We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if you get good deal on price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cookies's Salad Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cookies's Salad Resort
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok if you get good deal on price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

In all fairness I paid very little for my stay.
Pros:
- very friendly staff that will help you book onward travel etc.
- great views over the bay
- free cellulite busting workout every time you need to get to your room. That hill is *steep*, seriously
Cons:
- rooms can be extremely basic; aircon is so loud I couldn't sleep even with earplugs
- the beach is very rocky & shallow - not good for swimming!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassy_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    179
    73
    33
    20
See reviews for
84
284
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

There is a very steep path leading from the restaurant to the rooms.
We were asked for a 500baht key deposit which wasn’t explained until we had already arrived at reception; however the only way we can get our room cleaned was to leave our key unattended in a box at reception from 10am to 2.30pm.
We eventually got to our room after waiting for it to be ‘cleaned’ to find the room had a thick damp smell in it, the sheets were stained and there was dirt on the ceilings and walls.
The curtains don’t reach the floor and are almost transparent, so when the light was on from the room next to us, it lit the whole room up like it was daylight making it impossible to sleep.
The whole place seemed to be bodged together, the sliding doors are so badly made there’s a gap between the doors half an inch wide, even when locked.
The bathroom is like a small dungeon, there's a small dim light and no window. Its extremely dark even in the middle of the day, meaning the numerous mosquitos that hang around the bathroom have plenty of opportunity to attack you when you are on the toilet. Also the shower is extremely weak.
The tv has good reception, however the wifi is non-existent until you get to the restaurant and even then has so little signal i was unable to even send an emal.
The bed is comfy and they replace the water, towels and shower gel in the room when you allow the staff to clean it.
However, when we returned to our room whilst the staffs were cleaning it, they were sat on our bed playing on their phones.They had also opened up and had a good nose through our wardrobe and draws, which was totally unnecessary as they don’t need to be opened to clean the room. The sheets they replaced were also stained.
The breakfast is ok as we don’t have to pay for it and the fresh fruit is nice, you get a selection of meals to pick from and bottomless cup policy on coffee and juice; although the coffee and juice is terrible. We frequently used the other restaurants on the beach, They are much nicer and generally cheaper too.
The beach is fine if you have snorkel and shoes as there’s coral and sharp stones all over the beach. There are loads of fish, crabs and other marine life to see due to the coral littering the area. There is allot of rubbish on the beach and floating in the water which is pretty unacceptable as there are around 10 resorts who could all chip in to clean it.
Also, no mopeds available unless you go to the store at the end of the beach, however they ask you to leave your passport or 10000 baht as a deposit, which we weren't going to do. No pickup service so a 300 baht taxi to the pier each way.
Apart from the snoopers, the rest of the staff were really friendly and seemed really attentive to anything we needed.
To summarise, I would say it’s a suitable place to stay if you are a backpacker and used to worse; but with the beach, snooping staff, 30 min taxi to anything other than the beach and general run down state its not worth spending your time here. Stay down south or go to Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Haad Salad is ok for a weekend, But not worth staying any longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We booked online (agoda) for 2 nights. Rooms are quite spacious and well furnished. The sheets smelled strange. The location is really nice, haad salad is a great beach. The view from the restaurant is awesome!
We wanted to stay one more night and booked it at the reception. Everything seemed to be okay, but before we went to bed, we were told the resort was overbooked and we either had to check out or pay more for another room. They were not willing to give us a room for the price we booked.
Further there was noch free Pick up service, we had to pay 300bht to get there.
All in all it is a nice place to stay but the staff is neither friendly nor helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We liked the view on the sea from our room and the bar/restaurant. Service was quite good and people available. Food and breakfast were good also. It is on the beach and you even have towel available. On a island with not so much to do it was appreciable to have DVD player and DVD rental. On the last day we had to leave early to take the boat and they made us a take away breakfast, which was nice.

The smell in the room and especially in the bathroom, smelling urine. The bathroom has only one small light, and you have the impression to be in a cell. We could not rent a scooter at the hotel, excuse was it was the end of the tourist season so most of them where being repaired... No taxi service to leave the hotel, which is quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only even though the view was fantastic and the beach beautiful.
The breakfast had great choice and again, a great view from the restaurant.
The hills and steps to the beach and restaurant are pretty mental and whilst we were having lunch a snake of about 15 inches long crawled out the bushes right next to us!
The staff were really nice but the cockroaches and ants in our room were enough to make us look for another hotel the next day!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOwensTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in one of the sea view bungalows. Amazing view of the beach, although the bushes could do with being trimmed a bit. The rooms are huge, bathroom is massive and fitted with jacuzzi bath. There is a Hammock, seating area, chaise long and what we used as a washing line to hang your clothes on the balcony. Breakfast was good, a reasonable variety of foods. On queiter days they cooked breakfast to order which was a nice change.

Haad Salad is a fantastic beach to go to. The place is very peaceful and coral reefs are approx 100m from the beach so you can snorkel and see lots of aquatic life. Cookies let you borrow beach towels and snorkels at no extra charge. The resort as a whole was very quiet when we were there, ideal for general relaxation after a hectic few days in bangkok. There are several places to eat on the beach.

Just to note, the leaf sweeper was quite punctual in the mornings so no need for an alarm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cookie's Salad Resort for the second part of our honeymoon, we stayed 7 nights int he beachfront/poolside bungalow. It was lovely! The AC was great, we had warm/hot water int he shower, and the plumbing worked perfectly. Our room was clean and very nice. It is one of the more spendy rooms in the resort, but I highly recommend it for the view! However, if you will be bugged by the noise from the pool, maybe splurge for one of the more private rooms. It didn't bother me, but my husband didn't love that when he was reading on our balcony, there were a bunch of kids jumping in the pool all day.

This is NOT a couples hotel. We found it was mostly families, which was fine, but since it was our honeymoon, we were thinking it was more of a romantic place, and less family oriented. Again, we really really enjoyed it, but it is not the romantic setting I pictured.

The beach, Had Salad, is very chill and quiet, and a bit out of the way. If you are looking for more excitement, try Had Yao, the next beach down.

Room Tip: Beachfront/poolside bungalow is great, but lots of noise from the pool. The hotel rooms mostly requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#30 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
9.9 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cookies's Salad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies's Salad Resort

Property: Cookies's Salad Resort
Address: 61/8 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cookies's Salad Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cookies's Salad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cookies`s Salad Hotel Koh Phangan
Cookiess Salad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing