We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bungalows ”
Review of Dolphin Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful bungalows ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic accommodation on a beautiful beach. I Rocked up, got hooked up with a 600 THB fan bungalow (later negotated a weekly rate). Had my own hammock, cold shower, huge deck, the most comfortable double bed (w/ mosquito net), & a very powerful fan which I barely needed since the windows provided a sufficient breeze. Don't forget the beautiful plants all over the property and the bowls to wash your feet outside your bungalow (helps keep the same at bay).

Cons: week wifi only in food/beach area, food is in small portions.

Food: Much better to go 2 doors down to longtail for breakfast (huge portions) and eat lunches / dinners at THE LIVING ROOM, an amazing Italian restaurant nearby (I ate there every day & stress that this is a must).

Crowd: mostly couples, young families, small groups of friends. I was solo & got a lot of reading done, there are limited distractions here and it was a great change of pace.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank MRotenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    37
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
22
91
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I've been coming to Thong Nai Pan beaches since 2002 and Dolphin was always one of the places I would stay as I like that end of the beach and the bungalows were always well kept for the price. The prices had gone up slightly since my last visit but we got a bungalow in the back for 550B. We were out of reach of wifi but had a nice hammock and the bungalow was in well enough shape. The fan we had in the room was very squeaky though which was a downside. As other have said Dolphin has new ownership and the feel is not near as friendly as it used to be. I had a lot of basic questions when first arriving about meals, scooters, room rate long term etc and I was not met with the friendliest of staff. The meals in the restaurant were average at best but fair priced for Thong Nai Pan. After two nights though we packed it in and headed to Candle Hut for a better stay.

Room Tip: If you have the few extra B get a room closer to the beach so the wifi signal is stronger and the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirty_Bindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just wanted to point out to travelers that the original managers of Dolphin (as reviewed in Rough Guide and a multitude of other travel guides) are no longer running it. The new managers have retained the name (and the reputation attached with it)--which is not really fair to travelers who arrive expecting the same sort of place they read about in guides. Under the new management, the food, the ambiance and the service are pretty below-average and don't at all match the glowing descriptions you'll find in the guides. It's a real shame, because you can still see the shadows of what was formerly an enchanting beachside spot in Koh Phangan. The original managers, Kim and Giat, are a lovely couple who have opened a restaurant and bar in the adjoining village. Go there for the original Dolphin food--delicious breakfasts, real coffee, fresh fruit juices and smoothies, tasty Thai food and gorgeous ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ketakigokhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last year on my travels and got the exact same bungalow for 600b - excellent value incl wifi, hot water, mosquito net and an amazing location on one of the best beaches. Dolphin is now under a new owner who is not the most friendly but neither was the guy I dealt with last year, however the kitchen staff last year were amazing and good food, however I never ate here this time around. If you want to get away from the parties this is one of the best places to escape..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kissey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

really loved it here. stayed in the cheapest bungalow (600B), it had everything we needed and was really good value for money. the restaurant had really good food, a little pricey but most the restaurants are on this beach. get the lemongrass chicken baguette (yummm!). The guys working were chillers and were really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Wonderful atmosphere with palm trees down to the beach, cute little bar and lovely Thai people. You can dine in their little thatched hut on the beach or with toes in the sand at beachfront tables. Food first time was great, chicken satays this time seemed tough and a bit old.

Helpful?
1 Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Dolphin Bungalows are a nice basic stay, the rooms were absolutely fine very comfortable bed, bright and airy room, bathroom very good although a little disappointed that for 800 baht per night we didn't get hot water. I have to say, the manager and staff aren't very friendly and I did not feel that welcome around them at all, but apart from that it is an average stay in an average bungalow resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#52 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Limelight Village
Limelight Village
#40 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#95 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Four Resort
The Four Resort
#104 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bungalows

Property: Dolphin Bungalows
Address: 61 Moo 5, T. Bantai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To all our friends the new Dolphin Bar % Cafe is soon to be launched at its new location in Thong Nai Pan Yai.Find us in the heart of the village close to Thai Terrace Bungalows..Another creative space for travellers and friends to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing