We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our relaxing week with friends”
Review of Rung Arun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rung Arun Resort
Ranked #23 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We met some friends, who are regulars at the Rung Arun, for the final week of our holiday. We received a warm welcome from the owners and dogs alike and were shown to our room which was just a couple of steps from the sand; literally beach front. We wanted a relaxing week to end our holiday and this place was the perfect choice for this. The food is good, reasonably priced authentic cooking, and there are a selection of drinks available including all sorts of fresh fruit juices made to order. I can recommend the massage lady too, great Thai massage sorted my back out for the equivalent of about £5 for an hour, all right on huge beach. There is a small pool which we used a couple of times, this was always clean. The hotel will organise trips and car/bike hire if required- but we just wanted a "do nothing week" with friends and we got just that. The owners have a laid back and friendly attitude, and this is reflected at their resort. If you are looking for 5 star rooms and service, would take exception to sharing the beach with one or more of the hotel dogs, or dont want a cat saying "good morning" while you eat breakfast, then this is not the place for you. If you want a room on the beach with great views, good food, friendly staff and a real taste of Thai hospitality then don't hesitate to book the Rung Arun. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheldonB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loved Rung Arun! I was traveling solo and actually skipped out on a lower grade hotel down the way to stay at Rung Arun. I didn't book before hand and when I arrived, the only room they had left was their best and most expensive room. It was my birthday, so I said why not?! It was right on the beach! I would recommend this room for couples, as I got a little lonely without my boyfriend there with me. But, regardless, it was amazing! The sand was clean, the pol was sparkling. They rented bikes. they gave me flowers for my birthday. The coconut shakes were delicious! The food was just OK, but no food on Koh Phangan was really that mind blowing. They called me a taxi to get to Had Rin when it was time to move on to my next destination. The ONLY problem was at night music would play from various resorts up the beach. Not the fault of Rung Arun, but something to consider if you're a light sleeper. Oh, and there's cats galore! One even slept with me one night!

Room Tip: Room R14A is the one right on the beach with an unobstructed view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelcat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Really nice setup right on the beach. Very big and clean bungalows on the beach or around the pool. We had the family bungalow right on the beach. Little bit far from the main road ( 10 min walk ) small supermarket on the main road. Big C ( big supermarket ) 20 min walk or take a taxi. Food was excellent and cheap and prepared by the owners. Our baby got all kind of toys to use during our stay. Owner brought us to the pier and booked our boat tickets.
Really great place. Quiet place ! So if you are looking for the party places check some other locations around haad rin. ( from this location 20 min by taxi )

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jodivaneijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you are looking for somewhere that is away from the mad moon parties then u could do a lot worse than Rung Arun resort. It's location is beautiful. Away from the parties but close enough to get everywhere with a taxi or with scooters which can be arranged at the hotel if needed, the resort has a lovely pool area for those not wanting to take a dip in the sea and is situated on a really pretty stretch of beach. What really makes this place is the staff. The owners and their team can not do enough for you and really take an interest in you being there but give you enough privacy to let you do your own thing. Admittedly, the rooms could do with some updating but the location is really what sells this place and once you arrive, you will know what I mean when I say that the staff were great! The owner has adopted a number of dogs and cats that roam freely around the property and if like me, a dog lover, this only adds to the charm of the place. A delightful place that I would recommend and I can be a fussy traveller!

Room Tip: Has to be a sea view if possible but these are a little more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

When we arrived on Koh Phangan, we were unhappy with our accommodation, so we hired a motorbike and searched the whole island. From the northernmost beaches down to Ban Tai. There is a plethora of resorts on Koh Phangan, but not many are worth visiting in our opinion. It was therefore only on our second day of searching that we found what we were looking for. A nice, wide, clean beach, a well-kept garden, very nice bungalows, and quiet surroundings. All that at a decent price. The owners are extremely nice and forthcoming. They even picked us up from the other resort and brought us to Rung Arun. The restaurant is a quiet affair, but it offers very good food and forthcoming service.

Koh Phangan is a party island - and indeed you can get to all the big events from Rung Arun in no time. But the good thing is: you don't HAVE to. Apart from the celebrations around New Year's, which could be heard on the whole island, we slept very soundly and enjoyed what felt like a very quiet island sojourn.

The owners are nice to humans, and also to animals. Rung Arun is a veritable cat sanctuary. Some 20 cats roam the big garden. They won't disturb you, but if you love cats, you will very likely feel very happy here.

Room Tip: Aim for a beach bungalow, if you can - but the pool ones are very nice, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch_viator_mundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Rung Arun is in a nice spot, relatively close to the pier (by taxi) - not the best beach by any stretch of the imagination, but the team is out cleaning the sand up every morning. The pool is a very pleasant extra, especially considering the price.
This place is Quiet. OMG, So quiet, realised just how bad my tinitus is staying here!
The best assets of Rung Arun are the owners - they're wonderful, and definitely go the extra mile, nothing is too much trouble for them. (point to note from the other reviews, we were asked to get ourselves to Rung Arun, but were dropped off at the pier for free)
If you don’t like cats and dogs, you may wish to go reconsider. They are everywhere,there are a lot of them, and unfortunately they get fed on the dining tables. (which are not wiped down afterwards) It's not all that nice standing in poop either.
The rooms could definitely do with some love, take a wad of paper to stop the door rattling during the night, but again, for the price you're paying, there is nothing really to complain about.
Interestingly, the food quality changed dramatically, depending on who was cooking, to be honest, wouldn't bother with the breakfast, especially with some great breakfasts nearby at places like 100 island cafe.
Overall, this was a very pleasant surprise, would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2morebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Collected from the ferry and taken to a lovely resort, we were the only ones there for the first couple of days, our room was upgraded, the food was tasty and not a bad price, the people were a joy and the animals - 22 cats and half a dozen dogs were a delight, and no mess! 'Guarded' on the beach by a dog or two, cats came if you wanted them to, I could have stayed a lot longer than the 5 days we had available

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hansa Beach Resort
Hansa Beach Resort
#16 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
52 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
288 reviews
4 mi away
Moonstone Studio & Villa
Moonstone Studio & Villa
#4 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sun Moon Star Resort Koh Phangan
2.4 mi away
Blue Lotus Resort
Blue Lotus Resort
#8 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#20 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rung Arun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rung Arun Resort

Address: Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £19 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rung Arun Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rung Arun Resort offers a family run business on the beautiful west coast of Koh Phangan with beautiful views across to Koh Samui. There are 16 rooms in total - set in one acre of grounds which include a swimming poo and a restaurant. A wide range of prices are available - from 900 Baht up to 3,500 Baht per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rung Arun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing