredible and is made with love and care. Ive eaten many things here and loved them all! however my favourite is May's Muesli Pancakes with home made Muesli and freshly brewed coffee! A perfect way to start the day sitting by the ocean. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely service!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dropped in here for lunch one day and the owner Michael invited us for fresh seafood dinner that night on the BBQ. He picked up the fish that afternoon from the markets and safe to say it is one of the best meals we've had on our stay. Absolutely delicious! As was the lunch we had (both of us had a curry, also fantastic!).

May and Michael are wonderful hosts, very friendly and a great source of information on activities on the island.

Would definitely recommend a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Karine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hot chicken chilly. Yum!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The owner recommended the home-made chicken in chilly spices. We took it in both a salad and a sandwich, with an added chedder cheese. The chicken was fantastic - hot and spicy and goes great with the cheese (well worth the extra cash).
Good value and nice people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linis_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Asylum also viewed

 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to The Asylum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing