We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaw Kwang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I were expecting such a nice place at 3,200 THB a night, deluxe bungalow, beach front. Don't expect much, and you will not be disappointed. The only good thing about this place is the beautiful pool. The beaches farther down the island were more beautiful and our bathroom smelled like sewage. Staff was helpful very helpful though.

Room Tip: Don't go here for New Year's Eve, the dinner was very average, we left and then had a good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    96
    49
    29
    21
See reviews for
60
118
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Booked through Booking dot com who had an excellent rate for a standard bungalow. It proved to be excellent value for a three star resort. The beach position is spectacular, the pool is good and right on the beach. The grounds are large, lots of Casuarina trees for shade. The beach itself is shallow shelving, soft sand, ideal for walking along at low tide, and for children. Accommodation is adequate, clean. The water heater is a small electric box type which doesn't generate much heat, but then the weather isn't cold. Each chalet has a verandah, great for reading when it rains. Breakfast was fine, a separate egg station, not the greatest selection of fruit but it had fresh yoghurt, muesli, half decent coffee, and local baked bread, (although most people took the bog standard white sliced, don't ask me why!) For the price I paid - compared with Twin Bay, just next door, and Lanta Pura, both of which I've stayed at - this was just as good, and the rate was a steal! Bit out of the way, but there was transport available on call. A little private beach bar/restaurant off to the end of the beach to the right - which looks from a distance as if it is part of the next door hotel (which it is not) - is worth a visit. Nice place for a sundowner and inexpensive meal.

Room Tip: The beach facing rooms have the good view. But all are similarly spacious, quiet, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

At the very end of the bay this hotel, on the beach has good service and friendly staff. To be really good it needs wifi in the rooms and a safe for valuables. The hotel is clean and staff friendly and numerous. Valuables can be kept at the reception in safety deposit boxes but limited to 10,00 pm closure. The sea has a great tidal difference each day and the bay is huge with guests walking or jogging around the bay. Very good pool albeit warm fresh water. Only one dog in the grounds and on the beach and gentle at that. Tuc Tucs always available to visit Main Street 1.5km. A gentle pace without many children and suitable for mature visitors. Rooms reasonably sized, bathrooms adequate with hot showers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shopwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Clean bungalow, beautiful view, friendly and helpful staff.

There are better deals to eat along the beach and if you are vegetarian don't eat here, they redid our pad thai twice both times with mini shrimp in them

Pool is beyond beautiful with AMAZING VIEW!

Very recommended

They will tul tuk you into town for a good rate

Room Tip: Get a bungalow near the lobby to have wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BranBran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

A little paradise in the best beach in the island. The first line of bungalow are direct in front of the beach, the staff are lovely and friendly, The bungalow is very cool. I adore the sea view, the swimming pool is fab.
Unfortunately i was in low season and the sea was dirty because of the current coming from PHI PHio Island and because of the season, If you go from November to April u can scuba diving there is a reef.
If you are not looking for a crowdy place this is not the place!
If you are looking for an incontaminate paradise this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Bungalows in first lines beach front got a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel was not so easy to find but with a little help from locals we found it very quickly. The first thing you see enter the hotel is a nice view at the sea and at the nice swimming pool. We hired a not too expensive room (1400 Thb) with booking.com and we were so happy with the AC because the previous night on Tonsai beach we only had a fan. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was okay. The location is quite convenient if you have a scooter, otherwise it can be a quite long walk to the main street but there are some nice restaurants quite close to the hotel. The breakfast in the hotel was basic but okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in the cheaper bungalows section, about 500b per night. The bungalows have all you would ask for at that price, also warm water. The location is very good if you have your own scooter, if not, the walk might be a bit long to reach Saladan.

Staff was very helpful, we also had a broken toilet during the night but without hesitation the staff member gave us the key for another bungalow so we had an extra one for free until the problem was fixed :)

Would recommend to someone seeking cheap and party-free accomodation near Saladan.

Room Tip: Cheap 500b bungalows in the back, which are not listed on Lanta guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tseppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaw Kwang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaw Kwang Beach Resort

Property: Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
Address: 16 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaw Kwang Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kaw Kwang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaw Kwang Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing