We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere, nice bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, nice bungalows”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hostel is very nice, bungalows are clean and comfy. The restaurant is good value and there is even a DVD-TV-Area to chill. The pool is also a refreshing alternative to the beach, which is very close and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    105
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
24
132
106
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I had the best time- the staff of Shiralea were awesome! I was a solo traveler on a contiki trip and the vibe there allowed everyone to have the greatest experience. The place was clean and well kept, everyone was super friendly and looking to meet others. From paint parties to outdoor movie theaters, from thai massages to home made food and of course the infamous ringing of the bell. I loved my time at Shiralea and recommend it to anyone traveling Koh Pha Ngan. Love and Light!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here for 9 nights. Apart from the value for money, everything was amazing. The way the place is set up is awesome. It's spacious enough to not be ontop of everyone else, but the common areas allow you to meet new people. I came here as a single traveller and met many people. I stayed in 2 different rooms- coconut visage and bamboo village. Bamboo village is the basic necessity's, and very clean. Coconut village rooms are bigger and have air con. Also very nice. It is a 2 min walk to haad yoa beach which is beautiful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! The staff are amazing and make everyone feel at home and included! I have met young people and families. Great place for everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara_jay_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Staff at Shiralea is unbelievably nice, welcoming and helps gladly with any perks - we definitely had a few and it seem they helped us gladly. Their restaurant was the breaking point for us to taste again some western food after two weeks of travel - we loved it, delicious burgers, pork balls, pancakes, fresh fruit etc. And the famous frozen margaritas and mojitos ... On the spot also a clean pool and massage, peaceful banana tree garden with hens and birds.

Bungalows are basic, but clean. They usually come with an authentic Thai pet (little gekko) included in price, that eats away any mosquito, that my wander into your room. :) Seriously, don't be afraid of it, it won't probably even show up, when you're around the bungalow.

If I had to recommend only one single place/accommodation based on my experience in Thailand, that would definitely be Shiralea!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutendaal, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great staf, great place! It was the best hostel we have seen in our three months journey! You feel like family from the first minute. Our children loved the place! Great meals. 'Welcome home' and 'You are more than welcome', quotes from the staff: it tells enough. You have to book at Shirelea to feel what we can't explain!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goedele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This place is fantastic. My friends and I spent 3 nights there and never wanted to leave. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, food is fantastic, and great bungalows. There is Wi-Fi in the common areas, it's within a 3 minute walk to the beach, and there are always people to meet and talk to. It was the longest we stayed at a place during our vacation to Thailand and we did not want to leave! I mean, how can you want to leave a place that offers you a drink before you even check in?! I love the tab situation too-no need to pay as you go. For 3 nights, all my meals there, drinks, laundry, tuktuk rides to parties, and an elephant ride I paid under $100. I really cannot rate this place high enough! If you go to Thailand, make sure you come here. You will not regret it for a second.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I normally don't bother writing reviews, but this place really amazed me. I've been living in Thailand for several months and have stayed in many hostels, hotels, etc, but this place is truly a gem. I stumbled upon Shiralea while browsing HostelWorld, trying to find relatively cheap but decent accommodation for the full moon party. The good reviews and interactive website were what sold me. Upon arrival, I was impressed by the cleanliness and ambiance of the place. The second we walked into the "office", aka the bar/lounge area, we were welcomed by the most amazing staff I've encountered during my time in Thailand (and even in most parts of the world tbh). We were offered a drink before even sitting down, and I can't remember their names for the life of me, but the redhead and brunette lady, and the guys were really friendly and made us feel right at home. They even arranged transportation for us and taxis for a few tours that we did. The chill area they have is awesome, and it's definitely a great place to meet fellow travelers. The night of the full moon party, they had a pre drinking and painting party, which helped set the mood for a great night. The bungalow was great and had a hammock on the porch to chill out on if you wanted. The beach is beautiful, NOT crowded (unlike the beach where full moon takes place), and is literally a 3 minute walk down the path. I would highly suggest this place. Thanks Shiralea staff for a great time! Can't wait to get back to Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#12 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#19 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Property: Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing