We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, good food and great bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights with my husband and 2 kids, 4 and 11. Had a wonderful time. We had 2 deluxe rooms next to each other with an adjoining door, so plenty of space for 4 as each had it's own bathroom and terrace. The rooms were cleaned very day and spotless. The resort has a really relaxing atmosphere. The staff are great and very attentive to the kids. Food is good and cocktails great.
Good snorkelling just up the beach, beautiful clean sand and wonderful sunsets.
Made use of the free kayaks, which were a very nice touch, to explore the coastline. Also did a trip to Koh Rok with 'Dive and Relax' which has an office at the resort. Although quite pricey 1700 Baht for adults, it was an amazing trip to 2 deserted beaches and the best snorkelling I have ever experienced with great Thai beach picnic and very experienced staff. Loved this place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay , a nice homely place . We personanlly do not like the sterile hotel environment so found it to be perfect in that respect .Owners Darin and Nit were extremley helpful .and friendly as were the staff members .Cannot really fault anything .We did stay in the Beach Front Bungalow , the only problem could be noise from the beach bar ,it did not bother us but if you are the type where you are looking for total quiet at night then that bungalow is not for you . The staff were all great , some of them giving outstanding customer service especailly the "Tuk Tuk "man (Aye)and our lady from the beach bar (Noy)who also gave us a wonderful farewell and Lip.We had a buffet dinner there for our daughter who was getting married at the Layana and all of her 20 guests . It was awsome , Darin and Nit provided a1st class buffet dinner with service to match . It was commented on by all of the guests who were staying in other places and comments on "why did we not find this place" .We were also driven to the wedding in the owner's car . We have travelled extensively , its not often one finds a gem of a place like the Castaway .I don't know what the other comments are about with staff staring ....never noticed it .

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

This is simply a great place. Nice, immaculately clean bungalows in a wonderful setting at the bottom end of Long Beach. Your spirits are lifted from the moment you arrive. The management and staff are just the best - because the resort is small, you quickly get to know everyone and they quickly get to know you. Smiles, fun and a general ambiance of well being abound. Meeting at the bar every evening around 6pm to watch the sun go down over the Phi Phi islands whilst sipping a cocktail was a magical experience. The food in the resort is varied and excellent. There are also several great places to eat within easy walking distance - Thai Cuisine, the Red Snapper, Sanctuary (right next door through the hedge) to name but a few. Koh Lanta as a destination is also to be highly recommended - not overly developed at all and very low key. Great beaches on the west coast from north to south easily visited by moped rented from the resort (300 baht per day). For diving / snorkelling, Dive & Relax is based at the resort and is a great outfit. We took a snorkeling trip to Koh Ha in their speedboat (1700 baht pp) which was just wonderful. We also took a 4 island speedboat trip to the islands south of Koh Lanta Koh Ngai, Koh Cheuk, Koh Muk and Koh Kradan) with another company (Lanta Garden Hill) - also very memorable and well worth every baht. Overall, we spent 6 wonderful days at Lanta Castaway - I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Birgit_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We went to this hotel after being reccomended by another hotel. We stayed in an air-conditioned bungalow after looking at the sea view ones and deciding it was not worth the extra money. They didn't really have a great sea view.

The bungalow was clean and tidy, although the bathroom was not great but adequate. Our favourite thing about the hotel was the lovely beach bar with giant beds to lounge on whilst you watch the sun set.

Also enjoyed a cheap massage beside the beach which was well worth the 300 baht it cost.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Gorgeous spot on long beach, stayed in a delux bungalow which was great. Clean & spaccious. Not a lot to do on Lanta but relax on the beach and drink some Bay Breeze cocktails! Originally stayed in the fan bungalow for one night, but decided we did not like it, very small and hot - tin roof, so we then upgraded to delux for the remaining 5 nights. Rent a moped and explore the island. Apparently Leonardo Di Caprio has a house there, we couldnt find it though! Food was good, except for the eggs in the morning, disappointing. Go up the road a bit to the french cafe for the best omelettes & bread rools. Also Mr Wee's pizzeria, well worth a visit. Only one thing we did not like about the place, when you are eating the staff seem to sit and stare at you, very off putting, and then when you actually want them they are hard to catch! We moved seats on a couple of occasions because of this. Also far too many waiting staff, perhaps this is why they sit there and look at you, nothing else to do. But besides this everyone was very friendly, grounds were beautiful & well maintained. We took a day trip snorking to Ko Rok which is highly recommended, it is the most beautiful place I have ever seen, and the snorkling was fantastic. We went with Opal who were brilliant.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank johamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

What a find! A tranquil haven in Ko Lanta. Stayed in a seaview room for 6 days and our only regret is that we couldn't stay 6 days more. The room was very spacious, clean and peaceful. Daryn and Nut were perfect hosts and the staff were extremely freindly and helpful, especially Noi, Lip, Ai, Man, and Ed. Lip's Pina Colada's were to die for and the house wine was reasonably priced. Looking very much forward to returning next year although we will book early to avoid dissappointment. Thanks to all for a unforgettable stay.
Kevin and Sally xx

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogersMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I can highly recommend Lanta Castaway to any traveller wanting to have a relaxing, enjoyable and fun time on Koh Lanta. The staff were fantastic, always able to help and up for a chat, food and drink were great and the best was the rooms and location - the resort backs out onto a magnificent beach with chairs and recliners so you can watch the perfect sunset. I stayed in a beach bungalow, was clean, nice bathroom and decent bedding too. Divers will be keen to check this place out as well, they've got a great partnership with a local dive center who take a speed boat out and it leaves from the beach at the back of the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,521 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
3.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
3.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £70 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing