We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wattana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wattana Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wattana Resort
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wattana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Arrange pick up from Pier or face the extortionate taxi fares of 700 Bht to get a lift there. Impression of luxury at excellent budget prices. Staff fantastic ,welcoming and friendly. Lunch Dinner,fine .Beach Huts excellent and brilliant room service.Stunningly quiet and unspoilt. Wouls go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LargeFamilyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked in here for four nights for the Full Moon Party. I was feeling a bit dubious when the taxi dropped me off at the top of a dirt track insisting the resort was 'down there', but once I was down and turned the corner I did indeed find it and had nothing to worry about.

We stayed in a family cabin which was perfect for the four of us, two double beds, air con and a huge bathroom, as well as a lovely deck with hammocks for relaxing. There were a few hairy moments with some lizards, but you are very much in the wilderness there so it should be expected!

The downside is that the resort is 20-30 minute walk from the nearest shops and restaurants and very few taxis drive past the entrance, so leaving in the evenings was tricky. The hotel does offer a taxi service but only if the husband is there, and their English is terrible so trying to communicate exactly where you are going is extremely difficult, especially if there is more than one stop. They did however try very hard every time we asked to go somewhere. (In the end we resorted to renting a car as it was MUCH cheaper than getting 200B taxis each everywhere).

There is a private beach and restaurant, the beach is lovely but you have to make sure you are in the restaurant at certain times otherwise they will not feed you, even if they are just sitting around doing nothing (which I didn't really understand).

In short, I would go back to this place if I was coming purely to relax and not really venture to the party bit of the island. If you're heading here for Full Moon, I'd look into staying around Baan Tai instead!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I spent there 4 nights, in one word: EXCELLENT for quiet and peaceful vacation. The bungalow (we took a modern one, for 1200 tbh) was very clean and comfy. Food is great, the hospitality of the owner/family is typical Thai, always with a smile. In the evening, you can hardly hear a single noise! Lovely resort, highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lampros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peniche, Portugal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Amazing and quite place, all the bungalows are directly on the beach, the beach is very clean.
The staff was very friendly, The wifi always worked. And you have everything close by, any way i suggest that you rent a bike close to the boats.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriamvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

A stay at Wattana Resort is really like a stay in paradise, the resort is just so beautiful and quiet. Located at the far end of Chaloklum beach it's the last resort on the beach and consists of bungalows spread out nicely for privacy amidst a tropical garden with lots of coconut palms. It's right by the beach, so even the cheaper bungalows (which are of course the furthest from the beach) are just a few steps from the ocean and have sea view. The beach consists of fine white sand, but is rather small when the tide is high. So maybe there are nicer beaches on the island, but if you're looking for a laid back, quiet, traditional bungalow resort and beautiful nature at a great price I think Wattana is the place.

I had a basic wooden bungalow with fan and even though the bathroom wasn't too great I absolutely loved my bungalow because it was just your picture perfect traditional Koh Phangan bungalow under palmtrees and with a hammock on the veranda. The fan worked against the heat, the mosquito net against the mosquitos, the bed was comfortable and the WIFI worked well, too. Another plus was the really nice, friendly and helpfull staff as well as the really good and reasonably priced restaurant right by the beach.

I looked at some other resorts in the area and I really think Wattana Resort is one of the best options at the best value. I also liked that it's just a 10-15 min walk to Chaloklum village, where you have convenient infrastructure like restaurants, ATMs, a 7Eleven and a pharmacy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiMo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This place is excellent, stayed here for 3 weeks in December and January. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxed place to stay at, I'll be back in July. The family who own place are real sweet, the location is tops, the food is quality, the bungalows rock, in fact the whole place rocked, only wish I was still there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markjhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stay at this resort at big house, sea in front view, less than 20 meters. Nice & charming manager, good room with 2 double bed, quiet place, healthy breakfast. Good choice for vacation in Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.8 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandalai Hotel
Mandalai Hotel
#41 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#44 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Malibu Beach Bungalows
Malibu Beach Bungalows
#46 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#38 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#27 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattana Resort

Property: Wattana Resort
Address: 69/2 Moo.7 Chaloklum Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wattana Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing