We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Phra Nang Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phra Nang Lanta
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
london
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We spent 8 nights in Phra Nang Lanta just before Christmas 2009 and could have stayed for even longer.

It has all been said by previous reviewers : beautiful spacious rooms with huge balconies facing the most magical beach. However the bed was very hard , so we asked for, and got extra duvets to go over the mattress. We loved the pretty gardens and little pool.

The staff are absolutely delightful , especially the lovely lady chef who produced amazing banana pancakes and the lovely cheerful receptionists.

We actually spent very little time in our room as most days we spent diving with the wonderful dive school Scubafish just next door. Saffron runs a fantastic operation there with a great fun bunch of instructors and DMs. We did our advanced Open Water Course with Corinna , a lovely German instructor with the patience of a saint ( she needed it with me !) The dive sites in the area such as the King Cruiser wreck, Ko Haa, Hin Muang and Hin Daeng were awesome , we saw at least half a dozen leopard sharks.

We only had breakfast in the hotel as there were several simple atmospheric and excellent restuarants on the beach. We enjoyed them all and usually rounded the evening off with a visit to the Why Not Bar to listen to some great live music.

We rarely go back to the same place as the world is full of fantastic places but we have decided to go back next Christmas !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    90
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
43
136
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Beautiful place, the design of the building is very creative and the room I had (starry night) was lovely. All rooms have an ocean view. Beautiful little bay at the quiet end of the island. The only downside to the room was the bed was truly rock hard! The hardest Ièd felt in Thailand. Each room is decorated differently so it makes the very small inn (15 rooms) super charming. The staff are lovely and accommodating. There are free mopeds to use but they are manual, but you can rent an automatic (much easier especially if your not familiar with mopeds.... the island is a little hilly and I spent the 300B for auto). Breakfast was fine, standard, and the lady who makes the eggs was lovely. The hotel will arrange tours for you for pretty much anything you want to do. To be honest, I went snorkeling at the 4 islands and at Phi Phi and I have seen better fish (not to mention turtles and rays) in Mexico and Hawaii. Plus there is lots of sea lice so you will get bitten (not too big a deal but itchy in the water and for some it swells a little).

Worst thing about the hotel (which really impacted my enjoyment and stay) were the very rude and unfriendly French and Italian tourists ( of note, there were some lovely Swedish tourists who stay for a month but dont pretend to own the place!). It seems that they go there every year and really the tone is that they own the place. Seriously. There are not enough deck chairs for everyone ( a problem the hotel must fix) and so these folks get up (someone in their party does at least) at the crack of dawn to put towels on most of the chairs. I went to the pool at 7am and there was only 1 chair left,... and it was broken! Very frustrating. The hotel clerk was aware of it (she was the one who said they come every year) but it seems that the manager does nothing (like get more deck chairs... how hard is that!), Actually, the absence of a hotel manager was clear and detracts from the place.

I have to say that I am uncertain whether to recommend this hotel. For the design of the hotel itself, yes, absolutely. Beautifully creative architect obviously had some great designs. But other than that there are a ton of places to stay at comprable prices, with enough deck chairs to go around and hopefully not such a lock hold of regulars making the rest of the occupants feel uncomfortable (the Swedish people noticed it too and seemed equally annoyed). Such is the price for a more intimate hotel I imagine! In the end, I will recommend it but with reservations, I will not be returning and would try somewhere else if I was to come to Ko Lanta again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beezienu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have sayed there for one week with my two young kids. The rooms are spacious and generally clean. The bed sheet needs to be refreshed however, but that's the only bad comment about the room I could find. There is a fantastic view on the bay and there is a day bed that can be used for an extra person. Internet is free...

The breakfast is good, but don't be in a rush for the service. I fell in love with the pancakes... For diner, I do not recomment the place. They still need to improve their overall service experience in that regards. Try the drunken sailors just behind. The food is excellent and the price is right.

The staff is great in general and will help you on your activity planning

The location is in the southern part of the island, and therefore is a little bit isolated from the action and the shopping. The beach is ok but a little bit rocky. There is a 7 eleven at the corner and a little stall where they do local pancakes...Hmm!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Phranang Lanta is very nice and especially the rooms. Kantiang beach is also one of the best spots at Koh Lanta and actually the bend near 7-11 offers a lot of good experiences like the cafe Drunken Sailer, the massage place, the slop shop. Breakfast at Phranang is very good, but else the restaurant needs to improve the quality of the food and the size of the portions. There is a reason why everyone goes to Baan lanta for dinner.
Personally I lacked the presence of the management/the owner. This place has all the potential of being one of the best places at Koh Lanta but the owner needs to there to fine-tune food and service!! A tip to the owner - take a trip to La Laanta and see how the owners are present to ensure that everyone has a good time.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krak
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

lovely small hotel...very well maintained...efficient but laid back staff...perfect

  • Liked — staff ,pool
  • Disliked — noise from bar next door
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank currypata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#47 of 84 in Ko Lanta
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
429 reviews
4.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Nang Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Lanta

Property: Phra Nang Lanta
Address: 139 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Lanta is a small boutique resort located on a peaceful and romantic beach of Ba Kan Tieng Bay, Lanta Yai Island, Krabi. The resort offers the comfort of a luxury hotel and the homely atmosphere of a holiday villa. Each of its 15 rooms is uniquely decorated with the breath taking view of the Andaman Sea and large balconies. Whatever you may be looking for, whether it is a relaxing weekend at the beach, a romantic honeymoon, or a beach bash with friends or a family getaway, Phra Nang Lanta can provide you with the ultimate holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phra Nang Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing