We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Coast Beach Resort
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great place, great people. New snazzy rooms as well as cheaper options suited for smaller budgets. Great value for money. Beach cleaned daily and good for snorkelling. Really good food at restaurant. If you are looking for a good value for money, quiet bungalow to stay near a beach then this place is perfect. They rent out motorbikes too which you will need to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadeost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    16
    9
    65
See reviews for
16
73
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Great place, great people. New snazzy rooms as well as cheaper options suited for smaller budgets. Great value for money. Beach cleaned daily and good for snorkelling. Really good food at restaurant. If you are looking for a good value for money, quiet bungalow to stay near a beach then this place is perfect. They rent out motorbikes too which you will need to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadeost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

There are lots of bad reviews for this place that are very unjust.
We couldn't have had a better time here, private beach, clean rooms with air-con and hot water, nice reception and staff were very knowledgeable and keen to help if you needed a taxi or advice, food was above average and lots of dishes both Thai and Western.
*Amazing bar overlooking the ocean with an excellent choice of local and imported drinks and cocktails, the bar staff knew out names after the first night, very friendly, very modern and clean. (the only bad side was the building is made out of concrete but the Thai's see this as classy and posh)
Walking distance to Haad Salad and Haad Yao, both have nice beaches and restaurants.
Truly felt at home here, I will most definitely recommend this place and visit again.

Room Tip: Wide range of rooms from basic fan to executive rooms, we went for the middle ground, Hot water and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b3d0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Loved my stay at Haad Gruad!! Beautiful location right on the beach with a great pool, lovely gardens and views and cute little grass villas.The staff are really lovely, friendly and helpful, food is great, rooms were clean, and all at really good prices!! Myles, the barman makes an awesome drink!! I felt quite spoilt!! They also hire scooters at a good price! They were doing major renovations when we were there but they didnt disrupt our stay too much, we were lucky enough to have the resort to ourselves the first few days we were there! I cant wait to see what the place looks like when I return to Koh Phangan next year when the renovations are finished! Thank you for helping to make my stay in Thailand one of the best times of my life!! I had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a perfect place on the island with it's private beach, bar and restaurant.
After reading some other peoples reveiws, i have to laugh a little bit about 'wild animals' there are lizards, geckos, spiders and although i have not seen them i am quite sure there are snakes and other animals you might find on a tropical island that is their natural habitat.
I have stayed at this resort for a few years now, and the access to the resort is down a windy sandy gravel track towards the coast, i never myself had a problem with the manager Jaco, and if it makes people happy he has actually left now to teach kids north of Bangkok.
It is quiet there, it is the opposite end of the island to Haad Rin (where the beach parties are)
This i find better as you can escape the madness of the parties and just chill out in a hammock away from the chaos!!
I found all of the staff to be helpful, polite, and go out of there way to make my stay as pleasant as possible, i will definatly be there again in dec 2013!
With the experience of riding a bike/moped i learnt over there, the roads on the whole of the island are to say the least a bit dangerous, the hills in to Haad Rin have cost a few people there lives and a few pound in bike repairs. It is not clever but i usually crash every year at least once.
Taxis are available on request, 100 baht to Tong Sala (where the boats come in) and 200 baht to the full moon beach. Which is very reasonable given the location.
I honestly love the place, met some fantastic fellow travelers that have stayed there!

Room Tip: The pool rooms are more expensive with air con but are so nice over the swimming pool, and the veiw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_paul1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Can only agree with other reviews this place is awful. Dirty, ridden with bugs, sheets are stained and don't look like they've ever been washed. It's an embarrassment. Don't be taken in by cheap prices on offer; they find ways to push the price up and threaten if you don't pay up. This place should be shut down, fast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I think that I have to write some good things about this place. After come here we were a little bit scared about this place because we had read many bad reviews. But I only can say that I've been sleeping in worst places than this one. The beach is quiet and nice. I don't have any complain about the people who works here, they are kind and friendly. Our bungalow was clean and there were no spiders or bugs, only termits, but they don't go out of the wood. I think is a good place if you want to stay quiet. The truth is it is a little far away of all, but what you need more? Shops? People? I think it is a really nice place and it's not expensive. What do you want for 400 baht per night? A 5 star resort??? This is Tailand!!! And the last thing, we are in a tropical zone, should not be bugs???

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.5 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Beach Resort

Property: West Coast Beach Resort
Address: 59/3 Moo 8 | Salad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Haad Gruad Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Coast Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast Beach Resort is fresh and ready to provide professional service. For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Koh Phangan, this is the perfect choice. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Coast Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Gruad Beach Resort And Spa
Haad Gruad Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing