We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Luxury Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Luxury Beach Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Anantara for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon in an Ocean View Room. We picked this hotel as we wanted a luxury hotel, directly on the beach, but also with the option to go out of the hotel to eat / drink, which there is the opportunity to do here.

The beach is beautiful, water is cool and long enough to have a stroll round. We explored most of the island, and I would rate the beach as one of the best on the island (although note that it is on the East coast, so you won't see the sunset over the sea!). It is very clean and safe and didn't have tour groups / long tail boats rocking up every 30 mins like you get on some of the other beaches. With our room type, we had reserved loungers on the beach every day, which was a nice touch.

Pool area and pool bar are very relaxed and are well designed / decorated. Good happy hour cocktails!

The room itself had a private plunge pool on the balcony, very comfortable king sized bed, and lovely bathroom with huge shower cubicle. Fan and AC meant good relief from the heat, and no bugs! Very clean, fluffy towels, robes - the full 5 star experience.

We did not eat in the restaurant at night, as to us it seemed quite expensive (and was usually a buffet), but the breakfast buffet was good (egg station, western and Asian dishes, fresh fruit). There are a number of good, affordable restaurants in the village behind the hotel, as well as a lot of massage houses (Tanaporn Massage is good), supermarket and ATMs. Make sure you try Handsome Sandwiches for a burger at lunch, and Better than Sex (terrible name, good food) for dinner.

I would echo the other reviews around the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and overall our experience was hugely positive.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Villas are right on the beach, at ground level, so if you want a bit more privacy, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallulans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear wallulans,

Thank you very much for making our resort part of your honeymoon! We are glad you mentioning that all our ocean front villas and suites have their own dedicated sun lounger right in front on our prestige beach. We as well appreciate that you explored the restaurants in our nearby village, but also note, that in addition to our special dinner themed nights, our F&B team serves daily an a la carte menu, consisting of a Western and a Thai menu section, one of if not the best Thai food on the island!

Thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,515
    314
    102
    31
    14
See reviews for
314
1,334
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I just wanted to let you know that this place is AMAZING!
The quality of service is outstanding , from the moment you arrive till the moment they wave you good bye you are completely pampered.
The staff are the friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, they were attentive to all our needs and made every effort to make us feel special.
The concierge arranged excursions based on exactly what we were interested in…. it was definitely an experience of a lifetime.
We have older children and will be returning with them to Phangan and we are also looking forward to trying out some of the other Anantara locations around the world.
Thank you to all the staff that made our honeymoon so perfect!

Room Tip: Thai pool Villa - private and characteristic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22Heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear 22Heaven,

Thank you very much for visiting our resort for your honeymoon. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt pampered by our staff.

We look forward to welcome you and your children back and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance with any of our other Anantara Hotels & Resorts.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I cannot recommend this resort enough! We stayed for 9 nights in May as part of our honeymoon. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We had a garden pool suite and it was extremely peaceful and quiet. Although I am a beach lover I don't think I would have preferred the ocean view suites at all as they don't have the same privacy as the garden pool suites. The staff cannot help and assist you enough and they are all very friendly. Reby was very friendly and looked after us. We had a waiter named Chea who was so helpful and looked after us really well. The hotel food was delicious and we felt it was very good value for money. We ate in the hotel almost every night as the daily special menus very too tempting!
We had two spa treatments each during our stay and they were fantastic. The spa is paradise.
I cant say enough about this resort. Every aspect of our stay was brilliant and I hope we get the opportunity to return. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: The privacy of the garden pool suite is a real bonus. We stayed in suite 32 and it was very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear E F,

Thank you very much for making us part of your honeymoon! We are glad you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings and the visits to our Anantara Spa. Especially your comments about our staff and their friendliness are very appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be coming back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Rasananda Markus, Rebecca, Arnaud, Jazzy and actually all of the staff were very welcoming complete with welcoming and departing party! The location is second to none, the facilities are meticulously tidy, clean and kept in great working order. The walk through to our pool room never failed to amaze us walking a deck with pools filled with coy carp on both sides (something to remember before saying yes to that last delicious cocktail of the evening!)
We did the spice spoons culinary course with the sous chef, we ummed and erred about it because we had spent quite a lot of money already but what we have taken away from the experience was something that we would both gladly have paid 3 times the amount. The chef enthused upon us his pure joy and passion for cooking and ingredients and taught us far more than just how to cook three dishes!
All in all a fabulous experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Alex K,

Thank you very much for your visit to our resort and thank you very much for your lovely posting. We really appreciate your comments about our resort, the staff and especially your Spice Spoons cooking class journey. We are very glad to hear, that you had a fabulous experience and hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Sincerely yours,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have chosen this hotel for the first part of our Honeymoon. The room ambiance suited us very well (I did not find the room to be too dark as per other reviews) the outside Jacuzzi was very good. The only problem we had was the daily turn down service sweets. There were always ants getting to it before we had a chance. Not a big deal for us as they were tiny and I understand that in such climate certain thing are unavoidable shame though as they always looked delish. The fact that managers greet you at the beach when you arrive by speedboat makes it a very personal experience. Lovely food and cocktails. Cinema on the beach was a great entertainment. The only downside is that the beach is quite small and as there other hotels there sometimes there are many people passing by. Obviously this is not a hotel fault but it discouraged us from private dining on the beach experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear AnnaCDublin,

Thank you very much for starting off your honeymoon with a stay at our resort and thank you for posting so many lovely pictures!

We truly enjoyed reading your posting, especially your comments about our room ambiance and its outside pool, the arrival experience when greeted by the management team and our overall food and beverage offerings with nightly entertainment. We do appreciate about your concerns of the turndown amenity setup, which we will look into to improve.

Thank you very much for letting us be part of your honeymoon and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in a pool suite. Having re read some of the reviews since we've been back, we would have to agree with some of the points made.

In general we would recommend Anantara as a great place to stay - the beach is beautiful, the island is not as spoilt by tourism as say Koh Samui, the breakfast is lovely and the staff are very helpful.

I would have to agree on the following points; wildlife, pool,

Firstly, we spent a lot of money staying here and were hoping for a relaxing honeymoon. This tranquility was broken a few times at breakfast and at the pool by young children. I appreciate that families are welcome but it is an odd place to take children (there's nothing to do for them and it is very much a couples place). Trying to sit by the pool to be splashed and have screaming and shouting ruins the ambiance somewhat. Something to consider if you are wanting peace and quite - there were more children here than the other places we stayed.

Seconldy, whilst mentioning to pool, there are only 3 sunbeds around it - which is a shame as the pool area is nice. There are 2 pools, the sunbeds are around the one nearest the beach, there is another right next to this one that no one uses - there are no beds around it and it is a little trickier to get in to - seems such a waste.

Thirdly, whilst we had a pool suite we only went in our private plunge pool once - the first time we went in we were attacked by large flying beetles. The design of the resort is such that you are embedded in the 'jungle', so there's lots of ghecko's, mosquito's and flying things. Being a bit of a wimp we felt it safer to use the main pool.

We ate at the restaurant twice - it was quite quiet so the atmosphere wasn't there and it was expensive compared to other options. There was a restaurant attached to the Buri Rasa Hotel that was always full, good atmosphere and the menu had so much choice - plus price was cheap.

It is a lovely resort and you are made to feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend - however just bear the above in mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHSM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear CHSM01,

Thank you very much for your visit to our resort during your honeymoon and thank you for your review. We certainly are pleased that you are recommending our resort as a great place to stay at, mainly due to our beach, the island, our breakfast offerings and the helpfulness of our associates. We also appreciate your other comments and will review our current setup of our lounge chairs around the pool, whilst majority of our guests prefer to spend their time at the beach.

Thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, but my husband and I weren't blown away by it. The island itself is stunning and not taken over by tourists, like other islands are. We stayed in one of the ocean pool villa suites...if you can afford it, then definitely book one of these rooms. The room was spacious and private with easy access to the beach, and the outside deck with private pool was a nice touch. I loved the outside bathroom; however, my husband wasn't a fan of it. Service was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Rebecca helped us plan some nice excursions. The spa was excellent, we had a nice couples massage, and I had a relaxing facial one evening. The spa staff was so lovely and very professional. Breakfast was good, but not excellent. Good eggs made to order, but some of the other buffet food (i.e. pancakes and bacon) wasn't hot enough. We didn't eat dinners at the hotel, as it seemed quite pricey. There are loads of nice restaurants nearby, only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We especially liked Luna, which served delicious food in a really nice atmosphere. One thing that was a bit disappointing for us was there were quite a few kids staying at the hotel...before booking it, we didn't get the feeling that it was a family hotel, but maybe that was just poor judgement on our part. If you want a romantic and couples-type hotel then I wouldn't book this one. Overall, we had a lovely stay; however, we were expecting the hotel to have that wow factor, but unfortunately, it didn't for us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Stefanie B,

Thank you very much for visiting our resort for your honeymoon back in February! We did enjoy reading your posting, in particular how much you liked the island, your Ocean Pool Suite with private pool, the great service extended by our associates and your visits to our Anantara Spa. Our resort does cater mainly to couples and we are very sorry if we did not fully meet your expectations in regards to this matter. If time permits, I would like to discuss your overall experience and can be reached at mkrebs@anatnara.com.

Thank you again for your visit and posting and I look forward to hear back from you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
15.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
16.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas

Property: Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing