We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Hurray for trip advisor! We booked Lanta Castaway on the strength of the below reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed in a seaview apartment, which was huge and really clean. The TV has a few English channels on it, handy for when you just want to zone out watching rubbish TV post a day on the beach and before you go out for the evening.
We had some gorgeous meals at their outdoor restaurant. The freshly caught squid they had on display was so fresh it was glistening (difficult to describe but I'd never seen anything like it). Their bar was great - really friendly and cocktails at sunset is something you'll never forget. You should also pack in as many massages as possible, a bargain and they send you into a different world, so relaxing.
The only negative I can think of was the baby elephant show they provided one afternoon. For me, any performing animal breaks my heart and I left the resort whilst it was on. The photos on facebook depict the elephant sitting down, hardly a natural position. Perhaps this is great for kids who have never seen an elephant but certainly wasn't for me.
One piece of advice we hadn't read before travelling would be not to disregard taking the overland minibus from Krabi (if this is where you fly into) as oppose to the passenger ferry. For us, the passenger ferry took 5 hours from our hotel in Krabi to Lanta Castaway whereas the overland minibus took only 3. The passenger ferry makes you hang around for quite some time before actually departing (we were at the terminal about an hour). Yes, the passenger ferry is more scenic but frankly I'd rather have been at the Castaway Bar than at a ferry terminal.
Another bit of advice would be if you are a smoker, buy your Marlboro Lights before you head to the airport. At Bangkok, they had none (something about supply problems). This might have been a one off (mid December) but you never know.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retsbew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2010

Booked to stay here over xmas 2009 and it was brilliant. We stayed in the beach front room - which was a realy good size and had some great facilities. The one negative point was that the shower was not that hot, only slightly warmish at best going on cold some days - but this wasn't a massive problem.

The breakfasts that was included was nice too.

The dive shop - dive and relax - is the best dive operator I've ever used - so if you're into diving using them.

The bar serves popcorn with cocktails in the evening - amazing!! The barman happily made a cocktail for us that wasn't on the menu and it tasted great too !!

The massages were cheap (about a fiver) and really varied in quality depending on who did it. On two of the three occassions I had one I had a amazing person doing the massage, on the other occassion it was not so good.

It is just a quick walk up the beach to other restuarants and bars also.

If you stay here - go and eat the pad thai at Trai Trys - go up to the road, turn left, walk for about five minutes, walk past the Irish Embassy, and it is the last place on the left handside of the road. The places looks a little odd - but the pad thai was the best I have ever had anywhere and cost £1.50. Also go for drinks in Jackaroo's - it is just next to the Irish Embassy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This hotel is great
Nice breakfast, nice dinner , swimming pool = sea, there is a bar, you can get a massage, just: awesome for me!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We stayed at Lanta Castaway for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the beachfront bungalow, which is beautifully decorated and a lovely large room, with a great view.....the only negative comment is that the website is slightly misleading, this is not a beach front bungalow, we were expecting something opening out onto the beach but instead it is opposite the bar and resturant with a view of the sea. It is however the closest bungalow to the beach. Apart from this minor disappointment, we really enjoyed our stay here, the staff are really excellent, the bar is great with a fantatstic view at sunset, the sea is lovely for swimming in and you can easily walk to a variety of other resturants and bars but that are still spaced out enough that you don't feel crowded. We did try out several different resturants and felt that although the Thai food here was very good, some of the other places were slightly better, particualrly if you want fish. Would definately recommend this place, especially if you have children as the beach is so ridiculously long!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank BhamWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitLanta, Owner at Lanta Castaway Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2009

We have recently added a resort map to our website. It shows the layout of our bungalows along with approximate distances to the beach. You can find the link to the map on our 'Accomodations' page next to each room type.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed 5 nights and found the staff were very friendly and happy. The food was fantastic the best we had eaten in thailand after trying a couple of different places. The Bar staff every night were entertaining and eager to please all guests. We stayed in the seaview room whcih was very well kept, clean and airconditioned. The beach in front of resort is safe for children. We did not take our children but after staying ourselves will go back for sure and take the kids as we noticed the staff are all kid friendly. If traveling to Koh Lanta this is the place to stay. Happy holidaying

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sps13QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My family and I have recently stayed in Lanta Castaway Resort. A lot has been said about this lovely place and I do not really know what to add to all these positive comments. With their comfortable and clean rooms, their beach bar with spectacular views over longbeach and their tasty Mexican food (+ Kabobs) it truly is a slice of paradise. We would like to say a special thanks to the owners Darin and Nit, Noi and Lip at the beach bar, Ad in the restaurant and all the others we have forgotten for making us feel at home away from home. We have spend an unforgettable time in this place where nothing is too little to bother and only the best is good enough. We wish you all the best and truly hope to come back one day for another Margarita while watching the sunset.
Matteo and his family

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatteoTato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I just returned from a two week holiday with friends in various locations in Thailand and spent four of those days at the fabulous Lanta Castaway. We booked our stay over the internet which was really simple, and it was great to have an English speaker on the other end of the emails. We stayed at the very end of low season, the last three nights in October and ended up staying an extra night into November which they kindly charged us the same price for.
There were 4 of us and we stayed in a deluxe family bungalow, which was great and had interconnecting doors which you could choose to keep open or closed. The accommodation was very clean, spacious, great air con, with the option of a fan too, with a fridge and safe.
The place is in a great location, right on the beach and there are loungers you can use on the deck and just dip into the gorgeous warm blue sea when needed. There are also various restaurants and shops nearby if you fancy a change, or Ban Saladan where there is some fabulous seafood, is just a tuk tuk ride away!
We generally had breakfast (which is included and great!) and lunch at Castaway then went out for dinner, but all the food we ate was good, and there is a great variation of Thai and Western dishes.
Anyway I would highly recommend Castaway if you're looking for somewhere to stay on Ko Lanta. Its beautiful, peaceful, clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, oh and the massages are heaven!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
1.3 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £28 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing