We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cottage by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cookies's Salad Resort
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Personnel is very patient and helpfull. Cootage 16 was fantastic - the most forward one so nothing is blocking a few, it's on top of another cottage so nobody is walking in front of your superb terrace, and it's not the most expensive one either. Spacious bathroom with nice water pressure in the shower, quiet air-con and comfy bed. But the terrace was the best.
Restaurant-bar have a very cosy and relaxing style and the food was good but there were better places considering food.
Great pool just outside the cottage.

Room Tip: cottage 16 if I remember right is great - most forward, and above another one so nothing is blockin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    181
    75
    34
    20
See reviews for
87
292
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went here for dinner to try the Penang curry due to the lonely planet recommendations. Highly recommend going here for dinner if you are in the area. Great view across the bay! Didnt stay at the hotel as stayed somewhere else in Salaad area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank GLD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Generally quite surprised by these reviews...Have stayed here twice, and there are different types of room. Some luxury ones and some pretty standard rooms. Think this place is perfect for 2-3 nights in the luxury rooms...The food is fantastic and the sunsets at this beach incredible, but if your active and want to do some exploring its not the easiest location to get round and visit other sides of island and the sea here isn't really for swimming. It really depends on your plan, but if your travelling round a bit and exploring the islands, this is a perfect stop for a few nights in koh phangan and I would highly recommend, plus you're on the quieter side of the island so you can escape the hussle from main town and Haad Rin. perfect for a first stop for chilling out and taking things slowly. Incredible sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in sea view bungalow in September, room had views of over grown palm trees and could not see the beach or sea. Not an issue unless you had paid more for the sea view. Staff were friendly and attentive. Charged twice for the tab on checking out I have contacted the hotel for a refund as over £100. No response, so have been left to sort it out with my card company.

Location is excellent.
Food is a bit overpriced.
Rooms are nice
Staff are very good

Room Tip: Don't choose sea view as it obviously doesn't have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

In all fairness I paid very little for my stay.
Pros:
- very friendly staff that will help you book onward travel etc.
- great views over the bay
- free cellulite busting workout every time you need to get to your room. That hill is *steep*, seriously
Cons:
- rooms can be extremely basic; aircon is so loud I couldn't sleep even with earplugs
- the beach is very rocky & shallow - not good for swimming!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassy_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

There is a very steep path leading from the restaurant to the rooms.
We were asked for a 500baht key deposit which wasn’t explained until we had already arrived at reception; however the only way we can get our room cleaned was to leave our key unattended in a box at reception from 10am to 2.30pm.
We eventually got to our room after waiting for it to be ‘cleaned’ to find the room had a thick damp smell in it, the sheets were stained and there was dirt on the ceilings and walls.
The curtains don’t reach the floor and are almost transparent, so when the light was on from the room next to us, it lit the whole room up like it was daylight making it impossible to sleep.
The whole place seemed to be bodged together, the sliding doors are so badly made there’s a gap between the doors half an inch wide, even when locked.
The bathroom is like a small dungeon, there's a small dim light and no window. Its extremely dark even in the middle of the day, meaning the numerous mosquitos that hang around the bathroom have plenty of opportunity to attack you when you are on the toilet. Also the shower is extremely weak.
The tv has good reception, however the wifi is non-existent until you get to the restaurant and even then has so little signal i was unable to even send an emal.
The bed is comfy and they replace the water, towels and shower gel in the room when you allow the staff to clean it.
However, when we returned to our room whilst the staffs were cleaning it, they were sat on our bed playing on their phones.They had also opened up and had a good nose through our wardrobe and draws, which was totally unnecessary as they don’t need to be opened to clean the room. The sheets they replaced were also stained.
The breakfast is ok as we don’t have to pay for it and the fresh fruit is nice, you get a selection of meals to pick from and bottomless cup policy on coffee and juice; although the coffee and juice is terrible. We frequently used the other restaurants on the beach, They are much nicer and generally cheaper too.
The beach is fine if you have snorkel and shoes as there’s coral and sharp stones all over the beach. There are loads of fish, crabs and other marine life to see due to the coral littering the area. There is allot of rubbish on the beach and floating in the water which is pretty unacceptable as there are around 10 resorts who could all chip in to clean it.
Also, no mopeds available unless you go to the store at the end of the beach, however they ask you to leave your passport or 10000 baht as a deposit, which we weren't going to do. No pickup service so a 300 baht taxi to the pier each way.
Apart from the snoopers, the rest of the staff were really friendly and seemed really attentive to anything we needed.
To summarise, I would say it’s a suitable place to stay if you are a backpacker and used to worse; but with the beach, snooping staff, 30 min taxi to anything other than the beach and general run down state its not worth spending your time here. Stay down south or go to Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Haad Salad is ok for a weekend, But not worth staying any longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We booked online (agoda) for 2 nights. Rooms are quite spacious and well furnished. The sheets smelled strange. The location is really nice, haad salad is a great beach. The view from the restaurant is awesome!
We wanted to stay one more night and booked it at the reception. Everything seemed to be okay, but before we went to bed, we were told the resort was overbooked and we either had to check out or pay more for another room. They were not willing to give us a room for the price we booked.
Further there was noch free Pick up service, we had to pay 300bht to get there.
All in all it is a nice place to stay but the staff is neither friendly nor helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#32 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
9.9 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cookies's Salad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies's Salad Resort

Property: Cookies's Salad Resort
Address: 61/8 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cookies's Salad Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cookies's Salad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cookies`s Salad Hotel Koh Phangan
Cookiess Salad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing