We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely sanctuary and amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely sanctuary and amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

This was a great little place to stay in Koh Lanta. The bungalow we stayed in was small but very clean and tidy. There is a great restaurant on site and the beach access is nice. Swimming in the ocean was very good, clear water and nice sand. There is a little tidal slough that has to be crossed, but its not too bad. The website gives you the idea it is more secluded, but it is not, its on a strip wedged between two other resorts. The staff was great. It was a good value overall i would say, as Koh Lanta seems to be getting more developed and things are definitely more expensive there compared to the northern part of the country. The staff was good, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTAK150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    156
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
116
367
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Four of us stayed in duplex bungalows for 6 nights. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. Air con worked well. Wifii not available in rooms but is free in restaurant and bar area near the beach. All staff were very friendly and helpful although our waiter became a little frustrated with our attempts to ask for our tea and coffee to be served at the end of breakfast, not at the beginning. Eventually we got the message through to the very helpful lady at the desk.
Songkram (Thai new year) was celebrated on April 13th and there was lots of fun and water throwing/squirting by both staff and guests. The staff were all saturated but were more restrained when firing water pistols at guests. Great fun. Massage hut was good value and foot massage and pedicure was very well done.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and we found the hearty American breakfast satisfied us until late afternoon.
This resort was excellent value for money and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing beach holiday. There were many guests staying with children and babies, therefore I would recommend it for all age groups.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shells50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

The resport is almost at the end of Long Beach and consists of an array of bugalows nicely laid out on a narrow plot running down to the main reception, dive office, restaurant, beach bar and massage area which front the beach from a slightly elevated position. We stayed in one of the airconditioned Sea Breeze Bungalows. It had a small balcony, two very large comfortable double beds and a small drab though perfectly functional shower room. Everything was spotlessley clean but all the towels had been laundered to within a centimeter of their useful life, and the curtains were unlined and out of shape so they did not completely cover the windows when drawn at night.

The staff were very friendly and many spoke good English. The beach bar and restaurant were done in a rustic open plan Thai style which was very pleasant, and the massage area was tastefully done and very well used.

Right in front of the resort is a creek which has to be crossed to get to the beach. When the tide is right out you can walk across, but as the tide comes in or when it is going out, the water is very fast moving and gets to about 1.5 meters deep. We forgot about it one night when we walked back along the beach and then had to cross it at full tide in the dark - every other night we took a torch or came back along the road.

The beach itself is only cleaned by the tide and so from time to time there are bottles and cans to avoid. Also at low tide there are some quite sharp rocky outcrops to watch out for. Families with young children would probably be better to walk a little way up the beach in the direction of Saladin since the rocks soon run out.

The resort has a number of sun loungers and matresses laid out on the deck by the bar, and a few along the beach. Those on the deck have the benefit of shade and the fairly regular breeze, whereas those on the beach have no shade and are virtually underwater at high tide.

The food in the resort was good and the bar prices reasonable. There are a number of restaurants and bars on the road right outside the resort, and Saladin is about 10 minutes in a taxi or or tuk tuk with a fare of 50TB per head. That is a worth while trip as Saladin has a wealth of markets, shops restaurants and bars with a number of good fish restaurants along with creek by the ferry piers.

All in all a good place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Lanta Castaway was quite simply a paradise — certainly a welcome respite from the craziness of Patong and the crowds of Phi Phi. The resort is very clean and tidy and the staff exceptional. From the laundry service to housekeeping to the friendly security staff who offered us mangos from his uncle's farm to the maintenance staff who gave us lessons on the scooters, they are what made it an exceptional experience. The beach was wonderful, pure white sand with a tidal river that changed colour with the tide. Lots of snorkeling on the doorstep and shells to collect. Highly recommended. The best resort we stayed in over three weeks in Thailand. Go. Darron in Victoria, B.C. Canada

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlosterCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at Lanta castaway, it was absolutely beautiful, amazing beach, great rooms, some of the best thai food, some very friendly staff. We stayed in one of the garden bungalows, it was a great price, the only thing that bothered me, was the bungalows get extremely hot in the morning as they attract the heat, so getting a good sleep in i found a bit difficult. Do not have one complaint about our stay there, We will defiantly return!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillythetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north bend , washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

We had a wonderful time at the castaway.. there were 10 of us traveling together and the resort was very accommodating. We stayed for two weeks, and never got bored once. the rooms were perfect for us, we stayed in a garden bungalow with an extra cot for the baby. The restaurant is the best we could find in Lanta, the Lanta seafood resturant was a close second though.
Thanks to Darin and Nit, we will be back as soon as we can!
The Filbert/Klimp Family

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianabrook03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We arrived from Cambodia, (long day travelling) and so booked the Amazing Lanta, (South Online Travel), fast speedboat transfer to Koh Lanta. Don't bother. They failed to turn up at the airport wasting 45 minutes and then the driver got the car stuck in sand as we approached the boat pier. All in all it would have been cheaper, (and quicker), just to get a minivan down to the car ferry.
As for the resort, we loved it. Koh Lanta is fairly quiet and Castaway is in a good location not too far from Saladan but still offering a nice beach. We stayed in one of the garden (stand alone) bungalows which was furthest away from the beach. Don't worry about that though, the walk to the beach is less than 1 minute. The gardens where the bungalows are is well kept and the rooms are very clean with good air con and windows to keep the mossies out. Food at Castaway is very good and we noticed that non-residents from other resorts came to castaway to eat, drink and enjoy the massages, (which were great). There is free internet for residents and free snorkel/masks. If there is any draw back it would be that there could be a few more parasols for the sunbeds. All in all though we loved it and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 19 modern air-con bungalows and 3 small traditional fan bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing