We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place but beware of double bookings”
Review of Asia Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asia Bungalows
Reviewed 29 July 2011

this is a fantastic spot, right on the beach with very friendly staff, spotless and great restaurant just next door. However, we booked a family room 2 months earlier for 6 nights through phangan,com agency and when we arrived we could not have the family room till the next day. very disappointing. we had to sleep 4 of us in a double room with 2 extra beds. it was wall to wall mattresses with no room for bags. we did get the difference in price back between the 2 rooms but it was a hassle moving again the next day. not sure if it was bungalows or agency who messed up.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank hpminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

Our Bungalow was right on the beach, the beach is absolutley stunning, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. the area was very safe, i would go back and would recommend it to people of all ages. the only thing is, it's about 45 mins taxi journey into had rin but so worth it for its beautiful beach. there are a couple of bars and restaurants along the beach too that do great food. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabonese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Fell in love with Koh Phangan! Asia Bungalows were clean and more than enough for us and our four children. With the beautiful beach right on our door-step we spent many wonderful hours on the beach and snorkelling (amazing fish just metres from the shoreline). Even though Asia bungalows does not have a restaurant there are many restaurants to choose from along the beach - all serving great food (with the exception of Double Dukes which we found rather disapointing). The affordable featherboats are a must to see the surrounding islands. The beach is tranquil and spotless and the gardens surrounding Asia Bungalows lovely. I honestly cannot see why pay the higher rates for the surrounding resorts - this was a perfect holiday for our family. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DubaiWrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Looked at this place for several years . Finally got to stay here,and it was worth the wait. Beach bungalow was perfect. Be sure to watch the door sill if you are tall !. Nice staff ,clean rooms. Restaurants both sides Great food . A little cheaper at restaurant on right side when facing beach...Some clouds and rain while there but liked Ko phangan.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We have just returned from 5 nights at Asia Bungalows and had a beautiful stay. We had tried to get into Salad Hut Bungalows just down the beach as they have restaurant and pool but it was full. We weren't disappointed with where we stayed. It was marginally cheaper - 2000 baht - and was a really clean bungalow with double and single bed as well as a cot for our baby and a spacious clean bathroom and verandah. The bungalow we had was the third one back from the beach but still only 20 metres from the beach, with beach and garden views and privacy. Apart from the cleanliness of the bungalow, and very picturesque tropical garden setting, what we really enjoyed about this place is the solitude. All the other accommodations have restaurants and therefore attract crowds whereas there are only 10 bungalows here and the rest is garden. Really tranquil...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElkeAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

we arrives in Koh Phangan knowing only that we wanted to go to Haad salad, we asked to tuk tuk driver to take us to the beach, we were in the middle f our two week holiday in Koh Samui but we wanted a little adventure (never been back packing before!).
We walked onto the beautiful beach at Haad Salad and found paradise!
about half along the beach we came accross asia bungalows and I have to admit I was blown away with the romance of the resort it is situated at the best point on the beach and they had three beach front bungalows they looked moder and clean from the outside I had to go check them out.
We found a lady at the recption which is set quite far back from the beach amongst some beautiful palm tree gardens. we were told 1200BHT for the beach front bungalow and because I like it so much i said yes without even bartering! The rooms are basic but very clean and very adequate for what you need. we only stayed one night as we were already staying at a hotel on a package in koh samui but I wish we could have stayed longer. i'll put up some pictures to see if that can help you decide!
do not worry that it does not have a restaurant there are plenty along the beach and a supermarket. you do not need shoes here either! everything is on the beach. hot shower, air con and fan in room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laws1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

So we had a pretty horrible experience on Ko Tao and left early to to come to Ko Phangan. We were going to go to Bottle Beach, but after the exceedingly "rustic" experience we had on Ko Tao we wanted something with nicer amenities. We had spoken with a French couple and they recommended Salad beach and after reading a few reviews for Asia, we decided to take a chance.

We were very pleasantly surprised and spent an absolutely blissful 6 days here. We absolutely did not want to leave. first of all, the grounds - a lot of places on Hat Salad are crowded and noisy, but the duplex bungalows here sit on a beautiful serene manicured lawn dotted with huge palm trees. The room was very nice and clean and exactly what you would expect for the price. Very nice hot water shower.

Asia Bungalow does not have a restaurant but has by far the best vantage point on the beach - there is this sweet rock wall outcropping with chairs that you can sit on about 4 feet up from the beach. We spent many hours out there each day reading and enjoying the view occasionally cooling off with the outdoor shower and walking up the beach to refill out supplies of Chang beer and fireworks.

Was absolutely the highlight of our vacation and was an awesome way to end our trip in thailand. Jim the owner will give you cheap ride to and from Thong Sala and the old woman who is the caretaker will take care of your laundry, cleaning, and replenishing room supplies. The place does not have many added perks - no internet, restaurant, moped rental, etc, but the great thing about Hat Salad was that you have so many different places to choose from - i think we went to a different restaurant every night, and there are plenty of places to use the internet and rent scooters, (which is absolutely a must-do - so much fun to ride around the mountain roads)

Glad we took a chance on the place and i highly recommend it as an awesome value on an awesome beach.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#31 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#36 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haad Salad Villa
Haad Salad Villa
#32 of 394 in Ko Pha Ngan
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#3 of 394 in Ko Pha Ngan
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#74 of 394 in Ko Pha Ngan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Bungalows

Address: Haad Salad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £44 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asia Bungalow is located on idyllic Haad Salad, a pure white sand beach in a picture perfect bay with all the trappings of tropical island life. The beach is fringed with coconut palms and as Haad Salad is relatively undeveloped for Koh Phangan, it is usually deserted and so peaceful that you feel the beach is all yours. Crystal clear emerald green waters are home to a vibrant coral reef that lies just 80 metres from the shore and attracts both scuba divers and snorkeling enthusiasts to one of the Island's premier dive sites. The accommodation at Asia Bungalows is built and finished with a total of eight rooms, all equipped with all air condition, bathroom with hot and cold shower and Mini Bar. * Air-Con Room * Family Bungalow Air-Con * Superior Bungalow Air-Con As Asia Bungalows has just ten rooms, the family atmosphere is always friendly and intimate and all of the rooms make the most of their excellent beachfront location with stunning sunset sea views. There are five basic island style huts Asia Bungalows and four modern Thai-style villas. Each of the villas are newly built and finished to very high standards; with hot and cold shower, separate kitchen area, western bathroom and ceramic floors throughout. All of the rooms contain a double bed and a single bed can be added at a cost of 150 Baht per night. There are mosquito screens on the windows and the rooms and balconies are generously proportioned to ensure your complete comfort. The restaurant at Asia Bungalows is right on the central beach section of Haad Salad. It serves a vast range of speciality and local Thai dishes including excellent seafood and also provides a good selection of western food. Weather you are having a meal or taking a break from the beach with a cool refreshing fruit shake, you can rest assured that the taste will be as good as the surroundings. At Asia Bungalows there is more than enough to keep you occupied and all in a place where it is so easy to do nothing! There is volleyball, badminton, great swimming, snorkelling and even kayaking! A nearby minimart has all the bits and pieces you might need on your visit to Haad Salad and there is also motorbike hire, internet, international telephone and fax services available. Boat and fishing trips are easily booked and massages can be arranged either on your balcony or right on the beach. If you're looking for things to do and see around Haad Salad, the west coast of Koh Phangan has something for everyone. The rich coral reef that surrounds this side of the Island is a haven for marine life, making the region a hotspot for divers and snorkelling enthusiasts alike. Nearby Koh Ma is a small island just off the west coast of Koh Phangan and is the only National Marine Park within Phangan's waters. Here it possible to spot turtles, harmless reef sharks and swim amongst shoals of colourful tropical fish. The region is fairly mountainous away from the coast, and there are a number of mountain trails and walks to follow; and with the large concentration of beaches in the west, it is possible to beach hop up and down the coastline. Wang Sai waterfall is within walking distance and nearby Laem Son is a giant freshwater lake, shaded by tall pine trees with giant rope swings! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asia Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing