We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you're looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Pros:

-Location is simply stunning...the natural beauty is jaw-dropping
-AWESOME outdoor pool
-Great bar and restaurant
-Very fun party atmosphere
-Clean rooms
-Beautiful beach within a 5 minute walk
-Most of the bar staff (more below). Josh is the best bartender that I've ever had, anywhere.
-Hammocks...oh man, the hammocks...

Cons:

-Definitely a rowdy scene. If you want to party your butt off, then this is the place. However, the music is LOUD and goes into the wee hours of the morning, so it can be very hard to sleep
-LOOOONG taxi ride to the Full Moon Party...minimum half an hour, and sometimes longer when the horrible taxi drivers shuffle you around like cattle
-One member of the bar staff, the guy with dreads, was simply terrible. Never smiled, always reluctant to actually do anything to help, gave off bad vibes
-POSSIBLE source of concern: I had money, which was hidden in my luggage, go missing when I was there. American cash that I was saving and was definitely NOT spent. I might have misplaced it somehow, but possibly be careful about the cleaning staff

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie P, Owner at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Derek

Sounds like you had a great time with us! Which is always so great to hear. Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it a lot, as it helps us to see how we are doing, and it helps other travelers see what we all about.

Glad you loved our pool, and fun party atmosphere, we love to have a good time at Shiralea! We started this company as a bunch of backpackers ourselves, we had a dream to create a cool place for like-minded travelers. We wanted it to be somewhere that people could either party or relax and have a good time enjoying what the Thai islands have to offer. We are so glad you stayed with us and had a cool time. You mentioned Josh was an awesome Bartender – yep, he is one in a million!

You stayed over Full Moon Party and as you said it’s a place to party your butt off, especially during this time every month. At Shiralea we do have our quiet nights, we also hold pub quizzes and bingo which is usually fun and chilled out. We will happily admit that when there is a big party crowd over full moon we do put on a great couple of nights!

You and your friend have both mentioned in your reviews about possible money missing, as you shared a bungalow, as I said in my response to her we would have loved to have talked to you guys about this, as we would have taken it incredibly seriously, it is not something that just happens here at Shiralea and as you were unsure of the money missing we can only say we wish we had the chance to chat about it. We supply security boxes and padlocks in every room and we encourage people to use these.

See you next time you are in our part of the world, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here as part of an Ultimate Thailand trip and absolutely loved it! The people were super cool and friendly, the hostel itself was stunning, clean and well looked after and the food & drinks were spot on, the whole place just had an awesome vibe.

Its a little way from the pier and the half moon party but a 1min walk from a stunning beach and a few shops to get anything you need, but to be honest that doesn't even matter because you'll be happy just chilling out at Shiralea!

Probably not for those wanting a quiet or romantic getaway, but for backpackers its spot on!

Would 100% come back and recommend this place to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Kirsty,

Great to see you guys enjoyed yourself! Hope the rest of your journey was safe. See you again at Shiralea!

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We experienced issues with booking a night elsewhere and so asked to stay a further night (having already stayed 2). They had no bungalows so went to the effort to make us up a makeshift room so we didn't have to sleep in hammocks! Every member of staff was always smiling and there was an extremely friendly and welcoming atmosphere - good for meeting people. The pool was lovely and whilst there went to the famous shiralea BBQ which you musn't miss! Incredible food. The beds were comfortable and massive. Thank you so so much for our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Milly,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Shiralea, we're always happy to help out when we can.

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed with two friends at the shiralea a couple of days and it was so far the best hostel we have been to!
The service is great, we had so much fun with service guys. They will do everything to assure you a pleasant stay!! Best guys!!
It's a great place to meet many different backpackers and thanks to shiralea you will get to know everyone very fast!
It's just 2 minutes away from the beach and the nicest spot on Koh Phangan.
If I ever go back to Koh Phangan then to Shiralea only.

Westside bros ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewCornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Drew,

Great to see you enjoyed your stay here at Shiralea! From all the staff here at Shiralea is was an absolute pleasure to have you guys. Hope to see you in the near future!

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The staff at Shiralea were totally awesome and made our trip. A group of us stayed at Shiralea for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. Like some of the other reviews, it can get pretty wild there, but it is also a really relaxed vibe as well. Thanks to the staff!!!!!!!! A+ effort

1) The bar has nice cheap drink prices, some of the cheapest i have seen in Thailand. They also have a bar tab system which just saves the hassle of going for you wallet every two minutes, and just put it on your card at the end of the stay! That goes for food, drinks whatever. So easy.

2) The setting is really nice and relaxing during the day, you can chill in the bar / restaurant in the hammocks or chill around the pool. its a nice chilled out atmosphere with the rooms set among the trees in a natural sort of way.

3) The best thing by far was the staff. They were awesome in the bar all day and all night and really enhanced the trip. There were some wild, late and loud nights, but the guys just ran with it and stayed until we finished up. They were friendly and got involved in the fun. Cant say thank you enough to the staff.

Shiralea is a bit of a drive from the full moon party spot, but the fact its only one night it did not worry us. the staff organised taxis for us and held a awesome pre-full moon party.

Shiralea is close to the beach but is out of town. It has everything you need there and is the perfect spot if you just want to chill in the resort and not go exploring too much.

A+
10 out of 10
Easy

Room Tip: Further from the bar the better if you want a quiet night sleep. If you like to party, stay close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Jarrod,

Glad you enjoyed your stay here mate, always happy to accommodate for our awesome guests! Hope to see you around the island soon!

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Pros:
5 min walk to beach
Beautiful pool and bungalows
Amazing food
English speaking knowledgable staff that are very nice and helpful (most)

However ...
Cons:
Our bill was meant to be separated because I shared a room with a friend but that was messed up. Was very hard to figure out at end.

Contiki tour was full of wild teenagers who overtook the pool, overloaded the wifi and kept the music BLASTING till very late every night. Even the one after full moon that I had reserved for as a rest day.
I did have my friend go ask them to turn down the music at 1:30am because it was painfully loud but the lower volume didn't last for more than a song or two. The staff was very drunk.

Cabs were long to full moon. (30 mins and sometimes taking up to 2 hours) -200bht each way to full moon area.

You needed to request your rooms be cleaned if you wanted it to, but they didn't seem all that happy to do so.

Money went missing ($100CAN) and may (but cannot be completely sure) have been taken by cleaners. The money was hidden in personal belongings but was found missing later on. That was the only opportunity for it to be taken that I can think of. Just watch out for that at least. Maybe have a lock on your bags.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alysha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie P, Owner at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi there!

Thanks for your review, its always good for us to read over these and get a feel for what we are doing right and areas where we can improve, we appreciate all feedback.

We do agree with you our food is awesome :) and we are very proud to provide such a delicious menu to our guests. We are happy that you loved our bungalows and pool, we love that we are an affordable place to stay for backpackers where you actually get great rooms, an amazing restaurant, pool, bars, tv room, pool table and more. Thank you for giving us a thumbs up about our facilities!

We are glad our staff looked after you well, we are a big family here at Shiralea and we love to get to know guests and have a good time with everybody. We are always happy to help you with any ideas for activities around Koh Phangan, or just tell you our favourite places to eat and drink on the island. We are very proud of our home on Koh Phangan and we want everybody to experience how amazing it is here.

It sounds like you guys had a tricky time sorting your bill out as it was all on one tab, we offer all guests in one room the option to have different tab numbers and that solves this problem, as it can be hard to remember “who had what” after a week or two of eating and drinking. This is an easy way to keep all your bills separate.

When you guys were staying at the resort we were completely full, due to Full Moon Party landing in the middle of your stay, half of the resort was filled with people from Contiki Tours, and half of the resort were independent travellers. It can be hard (even for us) to tell who is on the tour and who isn’t and as it’s a big party time during Full Moon here at Shiralea, it can be loud and people tend to party pretty hard. Shiralea isn’t always a party place, but over Full Moon the whole of Koh Phangan gets pretty wild. We do have a music curfew on our beach, we turn it down at midnight and usually its cut off by 2am.

At Shiralea we do a warm-up party before Full Moon, neon painting and good music and taxis to Haad Rin are 250 baht (US$8) and take 45 mins.

You mentioned that we didn’t seem happy to clean the rooms, which is a little confusing to us. At Shiralea we do not do daily room cleaning, we clean rooms upon request. We encourage people to get their rooms serviced whenever they would like. We have a system where you just drop your room key in a box when you would like it serviced and you don’t actually have to ask anyone to clean your room. It’s an awesome way to run request servicing as some people get uncomfortable asking to have their room cleaned etc, it doesn’t require asking anybody you just place your key in a box in the morning and it will be cleaned that day. Great solution, as it is always nice to have a beautifully cleaned room but also nice not to get woken up by cleaners after a hard night out. We always want people to have a happy and comfortable stay.

We would have loved it if you had told us you thought money had gone missing from your room, we would have taken this very seriously as it is not something that happens here at Shiralea, it seems you were unsure, I agree with you on the good tip to all travellers to put security as a priority. We have security boxes and provide padlocks in all rooms.

We hope to see you guys back again, thanks for your review, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Bad location, on the opposite side of the island that you want to be on to party/socialise/even browse shops!! The power is temperamental and cut off twice in 3 days so no electricity or even a toilet flush! Staff didn't want to help and just said it happens all the time. Staff weren't very accommodating, unfriendly and unapologetic. I travelled in a big group of friends and we were all very disappointed. The full moon beach is a 45 minute taxi ride away, and the only bar around is the poolside bar. We spent most of our trip stuck at the resort as taxis were expensive. Definitely wouldn't recommend Shiralea.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie P, Owner at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi there!

Thank you for your review. We are really glad you have mentioned these things. Shiralea is located in Haad Yao, 15 minutes from Thong Sala pier and 45 minutes away from Haad Rin which is where the Full Moon Party is located. We love our little piece of paradise and find a lot of guests really appreciate it that we are not right in the middle of the very touristy areas, yet they are still able to attend the huge parties and we throw great warm-up paint partys prior to the Half Moon Festival and Full Moon Party.

Koh Phangan is a very diverse island, you can come here and do yoga retreats, you can party along beach clubs all night on Haad Rin, you can learn to Scuba Dive and so much more. If you are wanting to go to beach clubs every night on Haad Rin, which can be a lot of fun, then it would be a great idea to book into accommodation in Haad Rin or close by so that you can save money on taxis. Just as a side note, we always find the taxis a huge amount cheaper on the island than any western countries, from Shiralea to the Full Moon Party (45 mins) it only costs £5, what a bargain!

Haad Yao where we are located is a beautiful beach with tonnes of restaurants and bars all along, also we are on the sunset side of the island so we recommend a “sunset beer” on the beach as a must-do when you stay with us! There are a few great parties located 5 minutes from Shiralea, next door is a fun place called Rasta home with live music and Pirates Moon Set Party is also very close by.

We are sorry that you experienced power cuts during your stay, Koh Phangans power is supplied from the mainland via Koh Samui and when their power goes out, so does our island. We can assure you that we understand how annoying it can be during a power cut as we experience them often living on Koh Phangan, it is something out of our control and we hope you didn’t experience too many more power cuts throughout the rest of your Asia travels.

Thank you for your stay with us ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
300 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#24 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
477 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 383 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £8 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing