We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great beach”
Review of Dolphin Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

5 of us stayed at Dolphins in May, at first we wanted to stay in Ko Ma but it was fully booked at the time. So we changed beach and thought Thong Nai Pan might be a good compromise - which it was! it's a long beach that has a great choice of places to eat and drink, and yet is still pretty quiet. Great location if you want to be away from the full moon party, but still be able to go out for a drink (+ they will organise taxis to the Full Moon party). The bungalows are very nice, we got the cheapest one for 2 of us, and a family room for the other 3, both were great. Each have a hammock outside the door and outdoor furniture. It's a short walk down beautiful gardens to the beach (the very pretty and cosy restaurant is the part of the resort that's directly on the beach, the rooms are right behind). Staff were very friendly, and Kim was very helpful and reactive with emails before we arrived. We had come to stay for 2 nights initially, but stayed 4 (and in the end we took a day trip to Ko Ma and realised that although it is amazingly beautiful, we would have probably been a bit bored there).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Dolphin Bungalows on the last days of our Thailand trip. Perfect way to end a vacation. The Dolphin has different categories of bungalows in a beautiful jungle-like garden with lots of exotic plants. We decided for a luxurious A/C bungalow which is maybe a little overpriced. The spacy bungalow was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed, a feather comforter and we enjoyed the front terrace with a bamboo hammock.

One of the biggest plus of the place is the beautiful bar/restaurant, facing the beach with big chill out gazebos and sitting areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendysponycamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Travelling with 3 other friends we spent a week at Dolphin Bungalows with a few days either side of the Full Moon Party. Beautiful bay to unwind and relax. So happy with accomodation and service. Ate a lot of our meals here (Some of the best food of our travels so far) and Dolphin makes it very easy by allowing you to put it on the account (including a tour and transport to full moon party) and pay at the end of our stay. Excellent value for money. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This place does everything right: though few (if any) of the bungalows have a direct ocean view, the sound of water can be heard everywhere thanks to the koi-filled fountains around every bend of this very green, very friendly property. Prices are reasonable (we paid 800baht for a bungalow with hot-water; 600baht with cold). Restaurant serves mainly western food, but there is a fantastic Thai resto next door (also with reasonable prices).

Room Tip: Book for the duration of your stay- we didnt and were shut out due to high demand.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Thank you so much Giet and Kim for your wonderful hospitality , you have made my stay in Thailand so much easier, it is difficult when I cannot speak Thai, and you looked after all my arrangements for me and made my stay on Koh Phangan remeberable.
I look forward to staying in your tranquil gardens that the bangalows are nestled amongst again and eat your great food.
Mem

Room Tip: Quiet Oasis, email Kim she is English speaking, kimgiet@hotmail.com
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mem123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We found the secluded beach to be a beautiful spot to spend a few days. The resort has a really nice lounge on the beach with many comfey spots to relax and nap. Very well designed. Unfortunately we had a terrible bungalow experience where we woke up one night with bed bugs/fleas all over us and the bed! Blood filled bugs. Our neighbors complained of a snake in their room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jsilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

After reading the reviews here my expectations were maybe a little too high. Somehow I pictured a beautiful remote beach with only one cosy resort ... Well, the beach is ok (there was a lot of rubbish when we were there). The resort is nice (next to at least a dozen other resorts), but very dark (hardly any daylight comes through) and lots of mozzies. Staff was very helpful and the decor is beautiful, so I would recommend it during the dry season. Can't really recommend the whole location (incl. the resort) in the wet season. There is nicer beaches/places on the island.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank travelbee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Limelight Village
Limelight Village
#36 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#88 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen's Bungalow
Pen's Bungalow
#113 of 379 in Ko Pha Ngan
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bungalows

Address: 61 Moo 5, T. Bantai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 379 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £8 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To all our friends the new Dolphin Bar % Cafe is soon to be launched at its new location in Thong Nai Pan Yai.Find us in the heart of the village close to Thai Terrace Bungalows..Another creative space for travellers and friends to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dolphin Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing