We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phangan Utopia Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brillian”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have just spent 3 weeks at this resort and it was lovely ...my room was clean and comfortable...the staff are soooo lovely and helpful....the lovely Chang at the pool bar is amazing....the pool is clean and the views are fabulous....its up on a hill away from everything and is a nice quiet place to stay........It got a bit busier over the full moon period as the whole island does but this in no way affected our stay...we had a bungalow over looking the pool....and was not at all disturbed by the youngster's having fun over this time in fact just the opposite we joined in.....if you like somewhere quiet and away from the hustle and bustle with great staff this is the place......I have over my other time stayed in each of there style of room and they all great ....catering for different tastes.........stay here and chill out

Room Tip: Which ever room you choose you will be happy they each have a different quality......I like the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    47
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
14
100
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for one night during full moon just because everywhere else was fully booked or required to book a minimum of 3 nights. After reading all the reviews, I thought I would give this place a go. Not everything is bad but most are.

The staff here was lovely and went beyond to help us and provided us with shuttle buses etc and the view is great if you are into that but the rest was poor, very poor.

My room/bungalow was very basic which isn't the poor part, the poor part was the toilet and shower was outside with no running hot water in the morning, there were ants crawling up the walls by the sink and into your tissue, toothbrush etc. The floor in the bedroom was just wooden boards with holes in the ground which meant you are sleeping with bugs. The lights were broken and did not turn on and the location to anything was far. Even at night the tuk tuk did not want to drop us off at the top.
This whole experience was made worse by a bunch of 19 yr old girls that were loud and annoying, this of course is nothing to do with the hotel but you can see what kind of people would stay here.

Unless you have nowhere else to stay during full moon, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Arrived at the resort and was absolutely amazed at how wonderful it was, we upgraded our room to a jacuzzi view room as we were just blown away by the view! Not only was the view amazing so were all the staff, this is a superbly family run resort, couldn't fault any of it. The food in the restaurant was great as was the breakfast which was included and gave you a choice from menu and all freshly cooked. They also provide a free shuttle service into the next village and beach. We hired a scooter for 200thb per day and toured the island. We were so sorry to leave and will definitely return. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandP2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Please be careful when booking this hotel. Yes it's a lovely location, a good distance from all the crowds in a stunning location.

DO NOT BOOK A GARDEN ROOM!!!! The photos on the website show rooms that are by the pool. They look lovely. The garden view rooms look over the car park, they have holes in the floor made of wood and are some of the most basic wooden bungalows I've stayed in. Bathrooms are interesting, outdoors, done tastefully (which is odd) they've spent time and effort revamping the bathrooms yet inside the bungalow is pretty basic. There is big gaps under the front door and bathroom door, no mosquito nets so be prepared to share with bugs. No safe either.

Having said that, the pool view and sea view rooms look lovely, modern and tastefully done. Staff are more than accommodating and restaurant is good. I would just highly recommend u DO NOT book a garden bungalow!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcDermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lympstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This family-run resort surpassed our expectations. Between our party, we stayed in 3 rooms, one Pool View and two Mountain View. All very clean and of a recently renovated/redecorated standard. Restaurant superb and staff very friendly and helpful. If there were any problems meriting a poor review in the past, these have certainly been addressed. Don't forget there's a free pickup as we paid for a taxi to get there.
We would recommend to all who are looking for a quieter slice of Ko Pha-Ngan.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Utopia Resort is a wonderful place to stay if you are seeking peace and quiet. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The restaurant is amazing because chef is excellent. She knows just the right balance that makes Thai food so tasty. The staff is wonderful and are there to help you with what ever you need. I highly recommend the Utopia Resort.

Room Tip: I have rented both the sea view and mountain view rooms and feel that the mountain view rooms are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Utopia resort has great view. We booked this place because of the peace and tranquility it could offer. The full moon party was practically at the opposite side of the island, so the best chance of avoiding the crowd of party peoples.

The room was big and clean with an old tv. Next time we will go for a room with sea view, which cost som extra money. The staff was friendly and very serviceminded.

There is free pick up from the harbour when you arrive if you contact the hotel i advance. But they charge you 150 THB for the same service when you leave. There is also free mini van service twice a day to and from nearest town Chaloklum.

The nearest beach is Mae Hat beach which is 10 min. walk form Utopia.

The telephone number on the hotels webpage is wrong:
http://phanganutopia.com/kohphangancontact.php

Epilog:
When we left Utopia Resort heading for Bangkok we booked the transportation at the reception. It almost when totally wrong. Due to a misunderstanding between the hotel reception and the travel agency we almost missed our flight from Surat Thani Airport. When the misunderstanding unfold the travel agency was about to charge us for an extra 1,300 TBH on top of the 1,700 TBH we already paid for the package. All the booking was handle in Thai between the hotel and the travel agency.

So be sure to have everything in writing and make sure that the hotel understand the flight time and place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.1 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
547 reviews
2.3 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#10 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#53 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#33 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#47 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Utopia Resort

Property: Phangan Utopia Resort
Address: 85/2 Moo 7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Phangan Utopia Resort located in the north of Phangan Island between Mae Had Beach and Chaloklum Bay. It is situated on top of the hill at Had Thong Lang Bay with a fantastic sea view on the gulf of Thailand. Here you are welcome to enjoy the peacefulness and harmony of this favourable resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phangan Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Utopia Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing