We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Seoul
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here for about a week recently. Really recommend it as halfway through, we moved somewhere a bit posher but the next day we moved back because it was so noisy there. The owner, a German fella and a Thai woman, really know what they are doing - not putting a pool in etc. Some people have moaned about him being rude, but he isn't at all. He just wants to sit and watch TV at the bar all day and chill. If you are looking for a place where the owner will be jumping up and down for you, don't stay here. They do food on request and it's pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPartlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend and 5 friends. There are 3 different sized and priced bungalows, all of which are nice and comfortable. The most expensive are particularly pleasant but out of our budget, we stayed in the middle priced room for 500bht night and they were nice. The hammocks outside each bungalow are a lovely touch, our room was cleaned every day which was a very welcome touch. The owner is not your average guy and if taken the wrong way i can see why people might get the wrong impression of him but he is VERY helpful and has a great, DRY, sense of humour. We loved our time here. We stayed 3 nights and some of our group were there longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeavinBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

wow this place was amazing and for only £15 a night or 850 bt. We moved from red snapper next door and loved our new hut which was typical bamboo stye with hammock outside. Basic bathroom (but with flusher) cold shower but who cares when its hot outside.
Great location on Long beach and far enough away from the restaurants /bars to be quiet at night.
We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: we stayed in C 3 i think, opposite the restaurant area which has a big grass expanse out front so fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

we arrived on koh lanta on a recommendation from a friend. we were first staying at relax bay, next door and beachside, to andaman sunflower. wanting to stay on the island longer, but wanting to extend our budget a little, we moved over a very basic, yet clean and charming bungalow at andaman sunflower.

nu, the co-owner of andaman, kindly showed us a bungalow the day before and we returned the next day and took it. we loved nu, we loved her energy. her husband norman pretty much runs the bar and some of the logistics and, although he may come across a little gruff sometimes, was a fantastic host and always answered our questions and was always quick with a beer at the bar.

these bungalows are typical of the island, basic bamboo, springy floors, hard mattresses with a fan and mosquito netting. attached to the back of them is a step down into a cement bathroom/cold-water shower. and, unlike some of the places we looked at, not beachside, but andaman sunflower just had a calm and serene vibe and the beach was a five minute walk away, if that.

they serve breakfast and dinner for pretty good, standard prices and it was all very tasty. even got yogurt and muesli and, oddly, one of the best cups of coffee during our entire stay on the island.

norman keeps the bar open as long as there are people these drinking.

it's not a party atmosphere like some bungalows and that's why we chose it.

let's face it, $13 a night for a good night's sleep with friendly hosts taking care of everything? damned fine value.

Room Tip: the bungalows in the back are cheaper but not around the main, large square space which means a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkiel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed here last year! As soon as we arrived Norman and his wife (the owner) looked after us, booked us taxis and even offered to pick us up from nights out! He was like a 4 day German dad! They made every effort to entertain us in the morning and evening, he let us use the volleyball court and take his kayak to the see! Great Guy!
The rooms were spotless, yes a few frogs inside and outside..but it is Thailand isnt it! I would recommend the rooms with two double beds (i think grade c) as they are more luxurious and alot bigger!
They make the best spring rolls we have every tasted!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0liday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

We chose this resort due to the numerous positive messages on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately we cannot confirm at all these opinions. We had a Bungalow for 650 Bht (2nd category) made of bamboo. The interior was pretty dark, the bathroom was dirty, the water coming out of the shower was brownish, the bedsheets and the mosquito net were full of spots and we had numerous not invited guests like frogs, mice, mosquitos, lizards etc. who do not even hesitate to urinate from the roof directly onto the bed. The problem is that the bungalows are not really closed and the spacings are lacking of mosquito nets so that you sleep more or less outside. Moreover we had a frog concert during the night which made it rather impossible to sleep. However, the exterior with a hammock was quite nice and also the food was quite delicious. The possibility to use the canoes for free is already the last positive point. Norman, the grim owner, welcomed us (french/german couple) with an antifrench speech (french people are never happy, unfriendly and always make problems etc.), is quite annoyed and nearly aggressive when you dare to have another opinion and is treating his thai staff (who is veeery friendly and warm) like servants.
To make the long story short, avoid this place. Anyway Ko Lanta itself was not our favorite island...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

It was our first time in Thailand and this place was recommonded by our friends. They couldnt recommend a better place! When we arrived late there where some nice people sitting in front and working behind the bar. The owner Norman and his quality staff served the most delicious food and drinks and they gave us a very affordable excellent house near the beach. We stayed at this place for almost 14 days and the best times we had where the great trips to all the terrific places who Norman showed us and the nights at the bar. We met some real nice people over there wich are still friends. You can rent the bikes for free and at the bar is a laptop which you can use anytime you like. At our last day we got the most delicious farewell diner we ever had. This is place to be at Ko Lanta! I´m going back next year to Thailand to meet up with this great people.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaartenLeschot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#52 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa

Property: The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
Address: 174 Moo 2 Phra Ae, Saladan | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andaman Sunflower Hotel Ko Lanta
The Andaman Sunflower Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing