We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Five star all the way”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 5 nights at this amazing resort. The mark of any five star property revolves around the high quality of it's facilities and it's exceptional commitment to service. We all expect no less. However, it is an organization's reaction to unexpected or special circumstances that separates the truly exceptional from the just ordinary. We arrived at the resort from Bangkok both suffering from H1N1. The resort went out of it's way to see that we got medical attention, even driving us to a nearby clinic for medical attention. Throughout our stay, no effort was spared to see that we were comfortable and well. For such attention and concern for our well being, we will always be grateful.

Now regarding the facilities and setting, the resort is set in a natural environment and has it's own private beach along one of the most beautiful coves on the island. We stayed in one of the two-level pool villas and found it to be both beautiful and comfortable, with such nice touches as Apple TV. My only concern has to do with the lighting, which could be a little brighter, especially on the outside stairwell. But all in all, an exceptional resort in every sense of the word.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Edison G.,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and your great comments about the facilities and services we have to offer. I also hope you recovered from H1N1.

Now we look forward to welcome you hopefully for another stay at Anantara Rasananda.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    308
    102
    31
    14
See reviews for
302
1,312
42
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in the ressort and loved it. The staff is great and made the stay totally relaxing. Very good rooms with a good choice of music and movies over Apple TV. Very nice beach access with deck chairs and great views. Very good restaurant with great cocktails. Behind the ressort is a small village to have dinner with good restaurants. For the transfer to the hotel we recommend to organize own private boat, since the hotel offers quite expensive transfer. Also activities offered by the hotel (snorkeling etc. ) are a little overpriced. Overall: Great place to go!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christoph_Munich_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Christoph G,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Anantara Rasananda. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer.

Now we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We currently staying at this beautiful resort since january 05 until january 12, 2014.

Since many years we travel around the globe and therefore have to admit that we're quite spoiled folks with the respective expectations when we check-in to a hotel. Especially since we take our 21 month old toddler girl every where with us.

Already at the airport of Samui we were greeted by friendly staff and immediately taken to the pier where we had to take a private speed boat (due to the late hour we arrived).
The transfer itself was held as a "little event": the very friendly boat crew welcomed us onboard with sparkling wine and a platter of fingerfood, plus showed us during the approx. 40 minutes ride on a map which route we were taking. This made us feel like home.

The speed boat arrived just at the sandy beaches in front of the hotel where the Anantara Rasanda staff greeted us warmly. At the reception we were got an additional welcome by two members of the management, which I truly appreciate!

We stay in a comfortable Thai Pool Villa (2 floors, upper floor is the actual habitat and the ground floor is the lounge area.

Our friends with their 2 1/2 year old toddler girl have stayed at the Lagoon Pool Villa which is as well very beautiful, granting as well enough privacy. You can access it by a little stair which overarchs a pond with Kois, i believe, in it.

I went to see as well the Ocean Garden Pool Suite. Those who like it will love it, as they have their own space at the beach with a lounge area. I have to admit, that I considered booking the Ocean Garden Pool Suite or the Ocean Pool Villa, but it got me worried that my toddler girl would go and run off, since they have direct access to the beach;)

I guess, I will book one of them, as soon as my daughter will get older.

For our next stay at the Anantara Rasananda (yep, for sure!), we will have difficulties to choose which room to go for, as all three I (Thai Pool Villa, Lagoon Pool Villa and Ocean Garden Pool Suite) have their own individual beauties.

It is amazing how well trained the staff (all Thai) is and how attentive they are. They really almost can read your wish from your lips, I respecially appreciate this, since we are traveling with a toddler.
They are very professional, extremely friendly, helpful and child friendly.

I am using their babysitting service on a daily basis. The only little critic here: I want to have a babysitter who understands what I am briefing her on, but the friendly Anantara Rasananda staff, who saw this, just took the wind out of my sails away (I am not a very patient person), hurried by and translated everything what I said to the babysitter. Well done, I must say.

The food is just fantastic (both Thai and Western food)!!! No wonder the manager responsible for the F&B is French.

All in all the Anantara Rasananda is one of the best resorts I've stayed with. It has such a relaxing and easy going atmosphere... and we really feel on vacation, getting this pampered and spoiled.

Our first time and definitely not our last time!

Keep on going like this Anantara Rasananda!!!


Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Elite K,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor during your stay at Anantara Rasananda. I am very pleased to read that you are enjoying the facilities and services we have to offer.

I wish you a fantastic reminder of your stay.

Kind regards

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited the Anantara Rasananda on Koh Phangan in November for a very late summer holiday. We were greeted at Koh Samui airport and looked after in a comfortable villa on the dock until our boat arrived. The trip to the island was beautiful and we were met on the beach (following a wet landing) by the manager and chef and other staff. Our room was quickly ready after a welcome drink and we were very impressed. We had booked a garden room with plunge pool. The room was enormous with huge bathroom (including walk in shower), dressing room and a lovely large bed with mosquito net. The garden was spectacular with a cute porch door and house of spirits just behind the hedge close to the fish pond. The planting of the grounds made us very jealous. The pool was clean and comfortable and very welcome in the evenings. Beds were turned down, with little home made sweets left on a tray every evening. Housekeeping was meticulous. The mini bar was largely free of charge and refilled every day(beers, and soft drinks free). Decanters contained gin, vodka and whisky for a lovely aperitif every evening (also free except for very cheap mixers). Breakfasts were spectacular and we often ate lunch and dinner on the beach (slightly rainy weather permitting). The food was delicious and interesting. We will never forget watching Castaway and Skyfall with our feet on the sand and a cocktail in hand. Staff were extraordinarily helpful and interesting, coming as they do from a diverse range of Asian cultures. There is a very well stocked library and a cute shop. The village at Ban Tai is a short walk away and it is well worth going to for inexpensive drinks and meals every now and then.

The spa is fantastic. Beautiful location, lovely staff and the treatments are amazing. Do try the Thai massage.

We will definitely return and can't wait to do so. By the way, don't worry about the few dogs that you see at the hotel and on the beach. They are friendly, and just enjoy human company (they are not particularly interested in begging for food and some of their antics are hilarious.)

Room Tip: Our room was number 55 (we think)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Monkeyhumble,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor following your recent visit at Anantara Rasananda. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer.

We look already forward to welcome you back to the shores of the “Gulf of Thailand”.

Kind regards

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited the Anantara for Christmas 2012, spending five nights here. From the pick-up transfer from our hotel in Koh Samui, all the way to Anantara in Koh Phangan, it was met with 5 star service.
Our room was amazing, we had a large luxurious room with terrace and cold tub. The tub was a little too cold to go in though but still looks amazing and was good to soak the feet in! it was a 1 minute walk to the private beach and loungers and although the weather was too windy which prevented swimming in the sea, the beautiful pool was just what we needed. The apple sour cocktail was extremely tasty as was all the food we ate there, especially the Christmas day banquet. There was always so much choice! I think it was very good value for money considering the level of service we had.
If I had to say one down-side, it would be the location if arriving by mini-bus from the port. As it was too windy to arrive by boat we had to cross the whole island to get to the hotel and if you are not a good traveller when it comes to winding roads and dirt tracks, it's not so nice.
I would also only recommend a long weekend here too since there is not much to do in the area.

Room Tip: Room on top floor rather than ground level. If you get a beach view room you get little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerylyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here as a couple over Christmas. Wasn't sure what to expect at this time of year but the hotel went all out to ensure everyone enjoyed the celebrations including a Christmas tree light switch on complete with Christmas carols and a Santa who arrived on a jet ski on Christmas Day (for the children of course!!).

We had room 30 which had a very private balcony, the room was well appointed and included daily water, tea/coffee and a couple of spirits for you to choose from if desired.

Staff were excellent although hot coffee was a little hard to come by at breakfast always seemed lukewarm. Cocktails and service at the pool bar was brilliant - ask M to make you a 'special' and he'll make something according to your tastes, he also remembered every time that I liked my G&T with a wedge of lime rather than slice and I thought this was an excellent touch, I also loved the coconut chips they gave out at the bar - M excelled again here by always asking whether we wanted them - especially when we returned to the hotel after our evening meal - all too often snacks are just given out without being wanted and go to waste.

Not sure if it was the time of year but the hotel was full of families and there really was no escaping the children!! Wouldn't normally bother us but there were so many and they were allowed to run riot, the only evening we ate in the hotel was Christmas Eve and this ended with a child throwing sand in our faces, luckily we'd finished our meal - parents no-where to be seen!!

Children aside, I would highly recommend the hotel and would consider returning. Nai Pan Noi village is still largely undeveloped which is the appeal but the restaurants there are of a very good standard.

There was some confusion when checking out as our travel agent had apparently cancelled our speedboat transfer, the hotel didn't really explain what had happened but seemed like a payment error which they resolved quickly, we are taking this up with the agent to see if we can find out what happened.

My husband left a full drawer of t-shirts at the hotel and having contacted them they were able to get them to us at our next location - we were very pleased with the way this was handled - both hotels worked together to sort this out and the t-shirts were delivered to us the day after!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeandwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear adeandwend,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor following your recent visit at Anantara Rasananda. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us; nevertheless of the many families which staid during your holiday here on Koh Phangan.

I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the shores of the “Gulf of Thailand”.

Kind regards

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visited the Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan for the second time and everything has even improved compared to our previous stay! We stayed in the ocean front villa number 19, which was just outstanding. The hotel in combination with the little “lightly touristy” village in the rear delivers quite a special experience – spending a day on the beach, get a massage at Tanaporn, sip a beer at the rasta bar up in the trees, and eat thai cuisine on the beach – just unique.

The biggest improvement was in the restaurant. Nui did an outstanding job of making all the guests feel comfortable, with the right mix of professionalism, sarcastic humor, and care. The prices in the restaurant were not expensive at all, if you consider the service and product quality. The breakfast buffet was just top, and we very much enjoyed all the great pastries and fresh fruits.

Room Tip: Villa 19 is top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor following your second visit at Anantara Rasananda. We are very happy to read that you felt that we improved our facilities and services compared to your last visit. While all of us are very proud about your comment, Khun Nui is delighted that she made such an impact on your holiday.

Now we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little island paradise.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing