We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience! ”
Review of Sun Island Tours

Sun Island Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The oldest and best personalized Longtail Boat Tours of Lanta's Archipelago. Located in charming Lanta Old Town; Discover magical Ko Lanta, Ko Bubu, Ko Ngai and many more. Private charters, 4 Island Tour, Beach camping and Fishing trips. Getaway from the crowds and become a part of a real Thai fishing community.
Perhentian Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience! ”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to book a private longtail boat tour rather unexpectedly. The owner was extremely helpful, even though we called her a bit late in the afternoon, trying to book a trip for the next day. We got lucky! Following day we set off on a 4 island tour. We had a private guide, who looked after us the whole day - snorkling, guiding, educating us about the islands and chit-chatting about life in Thailand.

At the end of the day we even enjoyed a delicious thai meal on a private beach. All in all it was an amazing experience. Really good value for money! Definitely recommended instead of the "tourist packed" speedboat tours.

One last thing to add though - doing 4 islands in one day is not as relaxing as doing a 2 day trip. For the ultimate paradise experience - half a day on a private beach - is a must!

Helpful?
2 Thank AliceMorozov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    11
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
“Best Boat trip”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Luck has brought us to meet Susanna as we were looking for a boat day trip in Koh Lanta and we had the most amazing time and the perfect organization picking you up and back wherever you are in the island.The typical long tail boat was just for us then they managed to get us to the emerald cave at the perfect timing between other groups of tourists (the place is usually very busy) so we could appreciate it quietly. And then they took us to the best spot on some other island,on a desert beach just for ourselves for lunch and snorkeling, it was just paradise!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Franky570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Same same but worse.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Pros
You're in Thailand
Islands are beautiful
Small group size
Personal guide

Cons
Transport is in the back of a truck with no benches, same place we transport tools and dogs in the US.
1500 baht is pricey for what you get.
Everything is about money: 1500 baht for the trip, 200 baht for the cave, 60 baht a beer
Touristy islands especially Emerald Island
Unprofessional staff especially the guide Eugene
No different than dozens of other of these tours
Motor on boat drowns out not only conversation but thought.

You've been warned, now choose wisely my friend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very relaxed day”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We looked at lots of different tour companies but ended up booking a four island tour through Lanta Longtails. We liked the appeal of a small group and a more personal feel (unlike most of the other mass tour groups). We had a group of 8 and had a great day. Our Canadian tour guide tried to avoid the crowds and miss the other big tourist boats. We stopped at emerald cave first and then snorkelled in two different areas. It was all very relaxed and casual. We then went to Koh Hai and had a great lunch at a local restaurant and got to spend time relaxing on the amazing beach. We left around 2:30 and we were back at our hotel by around 4ish. A much nicer alternative to the big tourist speed boats and ferries.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmyj_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxation to the nth degree!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a great time on Lanta Longtail as a solo traveler, and I think the others who took the tour the same day did as well. Two ocean caves including the Emerald Cave, a snorkeling opportunity and a great seafood lunch on the beach at Koh Hai. Splendid day!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjouan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Island Tours also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Sun Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing