We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place award”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Deggendorf
1 review
“nice place award”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We (my girlfriend and me) have been travelling the andaman coast and islands in october this year and luckily found this place, where we stayed for 6 days. Its not directly located on the sea-side but the bungalows were cosy and clean, located in a quiet area with a nice garden between cocos trees, a 2 minute footwalk from the beach. What this place makes special is the owner Norman and his very lovable staff. They did nearly everything to make our stay a pleasure ( inclusive a non-ordered cappuchino at 6 o´clock in the morning, we didn´t dare to ask ), and this in a very unobtrusive way. Norman is very helpful german original who knows a lot about Thailand, likes to talk to the people, telling funny and interesting stories and will give good tips for your activities.
Besides of that the food is delicate and sometimes Norman serves some special dishes. So I never thought anybody serves "Tartar" (its raw meat with capers and onions, and in the middle is placed a raw egg) and "Kirschwasser" in Thailand.
Surely this place is not a (boring) luxury resort, but in our four weeks of travelling the Andaman Sunflower was the most welcoming accomodation we have been.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxSchreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

We made a reservation for just one night. We wanted to explore the island for a good resort to stay during our 4 day trip to Koh Lanta. But, after arriving in the Sunflower we didn't look any further. We stayed here for 9 nights.
The resort is beautifull with green trees and plants everywhere. The bungalow's are always clean with an amazing nice bed and a nice bathroom. I also enjoyed the hammock in front of your wooden bungalow.
We will never forget all the dinners in the garden that were perfectly arranged by the friendly staff. The nights at the bar were also unforgettable.

We really want to thank Norman and Kittyma for there hospitality during the last period of our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_rian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We knew the owners Kitima, a Thai woman and Norman, a very nice and relaxed German, already from last year where we stayed elsewhere but hung out most at the evenings at their bar. This time we stayed at the Andaman Sunflower in a cosy traditional Thai Bungalow on stilts with woven walls. Our private terrace with hammock & garden furniture was surrounded by banana trees and a very nice garden with exotic flowers just 1 minute walk to the beach. The Andaman Sunflower also has a nice bar offering especially good cocktails and a wonderful restaurant serving seafood, Thai and
international food. There is always a nice small crowd of interesting people around! Good infrastructure in the vicinity, a very nice French bakery & café 'Faim de Loup', some restaurants, bars, a 7/11 supermarket and a very good dive shop "Dive & relax" close by.
We also did an excursion to the island Ko Jam (south of Krabi and Chicken Island) where Norman & Kitima renting out a wonderful Thai house "The Banyan" standing all alone in a nice bay where we stayed for 2 days which we enjoyed a lot!!! It is certainly worth staying there for longer time! You can also explore both of the islands easily by motorbike! We will return in March 09!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

Please do not believe the below review. This place was fantastic! We booked in for 3 days after friends had stayed there a few years ago.What we found was an extremely friendly relaxed resort and we loved it so much we stayed for nearly two weeks.

The bungalows are very comfortable,the gardens are beautiful, the food gorgeous.But the best part was the hospitality of the host Norman and Kitima.Their staff are all fabulous and I got some impromtu carrot carving lessons from Niegh (not sure how to spell)!We felt so welcome we didn't want to ever leave.On our last night we were so touched, we had a sumptuous fish banquet under the stars organised by Kitima and Norman, and they gave a some departing gifts.A perfect lovely end to what was probably our best holiday ever.We met some wonderful people and have come away with some special memories.

Thank you again to Kitima who went beyond what any other host would've done and helped organise our flights after all the problems with the protests at Bangkok.


Try the spa.Absolutely amazing.Came out floating as was so relaxed!

Can't wait to go back and definitely taking our friends with us!

  • Liked — The hosts and staff,the spa, gardens, bungalows,food.
  • Disliked — The hideous concrete bunglows being bulit around them.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mel015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

I've been travelling a long time and I needed a place to recouperate - stayed six weeks.
All I needed.
Simple, social, and the food - fantastic.
Open and friendly, met lots of returning people.
They work with Dive and Relax for Scuba Diving, all just too easy.


Terry R

  • Liked — Simple and clean
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank terryrestorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

After a very long day of travelling to Ko Lanta from Koh Samui, a day full with delay, we ended at Andaman Sunflower Resort at 10pm.

Not yet out of the cab, Norman and his lovely wife (who aren't by the way "racists" and acting like "upper class Thai" - what a complete nonsense this person is telling!!!) where giving us the welcome we really needed. Giving us a beer (of course) first and then showing us the bungalows at a very nice and relaxed way, my boyfriend and I decided right a way to stay here for a couple of days. They've got good connections with a dive school, have a wonderful bungalow resort and a very nice and lovely menu! And, most important: it's clean!

We really loved this place and if we go back to Ko Lanta once more, we definitely go to this resort again!

  • Liked — The staff and the place, nice palms and bungalows
  • Disliked — The concrete buildings they are building around it now!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Onsfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

i was realy surprised by the only critic i read about this charming resort, because we went , me and my girlfriend, 3 times over there
and we spent the best times ever!!!
i know a lot of places around thailand, and this hotel is trully representing the mentalaty we are looking for over there....
and now the owners became our friends. They treat you like their own family when you spend time with them.
so i don't trust that stupid story about the jude guy.

one of the last real part of heaven in lanta.
see you soon guys

vincent and laure
from belgium

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vincelaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#52 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa

Property: The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
Address: 174 Moo 2 Phra Ae, Saladan | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andaman Sunflower Hotel Ko Lanta
The Andaman Sunflower Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing