We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights as part of a Contiki Tour and as soon as we entered the place I felt welcomed. The staff are very friendly and the surroundings are amazing. The pool was salt water, this usually would annoy me, but it was well filtered and relaxing. We where here during a full moon party, so they allowed all residents to get painted and warmed up for it in the bar. The only downfall was that it is a 30-40 minute drive from Haad Rin beach (Full Moon party beach) so getting a taxi back to the apartments was a bit of hassle. I would reccomend this place for all backpackers aged 18-30 and I will be defiantly be returning.

P.S. Ring the bell

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thankyou for your review! Hope to see you again in the future.

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    101
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
24
128
102
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I picked Haad Yao based on a previous trip of it being relaxing and a quieter part of the island. The staff were very welcoming and friendly at all times. The location is great, very close to the beach and the main roads for getting around the island. There is a 7-11 and a travel shop nearby.

The facilities are excellent. Our room was super clean, it has a safe and the beds were very comfortable. One of the best bungalows I've stayed in on this island. Free pool table, swimming pool, 24 hour TV lounge. This place has everything.

The downsides of this place is the young crowd and the noise levels. We arrived on the same day as a tour group who's objective was to get drunk a lot and party in the bar into the early hours in the morning every night for 3 nights in a row. Shouting and screaming running around the pool. Staff were actively encouraging drinking games and were just as loud and drunk and the tour group. Even with earplugs and being away from the bar didn't help. This place would be suited to young people looking for a good time. I asked on the 3rd day if there was another tour group checking in, the manager said they have two days and are then booked solidly for 2 months.

Upon checkout a couple of items had been incorrectly added to our bill. The 1st was a couple of rum drinks, which we were told were included in the price of the BBQ. The 2nd was a glass of orange juice from a jug on the bar next to a jug of water. In the mornings everyone was helping themselves to water and orange juice from the jugs so I naturally assumed it was free. There was no sign, and staff member went out of their way to add it to the bill, without mentioning it. When I asked the staff they said only the tour group get free juice. Small things that add up and just leave a bad taste in your mouth.

The staff very quickly removed these items, giving me the feeling that this happens all the time and they hope that people don't check their bills / or cannot remember what they ordered in the first place.

The staff will do anything to please the tour group who are bringing in all of $ is the impression I got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielH12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed the service from our friendly and professional staff, we strive to offer this at all time. The resort is built around the idea of offering everything that you need to relax and enjoy your holiday.
Throughout the year we cater to many types of tour groups of young people that come to Shiralea to have a good time. The bar area can be loud at times, with drinking, dancing and talking but we try to keep noise to a respectable level.
Your business is just as valuable to us as the tour groups and i'm sure that if you had discussed the noise issue with management we would have tried to find a compromise so that you could have better enjoyed you time with us at the resort .
Some times people make mistakes, and if something was placed on your bill that you did not have i would have expected that it be taken off straight away.
The timely manner in which the charges were removed is not because we try to get away with charging you for items you haven't had, but we want you to feel happy with the service and your time spent at Shiralea. We have now implemented a card system at the resort which illuminates the space for human error.
Thank you for staying with us at Shiralea and we hope to see you back on the island soon.

Regards
Shiralea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went to the island in between parties and even though everywhere else was pretty dead Shiralea still had a bit of a buzz going on. It's clean, modern and stylish with good facilities. The staff are a lovely bunch of guys and the food is good value and tasty. Nice pool and great value simple rooms - 500 for a good sized fan double. Not tons around this part of the island, but that's more of a blessing when you compare it to the tourist hot spots down south. Can imagine that maybe not ideal if you are there with a young family, and a party crowd is coming through, but we had an excellent time. Cheers Shiralea.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
G P,

Thank you for your review! glad you enjoyed your stay.

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I'm going to start with the only downside of this awesome place which is the location, if you're going to the full or half moon party then you're gonna need to get a taxi there or do what we did and rent mopeds, it's miles away and takes about half an hour by moped to get to say the full moon party. But that's one downside to so many ups.

The staff are fantastic, so laid back, such good banter and intent on making your stay as awesome as possible. If you're looking for a quiet place away from the parties and nightlife then this isn't the place for you but if you're a backpacker looking for a good time and good people to meet then this is the place for you.

The pool is amazing, they have BBQ's and a bar there both of which are awesome. The food they do is fantastic, there was one chicken dish which I must have had about 15 times during my stay there. Huge menu as well to choose from.

The bar is the best of all so many different types of drinks for really good prices, so many parties almost every night with beer pong tournaments etc. To be honest I had a better time there than at the moon party.

We stayed in a twin fan room, its pretty cool like a little hut with a decent shower and bathroom and a porch with a hammock. The room and beds were clean and comfy and the room didn't get too hot either. Basic but nice.

Its really cheap as well, we paid 6 quid a night (about $10) so your average Thai hostel price and I thought it was great for that.

All in all if you like parties and drinking and good food then go stay here its awesome.

Room Tip: Try get an air con one, and if you want a good sleep then try get one far far far away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Cal,

Glad you enjoyed your stay here at Shiralea. Hope to catch you next time you're on the island!

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The place is quite good. They have a swimming pool, nice green territory, not far from the sea. Cottages are quite simple, nothing special but they have AC and a hammock on the small pre-entrance area. Other "+" is the European staff. They are helpful and easygoing people.
The huge disadvantage is a loud music in the bar. We asked the most distant cottage from the bar when we made a booking but first 2 nights we had to live just near the bar. And it was very distracting. Strong music from the party did not stop up to 2-3 a.m. an we couldn't sleep during party time. So my advise - if you are nor a party-person then try to get the most distant cottage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Jane,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies if the bar was loud, in addressing this issue we have upgraded our speaker system to contain noise within the bar area only. We appreciate your feedback, it helps us to improve our resort. We hope to see you again in the future.

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Headed to this spot with my contiki group! This place was so laid back , i felt relaxed and looked after. The bungalows were awesome just simple and nothing over the top , for me just the way i like it!!!Pumping beats and awesome staff . I will definately be back Shiralea !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Roseva,

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Can't wait to party up again in the future.

Until next time, Sabai Sabai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Superficially, I’m happy to agree with the glowing Tripadvisor reviews that led us here. The bungalow is clean, fairly spacious and thoughtfully designed - the bathroom especially is very nice. The pillows are a little large and hard, and one of our windows was missing one of it’s curtains, but these are small points - overall, very nice. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and, while we didn’t try the swimming pool, it certainly looks very good.

Buyer beware, however: although Haad Yao is know to be one of the quieter, more peaceful beaches on Koh Phangan, this resort is definitely the exception to that rule. The place wasn’t especially busy when we stayed, however the party still went on until the early hours. The pounding bass and cheering revellers couldn’t be drowned out, even with windows closed, earplugs in and pillow over head. I won’t negatively effect the rating because of this: a little research on our part would have provided ample warning, and while it was simply not what we were looking for (which is quite why we stayed on the opposite side of the island to Haad Rin in the first place) we realize that not everyone - especially on Koh Phangan - shares our tastes.

What I will mark them down for were some of the staff. It is a little disappointing to not see any Thais working in the front of house (I understand the kitchen staff are Thai, and that’s why we have to order our food by writing it down, since they can “read English but not speak a word of it.” Really?), particularly when the Aussie kids working out front are clearly not employed for their customer service skills. It felt like I was nineteen again and walking into a hostel on the Sunshine Coast - right down to the condescending attitude from the staff. “Have you ever ridden a motorbike before?” was the first question when I asked about scooter rental places nearby. Yes, actually, I was riding bikes on this island ten years ago, when you were still in primary school, but more to the point, what’s it got to do with you? Is it *your* bike I’m hiring?

If you’re looking to party, surely you’d be better served in Haad Rin and avoid the stupendous taxi costs back and forth. If you’re looking for peace and quiet, but on a budget, I’d stick to one of the Thai owned, family run resorts up on the hillside. I realize our tastes aren’t the same as everyones, but despite the lovely grounds and facilities, this really seems like the worst of all worlds to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenextman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan R, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We at Shiralea have a very active bar, and it is the center piece of the restaurant area. Depending on what time of the month it can generate a bit of noise from people drinking, talking and having fun, it is something that can't be avoided but we try to keep the noise to a respectable minimum.

We have had staff from all over the world working at Shiralea, and most guest seam to enjoy having some westerners serving them. We do have both Thais and Burmese working at the resort, which you may not have seen. The kitchen staff can read the English words on the order forms but might not all have full conversational English skills.
In regards to the motorbike comment.
This was not meant as an insult but rather as a precaution to know what your riding abilities were before recommending a place to rent a bike from. We see people every day having motor bike accident because they don't have enough riding experience, Koh Phangan is not the place to learn how to ride motorbike and this could be easily avoided by getting some good advice about road and traffic conditions on the island. We are just preforming due diligence to try and ensure the safety and enjoyment of our valued guest.
The resort is quite a way from Haad Rin but we feel that there are many other activities that are close at hand for you to enjoy the time while staying on the island.
Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back on the island in the future.

Regards
Shiralea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#4 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#13 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralea Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Property: Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Address: 58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 355 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing