We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon paradise”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the best resort we have ever been to, and was the perfect start to our honeymoon.

The staff are very friendly, greeting you and asking how you are going almost constantly. The level of service is above and beyond, and the grounds and resort beach is kept in an immaculate state.
They often have entertainment during or after dinner, ranging from cinema on the beach to Thai dancing and traditional music. If that's not your thing, you can quite easily head back to your villa or room and be completely unaware that anyone else is around.

Situated on the quiet side of Koh Phangan, the beach is almost silent apart from the muffled sounds of the waves hitting the beach. This was fantastic for my new wife, who wanted nothing more than to slowly come down from the stress and organising entailed in a wedding. Sitting on the beach for hours on end, or lounging at the front of our beachfront villa in the private pool, it was like we were the only people around.

During our stay we noted that this particular area was almost void of children, and was predominantly a couple destination (or so it seemed during our stay), with everyone seeming to be very respectful of the fact that this was a place for everyone to relax. Each villa or room is separated by well kept gardens, and with every trip to the main part of the resort for breakfast or to head out, you'd shuffle along a boardwalk, covered in with plants and gardens on each side, while under the boardwalk a long and winding series of ponds full of koi and water lillees.

The younger people and backpackers seem to stick to the Western side of the island, where the Full Moon parties happen quite regularly. If you want to check that side of the island out(Thong Sala, is also full of places for shopping) there are many taxi cars or boats who will take you there at a small cost. There's also a small village behind the resort that has pharmacies, taxis, scooter hire, travel/tour bookings, restaurants and local foods if you want to try something different.

We did not venture far from the resort most days though, and the array of food on offer, be at at the swim up bar, or service in your room was exceptional. Try the wagyu beef burger, the squid or the barracuda. Delicious.

The only negative we could find, would be that after a few days, we noted the breakfast buffet did not vary much at all, but with that being said it wasn't something that would make you go elsewhere.

The private pool was shaded most of the day, which was also a slight negative, as you needed to leave the pool in order to catch some sun.

Other than that, we couldn't speak highly enough of the resort and the service. If we ever head back to Koh Phangan, it will be to the Anantara resort.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front villa with private pool. You will not regret having access to the very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Shane M,

Thank you very much for staying at our Resort for your honeymoon and thank you for posting some of your pictures from your journey with us. We really appreciate your posting, especially you recommending our Resort and Service.

We would love to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    308
    102
    31
    14
See reviews for
301
1,311
42
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a true juwel away from the buzz and hectic life of the main land.
The cleanest beach I have seen in Thailand. The food and service are excellent. I added a kg extra weight.
A place to be back to relax. Will recommend all my friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helmut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Helmut A,

Thank you very much for visiting our Resort and thank you for your posting. We appreciate your comments about our beach, food and service and looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Thank you also for recommending our Resort to your friends.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This was part of our honeymoon and our first choice of location for our wedding, however we chose Samui in the end due to a few family travel rrangements and decided to come to Rasanda as part of our honeymoon instead and we are so pleased we did!

Highlights:
1. Staff - fabulous, thy made such an effort with us, always friendly & smiling
2.The swim up cocktail bar - I could never understand why here weren't more people there - fantastic cocktails, much better than anything we get here in Sydney!
3. The beach is beautiful
4. Food in the hotel is great
5. The village - if you g&t sick of the 5 star treatment the option to get a little more rustic is right there for you!
We loved every minute and really cannot wait to return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HPTSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear HPTSW19,

Congratulations again and thank you very much for selecting our resort as part of your honeymoon! We appreciate your posting that highlights the fiendliness of our associates, our swim-up bar, the beautiful beach and the great food quality. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The resort is beautiful and the staff we amazing. We would definitely return if we have the opportunity. The island itself is much more relaxed than neighboring Samui but that was what we were looking for. Also, there is a good food place just up the road called handsome hamburgers - open late night, good and very inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissamccrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear melissamccrink,

Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon at our Resort. We appreciate your high ratings and comments, especially about our associates.
We certainly hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for just four nights in May. While we could have been much more adventurous in our explorations of the island, we really only had relaxing in mind for this leg of our trip and this hotel is perfect for that! We booked the speedboat transfer with the hotel - it was so worth it after a somewhat long travel day from Chiang Rai. Upon arriving at the Samui airport you are driven to the pier where Anantara has a private little cabana where you can change clothes, relax, etc before you hop on the boat to Rasananda.

We booked a Lagoon Suite which had a plunge pool and nice, shaded cabana with double cushioned lounge chair. When we got too much sun at the beach it was really nice to relax by our plunge pool. While the beach suites have plunge pools right on the beach with lovely views, we preferred our lagoon setting which felt more private.

The little village near the hotel has plenty of restaurants as well as little convenience stores for snacks, water, etc. The hotel'a restaurant is also quite nice - as are the "Rum Coco" and "High Noon" cocktails served at the pool bar.

The Staff at Rasananda is great - extremely friendly and helpful - always willing to give you advise on what to do, where to go, etc. If we have the opportunity to go back to Koh Phangan there is no doubt that we would stay at Rasananda!!

Room Tip: We preferred the Lagoon suites due to their privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErniePoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear ErniePoo,

Thank you very much for making us part of your Thailand trip. We truly like reading that you enjoyed one of our Lagoon Pool Villas, which does give you most privacy at our Resort. Especially your comment about the friendliness of our associates is much appreciated and we hope that your future travels will bring you back to your favorite Resort on Koh Phangan.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfar saba
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent two nights in this amazing resort. The place is located on a beautiful beach. It has amazing atmosphere inside due to the wonderful garden that is spread all over the place. The pool is very nice. The restaurants are of high quality in Thai standards. The hotel employees are very friendly and polite which is different from many other places we visit in Thailand. The rooms are comfortable with very strong air condition. We had room 16 which is a family room with direct access to the beach and a private pool. The rooms in this part of the hotel are the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liran777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear liran777,

Thank you very much for your stay in April and thank you for your posting. We are glad your family enjoyed staying in one of our Ocean Garden Pool Suites with direct access to our beautiful beach. It’s also great to receive compliments about the friendliness of our associates, which we will certainly share with them.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is located in a small bay and consists of two wings centred around reception, pool and restaurant. Accommodation (64 villas/suites) is set back from the beach, fronted by two-story beach villas whose pool and outside area are largely visible from the beach and are therefore rather public. Other accommodation is located in the garden area and seem to be more private. Although there are a number of other smaller hotels nearby, the Anantara is the highest grade of them all and has much the largest beach front.

Despite the large footprint, loungers are primarily clustered in front of the pool region (large umbrellas provide reasonable shade). This arises because the beach villas have several ‘reserved’ loungers in front, on the beach; there are few other ‘free’ loungers along this part of the beach but little shade. Iced-water and fruit slices are given out during the day. Towels are complementary. Because the hotel faces almost due east, the beach is in the shade for the latter part of the afternoon. The beach is public and there is a constant flow of people walking along, the majority presumably from neighbouring hotels. Jetskies are available from the two ends of the beach but do not generally impinge on those swimming in the sea. On occasions, the sea can be very rough, the red flag signalling it’s too dangerous to swim. Indeed, the majority of private transfers are not able to use the beach. At low tied, the sea is normally quite calm and easier for those who are not confident swimmers.

The hotel spa is in a beautiful location. It is extremely expensive. Spa treatment is available in the village behind the beach. Masseurs can also be found at various places on the beach.

The village has a couple of small mini-marts as well as several low-key restaurants. There’s an ATM. Taxis and trips can be booked here.

We stayed in the garden section, the villa having a large bedroom/sitting room and separate shower room, with a reasonably-sized plunge pool and outside area; seating is located here as well as a ‘nature’ shower. There is good shade. There are tea and coffee-making facilities. Wifi is free throughout the hotel.

The hotel has a good breakfast buffet, with seating on the sand near to the pool; in addition, there are tables undercover, both on the ground level and above the open kitchen. Pool food is generally good. There are special ‘themed’ food events in the evening that are not particularly good and can be very expensive. Local food, either from the nearby beach-based restaurants or from the village running behind the beach, is much better value and far more enjoyable; note that the temperature away from the beach can rise considerably even in the evening.

Service is excellent. The people working there can’t do enough for you. The beach ‘boys’ deserve especial mention. More senior staff and managers are largely invisible.

As the beach can be quite busy, and there can be quite high density, not everyone might enjoy the location. We really appreciated the opportunity of using the whole beach and eating/drinking at a number of different places.

Koh Phangan is commonly accessed from Koh Samui. Public transfer as well as private boats (at a considerable cost) is available. When leaving Koh Phangan, with the aim of catching onward flights from Koh Samui, allowance must be made for weather, and strong seas can make the crossing uncomfortable, especially in small boats.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravellerNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear 2TravellerNow,

Thank you for taking the time to write this report about your stay at our Resort in February. We appreciate you pointing out that our Resort being the “highest grade” on the island, located on a long stretched beach and the excellent service you received by our associates.

We are looking forward to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing