We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't mind being Castaway here......”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wouldn't mind being Castaway here......”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Stayed here for a week in December as the first leg of a trip south-to-north, taking in Lanta, Krabi, Bangkok and Chiang Mai and really couldn't fault it. The location is just perfect, being a short ride from Saladan and right on a wonderful clean coral beach stretching for what seems like miles left and right from Lanta Castaway.
The staff were uniformly pleasant and accommodating and made us feel very welcome indeed. The accommodation is set in wonderful gardens with lush, well cared for flowering plants all over the place and there's a superb beach-front terrace with cushions, mattresses and a well-stocked bar!
The restaurant is good, with a wide choice and there's always fresh seafood available. There's a couple of nice eateries either side right on the beach if you fancy a change as well as an excellent place a few metres along to the right at the top of the drive to the main road (the name escapes me right now). The sunsets on Long Beach can be truly spectacular and we were lucky enough to catch a couple of stunners.
We were on a budget and booked one of the three wooden bungalows. These are a bit spartan having neither fridge or aircon but there's a huge ceiling fan which does the job and an excellent shower as well as a small verandah with a couple of chairs. Storage space for clothes is a bit limited but there's a few shelves and a couple of poles for hangers. Bed was plenty big enough and comfortable too - a huge all encompassing mozzie net is provided which added a comedy touch to proceedings at bedtime! So, the wooden bungalows are a bit rustic but I can honestly say I grew to love it over the course of a week. However, it's terrific value - you get a great location, great food and great staff at what I consider to be a bargain price. It's fair to say the other accommodation at the resort looked fantastic and, while wandering up and down the beach, we didn't see a place to better the Castaway.
Travel agent(s) on main road on right. 10-15 mins to Saladan by tuk-tuk.
Incidentally, although we planned to get to Lanta on the passenger ferry we were caught out by ferry sailing times and eventually arrived by mini-bus from Krabi town - it wasn't a bad journey at all and you should probably consider it as an option.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jEffrEy..UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    158
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
118
374
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Hurray for trip advisor! We booked Lanta Castaway on the strength of the below reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed in a seaview apartment, which was huge and really clean. The TV has a few English channels on it, handy for when you just want to zone out watching rubbish TV post a day on the beach and before you go out for the evening.
We had some gorgeous meals at their outdoor restaurant. The freshly caught squid they had on display was so fresh it was glistening (difficult to describe but I'd never seen anything like it). Their bar was great - really friendly and cocktails at sunset is something you'll never forget. You should also pack in as many massages as possible, a bargain and they send you into a different world, so relaxing.
The only negative I can think of was the baby elephant show they provided one afternoon. For me, any performing animal breaks my heart and I left the resort whilst it was on. The photos on facebook depict the elephant sitting down, hardly a natural position. Perhaps this is great for kids who have never seen an elephant but certainly wasn't for me.
One piece of advice we hadn't read before travelling would be not to disregard taking the overland minibus from Krabi (if this is where you fly into) as oppose to the passenger ferry. For us, the passenger ferry took 5 hours from our hotel in Krabi to Lanta Castaway whereas the overland minibus took only 3. The passenger ferry makes you hang around for quite some time before actually departing (we were at the terminal about an hour). Yes, the passenger ferry is more scenic but frankly I'd rather have been at the Castaway Bar than at a ferry terminal.
Another bit of advice would be if you are a smoker, buy your Marlboro Lights before you head to the airport. At Bangkok, they had none (something about supply problems). This might have been a one off (mid December) but you never know.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retsbew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Booked to stay here over xmas 2009 and it was brilliant. We stayed in the beach front room - which was a realy good size and had some great facilities. The one negative point was that the shower was not that hot, only slightly warmish at best going on cold some days - but this wasn't a massive problem.

The breakfasts that was included was nice too.

The dive shop - dive and relax - is the best dive operator I've ever used - so if you're into diving using them.

The bar serves popcorn with cocktails in the evening - amazing!! The barman happily made a cocktail for us that wasn't on the menu and it tasted great too !!

The massages were cheap (about a fiver) and really varied in quality depending on who did it. On two of the three occassions I had one I had a amazing person doing the massage, on the other occassion it was not so good.

It is just a quick walk up the beach to other restuarants and bars also.

If you stay here - go and eat the pad thai at Trai Trys - go up to the road, turn left, walk for about five minutes, walk past the Irish Embassy, and it is the last place on the left handside of the road. The places looks a little odd - but the pad thai was the best I have ever had anywhere and cost £1.50. Also go for drinks in Jackaroo's - it is just next to the Irish Embassy.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This hotel is great
Nice breakfast, nice dinner , swimming pool = sea, there is a bar, you can get a massage, just: awesome for me!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We stayed at Lanta Castaway for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the beachfront bungalow, which is beautifully decorated and a lovely large room, with a great view.....the only negative comment is that the website is slightly misleading, this is not a beach front bungalow, we were expecting something opening out onto the beach but instead it is opposite the bar and resturant with a view of the sea. It is however the closest bungalow to the beach. Apart from this minor disappointment, we really enjoyed our stay here, the staff are really excellent, the bar is great with a fantatstic view at sunset, the sea is lovely for swimming in and you can easily walk to a variety of other resturants and bars but that are still spaced out enough that you don't feel crowded. We did try out several different resturants and felt that although the Thai food here was very good, some of the other places were slightly better, particualrly if you want fish. Would definately recommend this place, especially if you have children as the beach is so ridiculously long!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BhamWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitLanta, Owner at Lanta Castaway Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
We have recently added a resort map to our website. It shows the layout of our bungalows along with approximate distances to the beach. You can find the link to the map on our 'Accomodations' page next to each room type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed 5 nights and found the staff were very friendly and happy. The food was fantastic the best we had eaten in thailand after trying a couple of different places. The Bar staff every night were entertaining and eager to please all guests. We stayed in the seaview room whcih was very well kept, clean and airconditioned. The beach in front of resort is safe for children. We did not take our children but after staying ourselves will go back for sure and take the kids as we noticed the staff are all kid friendly. If traveling to Koh Lanta this is the place to stay. Happy holidaying

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sps13QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My family and I have recently stayed in Lanta Castaway Resort. A lot has been said about this lovely place and I do not really know what to add to all these positive comments. With their comfortable and clean rooms, their beach bar with spectacular views over longbeach and their tasty Mexican food (+ Kabobs) it truly is a slice of paradise. We would like to say a special thanks to the owners Darin and Nit, Noi and Lip at the beach bar, Ad in the restaurant and all the others we have forgotten for making us feel at home away from home. We have spend an unforgettable time in this place where nothing is too little to bother and only the best is good enough. We wish you all the best and truly hope to come back one day for another Margarita while watching the sunset.
Matteo and his family

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatteoTato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,442 reviews
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.7 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing