We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished I could have stayed even longer”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wished I could have stayed even longer”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Having invested quite a long time researching for a beautiful and relaxing resort I finally decided for the Sunset Hill Resort. I booked however only for 3 days, as quite often pictures can be misleading and I thought I could maybe find a cheap and nice resort once I am on the island. After staying 3 nights at Sunset Hill I was so happy that I stayed another week. While being on the island I also checked out some other resorts, which confirmed me that I made the best choice with Sunset Hill. The rooms are one of the most modern ones I have seen during my travels through South-East Asia. The view is amazing and makes you relax immediately. The staff made me feel welcome from the first minute I arrived. They were extremely helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed my stay and can honestly say that I doubt anybody would regret their stay at the Sunset Hill.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    119
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
238
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This place is just great. We arrived just after the Full Moon Party. People were leaving the hotel and we have been upgraded and got the room with the best view on the ocean and the infinity pool.
Rooms are spacious with a nice terrace and very clean. Nothing negative to say about it.
The reception and house keeping staff were always friendly and professional. Thank you Adam! Also the place is quiet far from the party on the other side of the island. Perfect for couples!
Wish I was back there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

One of the best resort I have ever stayed! The room was amazing and the view..breathtaking !!! Great location, near of the most beautiful beach on the island. The staff was very helpful and the service was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Executive Studios have amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The problem with booking in advance for a place like KPG is that the reality usually doesn't match the photos. Unless you know in advance where to stay, then you take your chance. But with Sunset Hill there is no such problem. There is no better place to arrive after a long journey to KPG than Sunset Hill. It has the wow factor, and you will have no better memory than your first glimpse of the stunning views from this hilltop location, especially at sunset.
I have stayed here for 2 separate one month stays in 2010/11 and been a long term resident. The management are european and the quality and service are top notch. It is not close to the beach, but the idyllic pool, balconies and bar restaurant more than make up for this, and excursions to local beaches and sights are easily arranged. Longer term travellers like me appreciate things like good internet, flat screen TV, fridge and kitchenette, top notch aircon and quiet ceiling fans. Hardly any insect problems at all. Only one thing to bear in mind is that it is at the top of a steep hill if you are intending to be on foot. But most people hire a scooter or jeep and taxis are easily arranged. Plenty to see and do and eat and drink in the surrounding area - including world class yoga schools. It occasionally gets busy on the full moon party weekend, but the party is on the other side of the island and Sunset Hill only attracts the discerning more mature party goers, not the rowdy teenage crowd. You will love this place.

Room Tip: If the best possible view is important to you, discuss this with the management - some are better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at Sunset Hill for five nights during our trip to Koh Phangang in December 2011 and were overall very satisfied with this place. The only real reason not to stay here would be the distance to Thong Sala (20 min) and Haad Rin (40 min), so if you're on Koh Phangan for the Party, this is not the most suitable place for you. For others who just want to relax for a few days and are not afraid of riding a scooter (150-200 Baht/day), there's hardly a better choice.

The resort consists of three main buildings, one of which also contains the lobby with restaurant and a chill out area featuring a large panorama window that is usually open and through which you have a great view of the sunset. A fourth building is currently being built but there was no construction work going on during our stay.
Around the buildings there is a nice garden with fruit that the cook uses for fresh meals and cocktails. An infinity pool is the topping of this nice package.

We were lucky to be upgraded to an executive rooms which was almost overly spacious with flat screen TV, home theatre system, extra couch and balcony. The room was very clean and even reasonably insulated so we did not need to run air condition all the time.

Staff was very friendly and always ready to help with any questions we had. We recommend Sunset Hill to anybody coming to Kho Phangan for a few relaxing days rather than the Full Moon Party and looking for a decent, medium-budget place outside the main tourist spots.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandmannX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

One of the best resorts i have ever stayed at. Fab!!!!!!! The staff were Brilliant. The main man/manager on reception was very helpful & friendly.(Nice to see a friendly face after a 12hr flight) Adam he was called!!!. Lovely man & Paul. (Legends). Best place to stay if your travelling around as they have a jacuzzi too.Wish i was back there. Hopefully we will be back soon. Much love. xxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite is the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liverpool m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed at the sunset hil for 3 nights beginning of december, hotel is in a great location, the rooms were top quality, adam the manager helped us out with everything we wanted, best of all about this place is the views, would definately stay again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jpgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
9.4 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing