We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved loved loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Loved Lanta Castaway!
Agree with the rave reviews. Booked 2 nights here based on Trip advisor and we were not disappointed! Stayed in a few other places but ended up coming back for our last 2 nights
Food was great, service was great, location is perfect. It felt like home :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

After long and stressful working hours in the city, this was the perfect getaway. To getaway from it all! It is the perfect place to just chill and relax- just what we wanted. Time seemed to stop in Koh Lanta.

I booked via the internet and got a prompt reply from Darin (resort owner) with a discount (that’s a plus!). He and his wife were very accommodating hosts.

We arrived in the rainy days, and the season was just picking up. We initially booked for 3 days but stayed for 9. During the low tide, the beach was wide and beautiful. The rooms were spacious and clean, comfortable bed, housekeeping came everyday with fresh towels. And like all previous reviews, the food is excellent, and we missed it terribly when we left. They also had a cool bar by the beach and served the best frozen margaritas I ever had (must try)!

We took the Open Water Diver course with their partner Dive and Relax. It wasn’t the best of seasons but it was one of the highlights of our stay. Thanks to Rhi!

We went to Phuket and after our first day there, we were wishing we stayed a few more days in Koh Lanta. The food, the people and the hotel was so much better! We can’t wait to go back and we will definitely stay again in Lanta Castaway!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehr-lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Went at the beginning of low season and it was empty - perfect. A small resort ideal if you want some isolation. The rooms are pretty basic, but the sun deck/beach front area makes up for this. Bar staff are great but others can be a bit surly. The best food we have had in Thailand. The sun sets are simply beautiful and very romantic.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Had a fantastic stay at Lanta castaway. Excelent value for money. The room (Sea breeze)was huge and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was the best that we found on long beach - we tried a lot of other places but wished we had eaten here every day as the Thai and mexican menus were both excellent. There is a great sundeck with a choice of matresses or loungers and its a really good place to watch the fabulous sunsets. The beach wasn't at all crowded as it is such a long stretch of sand. Thai massage is also available at the resort. There is a bit of a channel that cuts off the resort at high tide but it's easy to wade across or go along the road. You can easily get a tuk tuk if you want a night in Saladan. There is a great dive shop called dive and relax based at the resort. We left here after 6 days to go to Llanta hideaway on Bamboo beach - biggest mistake of our holiday. We wished we had stayed at Lanta castaway

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We had a nice stay during easter 2010. The staff at the resort was really serviceminded and friendly. Room was clean and the resort was guarded 24-h all week (nice to know in case of tsunamies!) The children had really fun with the natural waterslide caused by the tide! Food was good. An evidence for the serviceminded and honest staff was confirmed when our son forgot his Nintendo DS computergame in the bungalow when we left for Norway. We had left Koh Lanta and called the resort if they could find the Nintendo. They had already found it and a few days later we could go and get the Nintendo game at our local post office - at no cost! The Lanta Castaway Beach Resort had taken all the posting costs - and it was not cheap!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sissel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We did the southern isles before heading north to the mountains. Of all of the places we visited this was one of the best. Dont wander around looking for great food as its right under your nose, Hire a motorbike and visit the Island with some advice from Darren.This is a hidden gem. and very peaceful but you can still join the boss and his superb bar staff for a quiet beer in the evening..Mine host Darren is a great guy and takes pleasure in making your
holidays memorable. We will return
Gordy and Da
Korat

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KoratGordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We spend 2 1/2 weeks cruising through thailand and Ko Lanta and Lanta Castway were our favorite. This is a really nice place with very fare prices on everything they sell from beach massages to food to your room. We really enjoyed our stay and would definatly go back if we travelled to Ko lanta again.

I am always interested in how much stuff costs so heres some of the prices we paid in LOW season:
Thai massage - 300 baht (which is 50 baht more then most places on along long beach but with nicer facilites)
Beer - Small chang 50 baht and large chang 90 baht a bit more for singha
Food - Phad Thai and Traditional Thai food about 90 to 120 baht and a bit more for there tex-mex stuff.
Room - 1350 baht per night with A/C !NOTE! If its the hot time of year youll NEED A/C so dont try and and go cheap and get the 300 baht garden bungalow.3
Onsite Scooter Rental - 300 baht for the day or 200 for half day
Mixed Alcahol Drinks - about 120 to 170 but that was average across thailand from what I saw. Not really a good deal since thats 4 to 7 dollars USD.
Sunset View from the front of the resort with Ko Phi Phi as a backdrop ... Priceless

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rockstarbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
492 reviews
2.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#11 of 85 in Ko Lanta
852 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Castaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Castaway Beach Resort

Address: 299 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £41 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Castaway Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Castaway Resort is a boutique beach resort located on the southern end of Long Beach in Koh Lanta, Thailand. We have 22 modern air-con bungalows. Our Beachcomber Restaurant features awesome Tex-Mex dishes, as well as, a selection of excellent Thai, Western, and Seafood BBQ. Our Mad Bull Beach Bar offers a terrific atmosphere with awesome views and delicious cocktails. Other services include: beach-side massage, free WiFi, motorbike rentals, and transfer & tour coordination. We also have an onsite dive shop operated by Dive and Relax. We do not have a swimming pool on the property. However, during high season, the beach is excellent for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lanta Castaway Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Castaway Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing