We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We only had a short stay on Koh Lanta. It was low season and very quiet.
After reading the positive reviews on this website we decided to book in here, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a Beach front Bungalow which was very clean and modern.
The staff were extremely friendly and you can tell they take pride in there resort.
All the Bungalows looked in good condition and the bar / restaurant was being renovated in time for High season.
I will stay here again, but not in low season. The whole of the Island is very quiet in low season and the sea is a bit rougher which made snorkeling difficult and the beaches not quite so beautiful with debris washed up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wimMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2010

We felt that this hotel offered excellent value for money and the staff were very helpful and friendly. This small hotel is set in attractive gardens, giving a feeling of intimacy. It was relaxing and quiet, located right on the beach and at the far end of Klong Nin beach, so it was nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk to lots of restaurants and bars. Having said that the hotel provided great food in its restaurant, especially at breakfast. Good selection of cocktails and fruit shakes. The pool was attractive with ample sunbeds and umbrellas both around the pool and on the adjacent beach. The bedroom was large with a huge terrace outside with two loungers. The bathroom was of a good size although fairly basic with a "wet room" style shower. Unfortunately on some days it was not cleaned as well as I would have liked. Internet facility in the hotel lobby area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My husband and I booked what turned out to be a horrible hotel in Ko Lanta, and upon arrival, immediately started walking up and down the beach to find a new spot. Il Mare was the last one we came across and it was a perfect fit. At the end of Klong Nin beach, it is quiet and relaxed, yet close enough to walk to the hot spots if you want more action. The beach is beautiful and the staff very helpful. They sent a car to our old hotel to pick up our luggage, as well as gave us a great deal at the last minute.

We had a beachfront bungalow with the perfect porch for watching the afternoon rainstorms. The breakfast was pretty good and happy hour was a great deal. Surprisingly, we broke down one night, and they had fantastic hamburgers with the very best buns ever. Their Thai food is toned down for tourists and unfortunately not spicy, although I am sure if you ask they will kick it up.

Not to be missed are the massages on the beachfront by Fung! She is fantastic and really works out the kinks!

Highly recommend Il Mare!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank austin_love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We had a great time in Lanta - the best time of our trip so far! Khlong Nin beach is quite a long drive from the main port, but it has everything you need - bank, booking agent, lots of bars and restaurants and this great hotel. We went up to Long Beach one night but we found that it was no more interesting that Khlong Nin, just a bit bigger with a bit more people (but by no means 'buzzing').

We were met at the port by the hotel truck and driven to the hotel. When we arrived we were upgraded from a standard room to a garden view suite. The room was very clean with contemporary furnishings, a fridge, a/c, tv and a HUGE bathroom. The resort is right on the beach, and our suite was a short walk to the sand. Breakfast was decent with choice of American or Continental, and the fruit shakes were excellent. The restaurant, laundry, boat tickets, etc.....basically everything...was slightly more expensive at the hotel than other places close by, so look around. The restaurants along the beach are very good anyway, and you can get anywhere along the beach. There were quite a few families and couples at the hotel so this is not a party place.

The best bar we found was at the other end of Khlong Nin - P'Dang Bar. Very chilled and played reggae and chill out music with a fire show at night. The place beside them plays dance music if you want to start slow and move on to something livlier. Lanta is a great place to hang out and we highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuphanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Have just returned from 2 weeks in Koh Lanta staying at the Il Mare. I have to say it impossible to fault our time there. We have 2 older children 12 and 13 and a 4 year old, all of which haven't stopped talking about how much they enjoyed it. The resort was always clean and tidy, our 2 bedroom bungalow (which was perfect for us) was cleaned and serviced every day. The restaurant had a good variety of thai and english dishes and breakfast was even included in the price which we didnt realise until we got there! All of the staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
The location is perfect as it sits right in the middle of the island on a long sandy beach, making it perfect to explore the rest of Koh Lanta which is recommended as there are some great places to see. There is a small collection of shops a few hundred yards away containing a couple of supermarkets, clinic/pharmacy, gift shops, and cash points. Along the beach are a number of bars, restaurants and other resorts, all within easy walking distance so you wont need to get bored with the same surroundings. All of this can also be reached by the main (but safe) road that runs past the front of the resort.
Fantastic weather, stunning scenery, friendly people... what more could you want!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mickystinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

The hotel and its amenities are OK. The staff is very friendly and they have a nice restaurant overlooking the sea. We stayed in one of the seafront bungalows which was decent and had a pleasant balcony with wooden chairs. However, we only stayed for two nights instead of four as the suroundings are not suitable for toddlers. To reach the beach at Il mare you have to walk over a bridge crossing a stream. Once at the beach there is a steep staircase with 4-5 steps down to the sea. Also the little pool area is surrounded with steps and sharp corners. The hotel was ok for my 4 year old daughter but not for the little one (15 months).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Astrid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

I would say that the hotel website and other reviews make this place sound better than it is.

Don't get me wrong, the rooms and layout are lovely, everything is clean, and the staff were excellent & very helpful. However didn't think much of the beach or surroundings. Maybe because the weather was very wet!

We did elephant trekking from the hotel which was really good and would recommend that very much. Our friends hired a moped to see the island which seems to be the best way of doing things and finding better beaches.

Overall, it was "fine".

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Saladan Beach Resort
Saladan Beach Resort
#46 of 84 in Ko Lanta
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
Lanta Nice Beach Resort
#66 of 84 in Ko Lanta
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#67 of 84 in Ko Lanta
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort

Address: 52 Moo 8, Khlong Nin Beach | Ko Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £31 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lanta Il Mare Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Il Mare Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing