We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made our days”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I and my bf were here for 10days ! actually at 1st we only booked for 3 days but its really amazing place never want to leave! the view from our windows is such a great view made us wake up with a good moods in every single morning : ) so much thanks to this hotel, be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awesomeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was travelling through Thailand last summer with my Infant girl while working on various internet related projects, so I cared about several things in the hotel. - this place definitely lived up to its expectations

1. Quality of the accommodations: nop notch, all the way. Comfortable beds, lovely views, everything is of very high quality. Reliable internet, access to laundry, plenty of space in the room and even a basic kitchen.

2. Service: I appreciated the hotel helping arrange babysitting and transportation so i was able to attend the full moon party and even a yoga class!.They also recommended and helped deliver the food from the local vendors (their own kitchen was limited still at the time we were there, but looked like it was ramping up. Also, owner's son is helping run the hotel and was very attentive - he even gave us his personal card in case something was needed (a nice touch!) and even delivered the food we ordered for us :-)...Drinks were great and plenty. Staff were very friendly to both me and my daughter.

3. Value - this was definitely a good deal, especially for our very specific requirements(we were getting our accommodations last minute, needed more than a tiny room and a view was a great bonus...).


Other: Wi-fi was great to stay in touch and to work; I loved their pool (good view) and location is pretty good - while it's not right on the beach, it's certainly walk able and taxies are plenty and cheap (and u can rent a moped). There are several nice restaurants and bars within walking distance (even with a baby on my back :-)).

Overall the place seems to be geared to longer stays, and feels like a time share place or even a high end apartment building than a hotel. They have apartments for sale too and I've seriously considered buying one - they are really beautiful and probably very rentable.

Their restaurant/bar has one of the best views I've ever seen in my life, with open walls and ocean below you.. I was a bit worried about my infant jumping off, but otherwise it's absolutely stunning

Room Tip: we saw a room on the 1st floor but it was smaller and didn't have as nice of a view... If u can...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeraandVeronika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Myself and 3 others stayed here two couples. the hotel was lovely and the rooms were really nice. The view was unbelievible but the location of the hotel was terrible. There was nothing around not even a shop and you would need a taxi/moped to get around.
The food in the hotel was average and one day the four of us ordered food and only three meals came out and when we queried this we were told that they only had three plates??
The staff were not that pleasant either and were not as friendly as the other hotel we stayed in. The hotel was spotless tho and the pool area etc was lovely.
I wouldnt be in hurry to stay here again mainly because of the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeFDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The most pleasent and beautifull part of thailand, the team helped with any need we had and the chef is amazing. Made my trip

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Hill resort for the NY's FMP. We took one of the Studios @ 37500 THB for 5 nights.

Pros:
Room: Good comfortable bed. Flat Screen TVs with the DVD player. Mini Kitchen. Spacious balcony with an amazing view.
Good Infinity Pool. (Snall though!)
Friendly Management.
Lounge in the reception offers unbelievable view.

Cons:
Price (Too expensive for the facilities)
Not Beach-side.
Lack of Amenities (Since not a full fledged resort, you have many amenities missing. Like phone in the room not working, so we had to go down if we have to order something or for any queries)
Restaurant (Food or the lack of!)
Wi-Fi was name-sake.
Toilet Flush - This was a major let down.

Summary:

Sunset Hill Resort was good but not as great as projected in some of the reviews. Koh Phangan has too many choices. We found many other beach-side properties with even/better facilities to be much lesser priced than Sunset Hill.

Note:
Down the road - Sea Garden was where we had all our meals. Awesome food at affordable rates. Dont miss it!!

Room Tip: Closer to the Lounge is where you will get a Wi-Fi Signal. Any room in the same block of the Recepti...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shanjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights at the end of January/early February and were hugely satisfied with our choice. I spent a long time looking for accomodation for my holiday, and am certain we could not have found a place that was as good as this in terms of value for money.

Whilst being off the beach, and up a big hill, the whole point of this resort is enjoying the stunning views from across the resort of the sea and the An Thong Marine Park. The sunsets are the best i have seen in Thailand. It is dissapointing to read a few of the negative reviews, as everything about our stay was positive. The friendly service from Adam and his team was a welcome difference to a lot of the sulking, rude service you get in the a lot of resorts in Thailand. In particular we were extremley grateful at being able to switch to a better seaview room for our last 6 nights. If staying in a couple i would strongly reccomend the studio room in the Rose building, the views from the balcony are incredible.

My tip for anyone staying here is to rent a scooter (200 baht per day) and explore the island, if you are not the scooter type, and would prefer two weeks on a beach, then possibly this resort is not for you, nonetheless the pool (that is never busy) has incredible views and should satisfy people wanting peace & quiet.

If we had stayed on one of the beach resorts we probably would not have hired the scooter, which hugely restricts your ability to explore all the different places in Koh Phangnan. There are plenty of beaches and restaurants a 5 minute scooter ride away, and with Adam's advice we visited a number of different restaurants that otherwise without the scooter we would never have come across. The fisherman's restaurant in Baan Tai was a particular favourite.

Overall, a great trip and gutted to have not been able to stay for longer, would definitely reccomend to friends and family.

Thanks !

Room Tip: Studio Rooms in main building that have complete sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

A couple of months ago, my friends and I choose Sunset Hill Resort as a place to stay during the November Full Moon. We booked a 3 bedroom apartment with rooftop Jacuzzi. The view was just as amazing as the rooms. Good beds, large outside terrace and the view from the Jacuzzi roof terrace is indescribable. Even better was the service. Thanks to Adam (I think the GM), his girlfriend Gig and the Dutch couple A&A who all seem to be working 24 hours a day. The relaxed atmosphere makes you feel at home right away and they will always make time or a chat or to advice you on where to go en how to get there.

Thanks guys for giving us such a good time... we'll spread the word!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
9.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
637 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,492 reviews
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £38 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing