We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Perfection...3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

To start off...we had a small fall out! We had arranged to transfer by speedboat, they knew nothing about it and wanted to charge me the equivalent of £500...wasn't impressed! After a few phonecalls and a small tantrum we were sorted, no ones fault in the end but I think more could have been done on their end as I was on my honeymoon and was about to be their guest.

The hotel was beautiful, open plan luxury. Our villa was perfectly presented with the standard "happy honeymoon" in petals on the bed, a free bottle of champagne waiting for us by our private pool.

We ventured out on a night for drinks and food but the restaurant was frequented at lunch times. a good menu with well cooked dishes. the option was always there to eat by the sea, every member of staff was more than helpful and the management were always on hand to ensure you were satisfied.

The hotel is set in a stereotypical thai village, quaint bars and restaurants, the seemingly 24 hour a day mini-market which insisted on taking your shoes off at the door and Rasta Baby...if you've never been to Rasta Baby I recommend it highly...

This really was the perfect end to the perfect honeymoon, I know I could never afford to stay here again...but I'm so thankful that I've had the opportunity to do so once.

Stay Here...you won't regret it.

Room Tip: stay in the villas back from the sea front with the private pools...by the sea is more expensive and...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your stay with us in December 2012. I am very happy to learn that you had a good experience with us besides the issue on the transfer to the resort you have mentioned. We hope we will get another chance to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Everything out our stay here was perfect! It started off with a journey from Koh Samui on the hotel's speedboat aptly named "Ultimate Bliss" We were offered cold towels on the boat, as well as a choice of soft drinks or water. When we arrived at the hotel, the management time were awaiting us on the beach with warm welcomes, and warm smiles. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we were treated to a lovely neck and head massage, and a free drink at the bar. Our villa was worth the wait.. large, spacious, luxurious and everything that you could want for a romantic getaway!

The hotel is made even more perfect by it's setting. The beach is beautiful,and tranquil as is the little village of Tong Nai Pan Noi, where there are numerous chilled out restaurants and bars to enjoy. You really feel like you are in Thailand here, unlike some places in Koh Samui that are extremely commercial and possess no Thai charm at all!

We really felt at peace during our stay here and we will definitely return for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnaC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review after you holiday in our little island paradise. We are delighted to read that you had a “perfect” experience with us and hope now that we will get another chance to welcome you to Anantara Rasananda.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

How can I review this hotel? I feel I don’t have enough words.
Everything in it is just perfect. You feel the thought in every layer at this place.
From the professional warm check in, to the cleanness of the grounds, the beauty of the room, with all the “small touch” items that makes the difference (such as espresso machine…). The staff is amazing, not less. The spa is something to dream about. The location is the best we could wish for (..and yes, I have stayed in the Santhiya, and I can tell you walking to/from the village twice a day was NOT my favorite part).
You get an actual feeling they care about you, and want you to have the best time in their hotel.
And we did 

Special thanks to Nui, who after 1 breakfast already knew exactly how we would like to get our coffee & juice, and gave us a most professional service. Hope your leg is better now!

Room Tip: Ocean garden pool!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilaloTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We all, but especially Khun Nui, are very proud that you not only enjoyed your stay with us, but rate us even a 6 star resort.

We hope we will get another chance to welcome you to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

From the minute we arrived on the speed boat we were greeted by all the excellent team on the beach front, our suit cases carryed to check in we didnot have to worry about a thing from that moment onwards... with welcome drinks and flowers each team member of staff explained their role here at Rasananda resort..we were shown to our room which was arranged with flowers and greeting message on the bed..everything was explained to us about the room and the private spa pool for our room was a complete bonus to had a relaxing theme to our holiday.. the view from our outdoor pool was straight on the beach/sea. All staff greet u everytime they see you and remembering your name. Breakfast is buffet style but to top end of any buffet style you could have..Today I had Crab Benedict made by Chef Don who is the head chef, last night we enjoyed his design meal he created for us after having a chat on which seafood we would like to eat...An aboulut asset to this hotel is Anui who is the young lady who works in the Restaurant from breakfast to all the way through up until evening meal her face has a Big Friendly smile and all time checking you are ok and always wanting to make sure you have everything you need.This lady needs a true golden handshake from her management because of her continuous hospitality.Today is our last full day , for we missed one full day here due to flight delay and now we are totally gutted to see what we have missed out on, true paradise island..we had champayne on the beach yesterday ( Don perignon) and relaxed swimming in the beautiful sea while using the jet ski going in and out the habour. Tonight we have a couples massaged booked in a tree top spa overlooking the sea so can't comment but it looked total luxury.. We would liketo thank you all all to many excellent staff to name each one but Chef Don and Anui thank you so much for everything.....Well done Patrick you have a excellent team to be proud of... I'm going now sit back and enjoy our last day but will not want to leave tomorrow....to everyone looking at this review trust me you will not find better...also I would just say I read a poor review on here about a week ago saying that the cocktail was horrible but they was not staying at this hotel which I can only feel very suspicious about that review because this place is heaven on a beach..Thank you and hope to see you all again next year......Kelvin and Michelle.....

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunsetsunnydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you very much for your thorough review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with such a great experience. Both, Chef Don and Khun Nui are very proud to be mentioned in your review and we all hope to welcome you back to our little island paradise in not too far future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Rasananda Anantara Koh Phangan in September 2013. Travelling as a couple, we were looking for a relaxing beach holiday in the sun with some touches of luxury - and we found it. Our holiday started the moment we jumped off the back of the speed boat and our toes touched the water. Symbolic of the start of our fantastic holiday. Welcomed by many smiles we were guided through the beautiful garden setting to our Thai Pool Villa. Wow - what an oasis! How great it is to have your very own infinity pool, and the upstairs bedroom does catch the cool sea breeze at night! We also stayed in an Ocean Suite which was just as nice for different reasons. Accommodation was comfortable, private and exceptionally clean. Each night the housekeeper would turn down our bed and leave us a special 'sweet Thai treat'.

Lead by Chef Don, and his kitchen team, and supported by the waitering staff combined to produce a gastronomic Thai dining experience at every occasion (although at times we did ask for a little more chilli!). We tried everything, and Don would be happy to know we did put on a few extra kilos by the end of our stay. Special mention and thanks to Goal, Nui and the 'Wine Guru' for their expert knowledge and professional, friendly service. We will always remember our fire lantern rising into the full moon sky. Thank you.

Do yourself a favour and book in for a massage at the Spa. I think I had a Rasananda Signature Massage which was heavenly - it's worth it just to go for a walk up the stairs to the massage rooms set amongst the tree-tops. Very tranquil as it should be. We also had a yoga class with Melanie on the tree-top platform - however watch out for the mosquitoes at dusk. Only one of us had tried yoga before but that didn't matter. We contemplated using the gym facilities, and whilst the equipment all looked very new, we didn't ever seem to make it there for a session.

This is a resort for couples to relax, unwind and enjoy a beach holiday, and Rasananda Anantara mostly lived up to this promise. The resort is well run, and I think management really listens to the wishes of its guests and does their utmost to ensure they deliver and even exceed on their promise.

And the best entertainment... sitting at the beach watching the many guests arrive and depart each day, and being happy that you're still there.

Room Tip: The Thai Pool Villa is private, spacious and a little oasis. Just like having your own little house.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollyanna_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities and services you have to offer.

Now we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to another island experience at Anantara Rasananda.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It is always risky revisiting the best places you have ever stayed, I was a little apprehensive as the Rasananda was unique because it was built by a small hotel chain, what would Anantara do to it?

Well to keep it short they left it the same, smart people, they just performed a miracle with amazing staff and service. It was almost like staying with old friends, we were met by Patrick the hotel manager, then had a chat with Chef Dom about what we would like for dinner in reception! Crab says my 4 year old, no problem, will you try my new crab ravioli for an entree this evening? I am thinking of adding to the menu? Oh okay if we must!

Excellent food, faultless service, the sommelier made a great recommendation , their selection is excellent here unusual in Hotels in Thailand

I really can't express how friendly and efficient the staff at Rasananda are, we live in Asia so are used to the up and down service whatever you pay. We know how hard it is to find and keep good people, without being too gushing Anantara deserve their success.

I think the fact you get a free drink when you check out says it all, they are still looking after you after you have paid the bill! Elsewhere you might get a welcome drink, I'll bet it doesn't change colour when you stir it though?

These guys go the extra mile, hotel of the year for me, can't wait to come back. They deserve an award for excellence, it is that good

Room Tip: Have only stayed in a sea view pool villa, fantastic, if you don't need the view am sure other r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steveg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear SteveG10,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted to read that we able to convince you that the property did not lose its charm. We hope you will come back soon and give us another opportunity to pamper you. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any future arrangements directly.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This year we chose to travel South-East Asia for six weeks including Laos, Thailand and Malaysia. After stressful three weeks traveling the Laos and the Golden Triangle we planned to have a relaxing stop-over in the South including two days Koh Samui and afterwards 6 nights on Koh Phangan: we should have skipped Samui (it is nowadays like Phuket) and should have stayed the full eight nights on Phangan! If you are seeking luxury in an unpretentious and casual setting, if you are looking for a paradise away from the crowds and if you are up for the real Thailand, Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan is THE place to stay. We have toured Thailand many times, including Phuket, Samui, Lanta and the North. However, Phangan has its very own charm and this resort blends perfectly in the eclectic vibe of Phangan while delivering luxury on the level of a Ritz Carlton (as at very reasonable price!!!). Before coming here we were a bit concerned as we read some reviews complaining about the pricing. I am not sure where these people usually spend their holidays but this was one of the most affordable luxury experience we have ever had! You go to the St. Regis or a Ritz and you almost pay double.
We were greeted upon arrival by the whole management team including the General Manager and Front Office team. The speed boat ride is beautiful and you already feel relaxed when just sitting in the lounge at the pier in Samui.
This was already a good omen of what we were about to experience throughout our complete stay: how many places do you know where the General Manager is stopping by every day (!) to check if you are doing alright, to provide you with tips and to have a casual chat? Everyone including your room maid, the restaurant team, the beach boys or gardener seems to know your name. The resort is not large, it feels very homey and boutiquish. The gardens and beach front are just stunning. The rooms (we stayed in one of the higher categories with direct beach access) are spacious with a subtle elegant Thai decor and wonderful bathroom. The beach is impeccable without any flying vendors or trashy all-inclusive tourist bothering you. If you are more the pool person you jump into the beautiful pool located in the center of the resort and swim up to the wet bar! We loved to hang around the pool bar in the afternoons, slurping the fantastic tropical cocktails and having a snack. If you are more up for privacy you just stay at your own private plunge pool and enjoy the scenic views of the ocean... the beach is literally six steps away from your private pool! You wont find that anywhere else anymore. What we loved about the resort was not the elegant and discreet luxury of the rooms, restaurant and Spa. It was more the perfect personal touch and heartfelt welcome we received from everyone working there. Breakfast is superb, the Chef is always around and happy to have a chat. A breakfast without shoes sitting in front of the ocean is probably the best it can get! We mentioned our addiction to waffles and the next day the Chef welcomed us with fresh waffles and homemade mango chutney. When returning from breakfast our room was cleaned with all attention to detail you expect from a five star resort. The only two times we met our maid, we were wowed by her friendliness, attitude and huge smile. The turn down service in the evenings is great and as others already mentioned, you receive every night a different little surprise from the kitchen. We spend all evenings except two in the resort. Every night there is something going on: DJ (great lounge music), fire juggler shows, live music (the best I have heard during our trip). Food is great to fantastic depending on what you fancy. The seafood is outstanding and extremely affordable, the Thai food the best we have had in Thailand. We tried some food in the small village. The village is charming but certainly not an untouched country side village but a bit touristy. The 'restaurants' are dirty and food expensive for what you get. Of course it is much cheaper than any hotel food but checking out the kitchens and looking at the products they are using we felt it to be pricey and very average for Thailand. We do not understand why you would sit in dirty wooden shacks alongside a road if you have the opportunity to dine on the beach in one of the best resorts of Thailand! The Spa is a whole story for itself. An amazing setting of small rooms build into the hilly back side of the resort. Its like a jungle paradise with a beautiful koi carp pond. The partner treatments are excellent, the ambiance magnificent. The manager made some great recommendations and really understood how to surprise us with two fantastic Spa experiences! A special thank you to the restaurant team and Mr. Arnold who created every dinner as a it was a special event. Best restaurant service we have received in many years with a remarkable consistency of great food, lovely attentive service and superb recommendations. We will be back next year and are already counting the days...

Room Tip: Beach front it is!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregHarrisPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear GregHarrisPA,

Thank you very much for your thorough review on Trip Advisor. The whole Anantara Rasananda team is thrilled by making your holiday so special. Reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.

Now we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £132 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing