We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phangan Utopia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phangan Utopia Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in one of the sea view bungalows, the place was fab. Luxuries such as cable tv and air con were a god send the day after the full moon party! Facilities such as transport to parties, scooter rental were great. Food was fantastic and staff were very helpful and friendly. Pool was nice but the pool side bar was never open, perhaps it was because the place was not full. Loved it :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicat2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    40
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
86
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Platte City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in one of the huts, a little ways back but still with full view of the water. Stunningly beautiful. Its dark, so might not be a bad idea to pack a flashlight, which any experienced traveller should do anyways. The outdoor shower and toilet took a little getting used to.

Getting here is a bit tricky, but all the taxis/buses know the place. Getting a scooter up here is a bit harrowing. It is far removed from the crazy full moon party, but its great for sleeping after a night of partying. No beach access, so either rent a jeep, scooter(ahh!), or you will have to take taxi's everywhere.

The food was amazing, I fell in love with Khao Tom (rice soup for breakfast) here, overlooking the waves lapping on the beach below. Hands down one of the best restaurant views I have seen. Food was good enough to eat for every meal, but when traveling, where's the fun in that? Hit up the random roadside places all over the island, just look for the locals!

Overall, highly recommended, but there were a few cons worth mentioning. First, very few of the pipes are buried, so you can see the sewer/water pipes running all over. Also, there are several buildings that were in various states of being torn down or built, I couldn't tell. There was never any construction noise, however. Last, while taking a set of stairs that lead up to what is about the highest point/overlook, we saw a very large snake, much too close for comfort. Asked the resort staff what kind, they didn;t even blink, it was a king cobra. I've never looked under my bed my whole life, but we did the rest of that trip! If they are going to have the scenic overlook like that, they would do well to clean the steps off, we couldnt see where we were putting our feet through all the leaves. Its Thailand and there are lots of critters, it happens. This place allows you to get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepaul500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Not much to say here, it ticks all the boxes is very clean, food is great and the pool lovely. The most important thing – The staff are top notch.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattcooke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

It makes me well up to look at the photos again as this place now has a place in my heart. I visited with my friend in Aug 2010 as we wanted a haven away from the full moon party. It was definately that, The staff were so friendly and drove us down to full moon (around 25 minutes) on the evening with other hotel guests. The room and view was beautiful and this was just the best hotel I have ever stayed in. And what an amazing quirkly outside toilet!! Food wonderful.., I am sorry I have left it so long staff of Utopia I miss the wonderful place and you....thank you so so much I hope I am lucky enough to return one day!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186356Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

This resort is beautiful. It has an incredible, huge, view over the ocean, from the restaurant terrace, some of the bungalows, and from the infinity pool. The staff is super friendly and sweet, the food is good, the pool is beautiful. Though it is about 15 minutes walk from a beautiful beach, all other attractions are really far away. You have to take a local taxi to go to villages or towns (as there is no public transport on the islands). I had a bungalow with an outdoor (amazing) bath, very secluded and private. The only downsides are that it really needed a good cleaning (lots of cobwebs), that there's a creepy staircase (which could be fixed I think by painting the walls terracotta or yellow, in stead of the cold hard withe), and that the outside shower was not really working. I've had hard showers before (taking about 5 minutes to get my hair wet), but this shower was just impossible. I showered in the bathtub in stead.
I would highly recommend this place. Maybe just suggest to test the shower and compare the interiors before you decide which bungalow you take.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

The first impression was "WOW what a view!" But after a couple of hours it gets boring. It's pretty far from everything so its like being trapped in paradise. We booked 2 nights and it felt like a week. There's nothing to do up here if you dont take a taxi to some beach.
Both of us ordered different food both days for lunch and dinner and both got sick in the stomach after every meal. So the last day we decided to go eat dinner somewhere else and we were fine. So the kitchen is not so clean or the chef is not good, something shady is going on in the kitchen for us to get sick. The breakfast was poor, not much to choose from.
So afar from the breathtaking view we dont have much more to say about this place. Friendly staff. Stay here for one night and see the view, thats all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PutteANDCarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Best place i stayed during 2 weeks in Thailand. Staff we're fantastic with us. Definatly worth upgrading to the bungalows on the edge facing the sea. Outside showers and amazing views from balcony.

Would defiantly recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merfmerfmerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#16 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#29 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#44 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#8 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#41 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Way Bungalows
My Way Bungalows
#58 of 342 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Utopia Resort

Property: Phangan Utopia Resort
Address: 85/2 Moo 7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 342 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Phangan Utopia Resort located in the north of Phangan Island between Mae Had Beach and Chaloklum Bay. It is situated on top of the hill at Had Thong Lang Bay with a fantastic sea view on the gulf of Thailand. Here you are welcome to enjoy the peacefulness and harmony of this favourable resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Phangan Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Utopia Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing