We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Perfect spot for our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it! Perfect spot for our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Lanta Castaway and wish we could have stayed more! The location at the south end of Long Beach was perfect... it was nice and quiet- not crowded like the north end. The food is delicious! We had some nachos once and then we had an amazing Penang curry for dinner. Great drinks at the bar, and they serve you free popcorn as well!

We hope to make it back to Ko Lanta again, and I'd definitely return to Lanta Castaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    156
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
114
363
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

No need to go into too much detail except to say the 7 nights we stayed here were excellent. From the minute we arrived (late with one bag missing from flight) they kept the kitchen open as they thought we would be hungry. Tropical Daze Room was great and being a little bit further from the restaurant etc. no problem at all. Access to dive shop a real plus for divers. Had a drink or two with owner on last night which was nice. A definite recommendation and great find.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromma, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed in a family garden bungalow in January 2012, me my husband and our teenangers. It was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant served wonderful food, we ate here, breakfast, lunch and dinners almost every day. The food is really excellent both thai and western food was great.
One night we hade the table right on the beach, it was fantastic.
The beautiful beach was situated only a few steps from our bungalow, sun chairs and umbrellas free of charge. No irritating sales people, only the sea, sand, sun and some other tourists but not crowded at all, which was a nice surprise, beeing there in high season.
The oil massage on the beach was the best we had in Thailand. We could really recommend this hotel.
.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YlvaBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

There really isn't much to say about Lanta Castaway other than amazing! We stayed here over Christmas and had the most fabulous experience. Everything from the food, the facilities, the staff and the beach was great. The hotel property is quiet and somewhat remote (there are hotels on either side but the area is still quiet). We stayed in one of the Garden Bungalows, which at first, we were a bit nervous about (no A/C, no true shower) but it ended up being one of our favourite rooms we stayed in during our three weeks in Thailand. The hotel owner likes to mingle with the guests and we shared some drinks with him on Christmas Eve night. Overall, this place is a little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: Fantastic!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephyeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Can I live here? This place is perfect! Air conditioning, hot water, friendly staff, good food (get the banana pancakes and the omlett at breakfast), beautiful beach, and the hands down best massage I have had in my life ( I've had A LOT). We went during the low season and practically had the resort to ourselves.
I don't know what else to say! It is just perfect!

Room Tip: We had the room right across from the reception desk. It was low season so it wasn't noisy but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 6 nights. It was our best stay out of out 3 week holiday! The hotel grounds were lovely and well looked after. The owner showed us to our room which was a great size we stayed in the tropical daze. In the evenings we stayed by the bar to watch the sun set with cocktail in hand and they always gave us fresh pop corn for a snack which we got addicted to!! The bar staff were so lovely and we chatted with them. The hotel is right on long beach so you just walk up the beach and there are loads of bars and restaurants that you can chill at too.
We did a dive with dive and relax which is at the hotel, the best experience ever! The hotel booked our transfers and dag trips too. The food is great here too. On our last night it was the kings birthday and the staff asked me and my boyfriend to let of some lanterns on the beach. Was a lovely end to our stay. Koh lanta is a lovely island and relaxed and nothing like Phuket and phi phi with loads of English bars. It's the real. Thailand And we loved it! You must stay here. I would say it's more for couples and families. Thanks lanta cast away for a great stay : )

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhomewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went there during a week in January 2011.
It was a nice place with friendly people.
There are really nice dive spots (we had the chance to see Manta Rays, a Leopard shark and the visibility was really good).
You can have massages next to the beach, food was really good, especially fresh fish every evening on demand.
If you want to see more on the island, scooters can be rent easily. We just recommend this resort if you want to dive and relax.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing