We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I cannot recommend this resort enough! We stayed for 9 nights in May as part of our honeymoon. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We had a garden pool suite and it was extremely peaceful and quiet. Although I am a beach lover I don't think I would have preferred the ocean view suites at all as they don't have the same privacy as the garden pool suites. The staff cannot help and assist you enough and they are all very friendly. Reby was very friendly and looked after us. We had a waiter named Chea who was so helpful and looked after us really well. The hotel food was delicious and we felt it was very good value for money. We ate in the hotel almost every night as the daily special menus very too tempting!
We had two spa treatments each during our stay and they were fantastic. The spa is paradise.
I cant say enough about this resort. Every aspect of our stay was brilliant and I hope we get the opportunity to return. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: The privacy of the garden pool suite is a real bonus. We stayed in suite 32 and it was very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear E F,

Thank you very much for making us part of your honeymoon! We are glad you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings and the visits to our Anantara Spa. Especially your comments about our staff and their friendliness are very appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be coming back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Rasananda Markus, Rebecca, Arnaud, Jazzy and actually all of the staff were very welcoming complete with welcoming and departing party! The location is second to none, the facilities are meticulously tidy, clean and kept in great working order. The walk through to our pool room never failed to amaze us walking a deck with pools filled with coy carp on both sides (something to remember before saying yes to that last delicious cocktail of the evening!)
We did the spice spoons culinary course with the sous chef, we ummed and erred about it because we had spent quite a lot of money already but what we have taken away from the experience was something that we would both gladly have paid 3 times the amount. The chef enthused upon us his pure joy and passion for cooking and ingredients and taught us far more than just how to cook three dishes!
All in all a fabulous experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Alex K,

Thank you very much for your visit to our resort and thank you very much for your lovely posting. We really appreciate your comments about our resort, the staff and especially your Spice Spoons cooking class journey. We are very glad to hear, that you had a fabulous experience and hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Sincerely yours,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have chosen this hotel for the first part of our Honeymoon. The room ambiance suited us very well (I did not find the room to be too dark as per other reviews) the outside Jacuzzi was very good. The only problem we had was the daily turn down service sweets. There were always ants getting to it before we had a chance. Not a big deal for us as they were tiny and I understand that in such climate certain thing are unavoidable shame though as they always looked delish. The fact that managers greet you at the beach when you arrive by speedboat makes it a very personal experience. Lovely food and cocktails. Cinema on the beach was a great entertainment. The only downside is that the beach is quite small and as there other hotels there sometimes there are many people passing by. Obviously this is not a hotel fault but it discouraged us from private dining on the beach experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear AnnaCDublin,

Thank you very much for starting off your honeymoon with a stay at our resort and thank you for posting so many lovely pictures!

We truly enjoyed reading your posting, especially your comments about our room ambiance and its outside pool, the arrival experience when greeted by the management team and our overall food and beverage offerings with nightly entertainment. We do appreciate about your concerns of the turndown amenity setup, which we will look into to improve.

Thank you very much for letting us be part of your honeymoon and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in a pool suite. Having re read some of the reviews since we've been back, we would have to agree with some of the points made.

In general we would recommend Anantara as a great place to stay - the beach is beautiful, the island is not as spoilt by tourism as say Koh Samui, the breakfast is lovely and the staff are very helpful.

I would have to agree on the following points; wildlife, pool,

Firstly, we spent a lot of money staying here and were hoping for a relaxing honeymoon. This tranquility was broken a few times at breakfast and at the pool by young children. I appreciate that families are welcome but it is an odd place to take children (there's nothing to do for them and it is very much a couples place). Trying to sit by the pool to be splashed and have screaming and shouting ruins the ambiance somewhat. Something to consider if you are wanting peace and quite - there were more children here than the other places we stayed.

Seconldy, whilst mentioning to pool, there are only 3 sunbeds around it - which is a shame as the pool area is nice. There are 2 pools, the sunbeds are around the one nearest the beach, there is another right next to this one that no one uses - there are no beds around it and it is a little trickier to get in to - seems such a waste.

Thirdly, whilst we had a pool suite we only went in our private plunge pool once - the first time we went in we were attacked by large flying beetles. The design of the resort is such that you are embedded in the 'jungle', so there's lots of ghecko's, mosquito's and flying things. Being a bit of a wimp we felt it safer to use the main pool.

We ate at the restaurant twice - it was quite quiet so the atmosphere wasn't there and it was expensive compared to other options. There was a restaurant attached to the Buri Rasa Hotel that was always full, good atmosphere and the menu had so much choice - plus price was cheap.

It is a lovely resort and you are made to feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend - however just bear the above in mind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHSM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear CHSM01,

Thank you very much for your visit to our resort during your honeymoon and thank you for your review. We certainly are pleased that you are recommending our resort as a great place to stay at, mainly due to our beach, the island, our breakfast offerings and the helpfulness of our associates. We also appreciate your other comments and will review our current setup of our lounge chairs around the pool, whilst majority of our guests prefer to spend their time at the beach.

Thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, but my husband and I weren't blown away by it. The island itself is stunning and not taken over by tourists, like other islands are. We stayed in one of the ocean pool villa suites...if you can afford it, then definitely book one of these rooms. The room was spacious and private with easy access to the beach, and the outside deck with private pool was a nice touch. I loved the outside bathroom; however, my husband wasn't a fan of it. Service was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Rebecca helped us plan some nice excursions. The spa was excellent, we had a nice couples massage, and I had a relaxing facial one evening. The spa staff was so lovely and very professional. Breakfast was good, but not excellent. Good eggs made to order, but some of the other buffet food (i.e. pancakes and bacon) wasn't hot enough. We didn't eat dinners at the hotel, as it seemed quite pricey. There are loads of nice restaurants nearby, only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We especially liked Luna, which served delicious food in a really nice atmosphere. One thing that was a bit disappointing for us was there were quite a few kids staying at the hotel...before booking it, we didn't get the feeling that it was a family hotel, but maybe that was just poor judgement on our part. If you want a romantic and couples-type hotel then I wouldn't book this one. Overall, we had a lovely stay; however, we were expecting the hotel to have that wow factor, but unfortunately, it didn't for us.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Stefanie B,

Thank you very much for visiting our resort for your honeymoon back in February! We did enjoy reading your posting, in particular how much you liked the island, your Ocean Pool Suite with private pool, the great service extended by our associates and your visits to our Anantara Spa. Our resort does cater mainly to couples and we are very sorry if we did not fully meet your expectations in regards to this matter. If time permits, I would like to discuss your overall experience and can be reached at mkrebs@anatnara.com.

Thank you again for your visit and posting and I look forward to hear back from you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Rasananda for 3 nights, as the final stop on our honeymoon. This was to be our 'treat' at the end of our trip. Reading all the previous reviews it seems that most guests absolutely adore this hotel, and it is a very nice resort, however we found ourselves not 'loving it' as we expected to.

Our room was great, spacious bedroom, great aircon, all the amenities needed. The outdoor bathroom was beautiful and enormous, however I thought that having a garden in it attracted more bugs/wildlife and this may have been a design mistake. On one night we had moths, huge great big flying beetles and 4 lizzards.

Our outdoor area was also spacious, and the plunge pool was fantastic, it would however have been nice to have some sunloungers in this area rather than just deckchairs. We also expected a little more space on the beach and were a little disappointed to find that all the sunloungers here (although you do get 2 reserved ones) were quite close together.

As it's a public beach, there are lots of people from other hotels/backpacking places there, and on 2 days we had large groups set up camp in front of our villa with loud music blaring out all day which somewhat spoils the idyllic setting.

Food wise, the breakfast was vast but quality wasn't brilliant, a hot cabinet containing pancakes/waffles ensured almost tooth breaking delights if you didn't get there first thing before they had all dried out. We also expected in a 5 star resort to have freshly squeezed juices but all were from a carton. We only had lunch one day at the restaurant and it was really bad - crispy squid was anything but crisp, with water running accross the plate and a rubbery consistency. In the evening however the food was good.

The pool is small, shallow and seems to be for show only, we didn't see anyone in it and there are only 4 sun loungers by it.

Service was excellent, with a special mention for Rebecca who was super friendly and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.

All in all, this is a good hotel, the rooms may be 5* but the rest of the resort isn't in my opinion. Then again, we may just have been spoilt by our previous hotel in Koh Samui which was the best I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you very much for your visit to our Resort and thank you for your feedback. First of all, I would like to apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. As you have mentioned, we do provide reserved sunloungers for all our guests, but certainly appreciate your comment of having additional ones on each Villa pool deck. In regards to our food offereings, we will certainly review with our culinary team, but would like to mention, that we do provide a fariety of freshly squeezed Juices on our buffet as well as made to order freshly squeezed Orange Juice. I appreciate you pointing out our excellent service and your encounters with Rebecca.

Again, I am sorry, that we did dissapoint you in certain areas and if time permit, I would like to discuss with you further at your convenience. Please let me know how I can reach you by simply emailing me at mkrebs@anantara.com.

I am looking forward speaking with you.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in one of the garden pool suites from mid April till mid May 2014 as part of our honeymoon and could not be more impressed with the hotel, the island or the people.

The staff go to great lengths to make sure you are happy and the hotel and its grounds are clean, smart and beautifully maintained. The location is fantastic and the beach really is paradise.

The food in the hotel is of a very high standard and reasonably priced if you book half board in advance (as we did). If you fancy eating elsewhere the village behind the hotel has several places to eat.

The transfers to and from Koh Samui were very good (on the hotel's speed boats) but be aware that you might be in with a group from another hotel (3*) from just down the beach.

We booked a private island tour through the hotel and again the service was flawless, especially from the "Island Guru" Rebecca.

We also had a couples spa experience - the spa is even more stunning than the hotel and the treatments we had were very relaxing.

We hope to be able to return to the hotel and Koh Phangan. It made our honeymoon an unforgettable experience

Ian & Lucy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Ian R,

Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon in April and May with us. We are very pleased to read your compliments about our food quality, the couple treatment at our Anantara Spa and that we were able to create an unforgettable experience for you.

We certainly hope, that you will be able to come back to visit us one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.4 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £162 - £1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing