We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent a month and the whole time was perfect”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spent a month and the whole time was perfect”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent a month at Sunset Hill in conjunction with the yoga training offered at Agama, about 2km away. The price for this yoga/hotel package was amazing. Sunset Hill is a SUPER property with every luxury you could want (far and away one of the best hotels on the island), and the package costs only a few more dollars a night than if you rented cold-water, no-internet, no support bungalows. Really, if you are interested in doing the First Level Course at Agama, you CANNOT beat the value of the arrangement they have with Sunset Hill.

Everything about the hotel is great - view, rooms, property & landscape, pool, restaurant, Monkey the dog ... but I cannot say enough about the fantastic people there - especially Mickey. She arranged everything I needed. And in the "way above and beyond" category, she even drove me down to yoga at 8am the first morning before opening reception, since I had arrived on the island only 12 hours before in the dark, with no idea of where anything was.

I have been home for three weeks and I STILL miss everyone's smiling faces and their kind hearts. :-)

If you are thinking of taking a trip to Koh Phangan, DO IT, and stay at Sunset Hill. It will be the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: All rooms are great ... but let yourself splurge for a room with a view. It is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kievexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    128
    47
    26
    15
See reviews for
54
249
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, really lovely hotel. The views were stunning and we loved watching the sunset each night - wish we had gone for a room with a sea view although was nice to enjoy in the lounge with a cocktail!

We ate dinner in the hotel once which was good - a range of Thai food or you can get pizza/pasta which is ordered in from a local Italian.

The pool was gorgeous, the room clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The walk up the hill is a bit hard in the heat but wasn't too bad in the evening after dinner!

Will stay longer next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglescliffe
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A big thanks to Surmat, Nikki, Wii, Hendricks ad the team for a great stay.
It is a climb up to the hotel which see to have about 12 rooms in two buildings but the view is welll worth while.
Pool is small but in a fantastic location. Food was great with a choice of Tha (go for it) or european.
they organised al transport and any trips required and checked all arrangements.
Stay couldn't do enought for you they were very helpful and so friendly we would have like to stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We staid in Sunset Hill for 5 nights in August 2013 without prior booking and we didn't regret a single minute. First, we were amazed by the professionalism of the staff - Thai people are very often supportive, nice and smiling to you but the lady, I cannot remember her name, but she was living in Bangkok before (she will know if reading it:-) moved this to a next level, being extremely supportive, being a first reason why we really felt comfortable and welcome, therefore we moved in on a next day. The resort has amazing location, vith stunning view of the western coast and sunset. Rooms are very comfy, having even small home cinema with dvd player (I wish I had taken some dvds:-) only the beds could have a bit better mattraces. Overall the resort is a very good value for money, and especially for young couple a great choice of romantic getaway. We loved it there, I can only recommend the place!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently spent a week on the island and loved it. The staff at the resort are extraordinary helpful and friendly. They referred us to Rafael at the Dive Inn (a fantastic scuba instructor) and to Mr Aon from whom we rented scooters (bikes) - he taught us how to drive before letting us take off on our own! The infinity pool is one of the best features along with the stunning view from the restaurant. We hope to be back in the future! Breakfast was simple but just what we needed (wanted) and dinners were good too.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra to stay in a seaview room - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginTurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in June as part of our honeymoon. The staff was very welcoming, and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable. The infinity pool was beautiful, as well as the sea views from our room, especially during sunset and sunrise. It was a very romantic setting, and the view was so nice we made it a point to eat dinner/dessert out on our balcony. Our room was very large, clean, and the air conditioning worked well.

We had a rental car so getting around wasn't a problem, and they were happy to recommend places and things to do even if they weren't arranging tours/transportation for us. They were even helpful in pointing us to places that we could drive to, and letting us know about places where our car probably wouldn't make it. The food was decent, but we mostly ate elsewhere so I can't really comment on that.

Unfortunately, we were rear-ended on our last day there by an islander who didn't speak much English. The hotel was absolutely fantastic about helping us with this and definitely went above and beyond, especially Mickey, one of the girls working the front desk! She did everything she could to help us, from speaking directly to our rental car insurance (since they only understood Thai), to continuously checking with the insurance agent to help him get to the island, to even going with us while on her break to meet the insurance agent at the pier 30 minutes away so he could check out the car. They even called our pre-arranged tour to let them know we weren't going to make it so we didn't lose any money, and faxed things to our car rental company so they would have the information already when we returned the car the next day. I cannot imagine how stressful the experience would have been without them, but they simply told us to 'go enjoy the pool, and they would call us when we needed to do something'. It turned a very stressful morning into a relaxing day at the hotel, and even returning our car the next day was a breeze thanks to them.

Stay here if you would like amazing service, which goes above and beyond anything you can imagine, as well as wonderful views and beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon for the full moon party. It was the best place we stayed at in all of our travels through Thailand. The staff we incredibly helpful and friendly. It was my husbands birthday and one of the girls had baked him a cheesecake herself and sang happy birthday to him, it was really sweet!

The view is incredible, I can't even describe it. The infinity pool was really great and we hung out there quite a bit. It is on a hill, hence the name, so we rented a scooter for REALLY cheap and that got us everywhere easily. The resort is about 30 min away from full moon party, but it wasn't a big deal. The resort arranges several tuk tuks to take everyone for very cheap, there and back.

Their food wasn't anything amazing, so we ate mostly down the hill. We also wished they had a fitness center.

We were only planning on staying 3 nights, but we ended up staying longer because we loved it so much. I would definitely recommend this place to other people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyPBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
9.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
626 reviews
9.4 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#27 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,442 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing