We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutey Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutey Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

One of the best resorts i have ever stayed at. Fab!!!!!!! The staff were Brilliant. The main man/manager on reception was very helpful & friendly.(Nice to see a friendly face after a 12hr flight) Adam he was called!!!. Lovely man & Paul. (Legends). Best place to stay if your travelling around as they have a jacuzzi too.Wish i was back there. Hopefully we will be back soon. Much love. xxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite is the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liverpool m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    118
    44
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
236
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed at the sunset hil for 3 nights beginning of december, hotel is in a great location, the rooms were top quality, adam the manager helped us out with everything we wanted, best of all about this place is the views, would definately stay again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jpgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

'm a travel photographer for a well known guide book and was looking for somewhere nice to stay whilst I caught up on some work. After scanning tripadvisor I found this little gem which, by the photos, looked really nice. However the photos could never do this place justice!

I stayed at the resort for just over 3 months so got to know the resort and the island really well. I really couldn't have asked for any more! It's surrounded by some of the best beaches and viewpoints on the island and there's a handy amount of restaurants and shops nearby; a couple at the bottom of the hill and others a 2 minute biking distance it's a perfect spot to relax in perfect for all types of traveller ... during my stay I saw lots of people come through the door (families, couples or groups) and all leave with the same viewpoint - completely blown away!

The resorts up on the west coast hills of Phangan in the most beautiful setting so the view is this places selling point. If you're on foot the road - although not very long is a bit of a steep climb a small price to pay really! As I got to know the island well I soon found out that I was lucky enough to have picked a place with easily the best view on the island - absolutely breathtaking! I really do recommend getting a room with an ocean view! It's worth having just so you can wake up every morning with the doors wide open looking out to Ang Thong National Marine Park.
But if you can only fit the superior rooms (without a view but kitted out just as well) or if all the ocean view rooms are taken you can always catch the sunset view from the Lounge or from the pool.

As I was long term stay I chose to look around all the rooms to decide which one I'd prefer. All the rooms follow the same theme but have their own unique touches. Clean, spacious and modern - and for the price you pay.. well I first thought there was a catch.. there wasn't.

Service is second to none and although a fairly new resort on the island Adam (the manager) and the rest of the team are right on point. Immensely helpful and knowledgable about the area but at the same time very down to earth.

I've seen reviews on tripadvisor before which haven't matched to what I saw with my own eyes but in this case.. it's spot on.

And if you're on the island for full moon/half moon parties (half moons are equally as good as the full moon I should add!) then book your room early as this place will get fully booked. To get to the party action down in Haad Rin it's about a 20-30min taxi ride which you can book at the resort or for less people, head 1 min down the hill and wait for a passing taxi that normally is taking people down.. so therefore cheaper. It's Thailand so taxis are never exactly expensive anyway!

All in all, this has to be one of the best.. if not the best place I've stayed at - and I've stayed in quite a few places.


Oh, the infinity pool! ...just wait and see!


I kind of feel I've over sold this place now! But trust me, go and see for yourself!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend getting an ocean view room. I personally think D4 is the nicest double room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EdNortonPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Thanks to Andre, Angela and the staff for making our stay here so comforable. Knothing was to much trouble. We were upgraded to a large room with a sea and pool view. Wow it was amazing. The photos do not do the view justice. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Sunset hill was the most amazing experience of Thailand. Thanks to Andre and Ang, the service was 100%, the view and rooms were immaculate. Not a bad word to say.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Astra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This Hotel was one of the best hotels we have been to. A great view, a short distance to a really nice beach and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Room Tip: I think every room is very very good. If you can afford it, book one with oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alessis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Not all of my review will rhyme.... I promise, and whats more, if im honest, Sun Set Hill has more than just promise, it has perfect views, a cocktail list to abuse, and sunsets to rival any offered on a cruise.

Enough messing around.

I visited Koh Phangan as my friend is staying on the island for 3 months, so I decided to fly out and visit him and experience Thailand and all it has to offer. As a testament to the place, for the duration of my friends 3 month working holiday, he has choosen to stay at Sunset Hill Resort. Think that says its all!!!!

On arrival, I was over the (full) moon when I was presented with this delight of a resort, knowing that I would spend 10 days in fantastic accommodation, on an amazing island.

In a nutshell......Room - top draw, Service and hospitality - 10/10, Location and setting - unbeatable.

I will be returning.

The Full Moon party is a must - massive Tear Up!

I highly reccommend this resort, and I thank Ad and the team for going out of their way to make my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank munchingbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
9.4 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing