We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel.”
Review of Lanta Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanta Villa Resort
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reading
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family hotel.”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have stayed here 9 times over the past 14 yrs. My wife comes here for 2weeks before me & we feel she is totally safe here without me as the owners & staff keep an eye on her for me. The rooms have always been clean & tidy, the pool is cleaned regularly, breakfast is ample for the price. The restaurant needs working on though, probably as there is so much choice near by in Saladan town, they seem to have given up trying to compete with those places. Over all for the price & location we think it is the best hotel on that strip of beach, & we are looking forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    46
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After a horrendous night at Lanta Island Resort, this was a welcome change. The bungalows seemed like they had just been built and were huge inside. There is a TV, hot water, buffet breakfast included, and a nice pool for 1600 bhat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We booked a beachfront bungalow on a nearby resort, but when we arrived it was far from the beach, second floor and very dirty.

A short walk down the beach we found Lanta Villas. It was heavenly to be met with a smile and a welcome. They helped us get a refund from the other place, sent a taxi for our bags and made us feel very welcome.

The bungalows are basic (but very good value) very clean and with nice touches, like folder towel animals and flowers on the bed.
Remember Klong Dao is a low-key relaxed beach for families and backpackers. If you want luxury resorts - find another beach!

Restaurant is nice and very helpful. I got the best vegetarian food here of all our trip.
Every evening they get fresh seafood and cook anything you like.

A nice surprise was the excellent language skills of the staff - best so far!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Came here after a sleepless night at Lanta Island Resort and had a very nice vacation here.
Stayed for 8 nights and would have stayed longer if we could.
Breakfast OK, bungalows OK at the price, AC quiet, pool very nice five steps from the beach, staff OK.
Located in the middle of Klong Dao Beach close to lots of restaurants and bars, not that there is anything wrong with the restaurant at the hotel.
Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svempaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed in four hotels in the same price range during our Thailand trip, and this was the poorest one by far. The rooms were not very fresh, the staff felt stiff and the hotel area wasn't too cozy. Don't get me wrong, the hotel wasn't a complete disaster, but you can find plenty of other hotels in the same area that are far superior, and maybe even cheaper. The breakfast buffet was kind of insipid, and the hotel restaurant didn't really offer anything special. The hotel was also located near a reggae bar and a mosque, so the nights/mornings got kind of noisy from time to time.

A plus was that it was located right in the middle on Klong Dao beach, and there was nothing to complain about on the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0mTraubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Scandinavia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is a 1-star hotel for package travellers. If you get a good deal (means free stay), then take it, otherwise leave it. The bungalows are worn out and full with mosqitoes, the reseption is "not there" (means they are not willing to co-operate by any means or even talk to you), the breakfast in awful and cold (even if you get there at 7 o'clock?!) and people tend to get sick after eating here. By the second week, almost all visitors eat all their meals elsewhere. We stayed in a bungalow behind the kitchen and can well understand why the food is what it is. The cooks freely sneeze and cough directly into the food and nobody from the hotel staff washed their hands in the toilette. All the spice bottles, dining tables etc. are very dirty and you should see the instant coffee jar they have.

One of the worst things is the hotel manager who walks around the restaurant like a rooster, trying to "entertain" the guests and (amazingly) cheat money from them. Small sums like 50 TBH but still. This is something we have never encountered before.

All the hotels have a great location in this island. This is no exception.

The cleaning ladies seem to have working hours from 7 to 9. If you haven't left your room by 8.30, they all sit on your porch and wait. You cannot skip cleaning (and/or early wake-up) as there is no sign you could leave on the door. Also, they only leave 1 roll of toilet paper each day so it would be difficult to skip a day.

The massage and e.g. foot scrab on the beachfront are good and inexpensive. The pool is very small and too warm (it is dark blue). There are no sun shadows (!) or pads on the sun beads.

The hotel employees live right next to the hotel and burn a smoky bonfire of trash (!) almost every day. The views from the bungalows are bad from 90% of cases.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellers36_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We were recommended Lanta Villa by a friend but were very disappointed. The positive is the location, right on the beach in the middle of Klong Dao Beach.

We experienced the entire stay as very impersonal, the reception staff were not attentive and the restaurant was not at all welcoming. In fact, we saw very few guests eating there.

Our bungalow was a "De Luxe" but we could never figure out how. It was very simple and not at all nice. This was the only accomodation on our Thailand trip where we had cockroaches. All bungalows were painted in horrible colors. Our bungalow was located on the edge of the area and it felt a bit scary to go there when it was dark. The cleaning was very poor and the area was not very well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#59 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#36 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#29 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Villa
Holiday Villa
#53 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Villa Resort

Property: Lanta Villa Resort
Address: 14 Moo 3 | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lanta Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Villa Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing