We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pimalai Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SriLanta Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Long Beach Chalet(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
548
166
25
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
166
25
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstex mextropical daze roomsea breeze bungalowmanager joedive relaxdive shopbeautifully kept gardenssouth endwatching the sunsetthai foodsun loungersphi phiscuba divinglounge chairslow seasonspent nightsscooter rental
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 gorgeous weeks in April / May 2010. Loved every minute of it.
We rented the Beach Bungalow & it was always kept immaculatley clean by the domestic staff. Bar/ Cafe staff were lovely, always smiling & happy to see you.
We were there on Employee Day, where the managers paid for the staff to visit PhiPhi Island for the day! (I wish my employer would do that!) A lovely thing for any manager to do for their staff to show they are appreciated.
I really have no faults at all with Ko Lanta or Castaway - it was beautiful & I will return one day

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vadababy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here back in April and had a great time.

The staff were friendly and the food was great.

Best day in Thailand was hiring a scooter and going into town.

We would 100% come back

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Claire_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I'm loathe to spread the word on how nice this place is, as I'd like to keep it secret, but in fairness to the owner, must concur with all the other positive reviews.

Had a magical four nights here, and delighted the place lived up to its reviews.

The resort is well laid out, bungalows/villa's confortable and nice design touches. Food here was excellent, in fact consistently the best we had in Lanta.

Darin (the owner) is fantastic, chilled out friendly and helpful. The massage on the beach is a real treat, and coconut milkshakes delicious!

Ko Lanta is lovely, developing quickly, but absent from girly bars, beach sarong sellers, and thumping techno music 24/7. Pretty sunsets, few bars, nice day trips, and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fui1980sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here in a fan bungalow for one night for only 1000 Tbt!extremely good value the resort is really well kept the landscaping is lovely and the restaurant sunbathing area was lovely!we would have loved to stay longer but there was no availability!:-( !!

One point to note the adjacent beach isn't picture perfect alot of coral making it hard to walk!however this is not the resorts fault and it would not stop me from going back again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We spent 4 nights relaxing at the Lanta Castaway at the end of low season, which meant we got a great deal on a spacious, comfortable bungalow. The biggest surprise for us was the lack of beachfront: none of the bungalows, not even the expensive one closest to the beach, has what I would describe as a killer view. Ours was the 3rd bungalow from the beach, and from our cute little patio (just big enough for 2 chairs) we could see only a speck of sea. For amazing views, you just need to sit on the patio by the bar... one of our evenings had a breathtaking sunset.

Given a limited amount of coastline, I actually approve of the decision to put the houses farther back and make the common area nicer with a better view, but this means that you shouldn't worry about splurging on more expensive rooms at this resort: all rooms except the low-end budget ones seemed pretty similar, in my opinion. The second-to-lowest-end bungalows (can't remember the official name) are duplexes, so you have a shared wall but otherwise the same nice setup that we had in our standalone bungalow. I guess one perk of the more expensive ones is that you're close enough to reception to get a decent WiFi signal!

The room was well-appointed with towels, comfy beds, TV, good A/C, fridge. Bathroom was nothing fancy. It was very peaceful, quiet, and clean.

The beach immediately in front of the resort was mostly non-existent during our stay: a wide outflow of water was draining constantly from some kind of inland lagoon, requiring that you wade across it to reach the ocean. But as soon as you start walking down the beach, you find much nicer sand and fewer drainages to contend with. We walked the length of the beach on many days, enjoying the clean sand. Minimal garbage or debris, lots of dead coral and shells to sift through. Calm pretty water, no waves.

Breakfast was good, but the coffee was terrible. I really liked that they let you order anything you wanted: eggs and pancakes, side of fruit, no problem! All included in the rate.

We ate a lot of meals at the resort, and they were solid but nothing especially stands out in my memory. Don't order the burger, but you already knew that... after 2 months of local food, we fell prey to temptation and tried one. Similarly, if you're accustomed to real Mexican or American/Mexican food, don't try those dishes either: it's just not possible to get stellar Mexican food outside of the Americas. The guests were mostly European, so perhaps it's appealing to them.

You could eat at half the price at any of the less atmospheric casual restaurants just outside the resort, and we tried a few. The 7-11 is really convenient, and a great place to buy cheap(er) beer if needed.

We didn't have solid sunny weather, so we opted against the semi-expensive $60 USD snorkeling trips. Also, we're snorkeling snobs, and this area just isn't top-notch enough for us to pay big bucks to snorkel. If we had predictably sunny weather, we might have gone just to enjoy the boat ride, since we are suckers for boats and the dive shop staff were friendly.

In general, the island Ko Lanta wasn't our favorite scene in teh world, but we came to sit around, read books, write blog posts, and relax, and that was most definitely accomplished!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gradientdescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews