We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go there again”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed there for four nights; excellent room, neat and clean. all attractions can be arranged through the hotel and the staff really do whatever they can to help out. The view and the pool were excellent; only thing is, this is not a resort, so housekeeping does not have toothpaste or soap etc. But in all, a wonderful experience... be readty to walk or rent a bike though..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alithered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here two nights wanting to be as far away from the Full Moon Party as possible. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms are really nice. They are well worth the prize. The receptionist Vee is really sweet and helpful. We were told that Haad Chaophao beach is too shallow so we went to he next beach called Secret Beach. The restaurant does not have much food so you're better off stepping just outside the hotel to eat. There are two interesting vegan cafes near this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veganrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent a month at Sunset Hill in conjunction with the yoga training offered at Agama, about 2km away. The price for this yoga/hotel package was amazing. Sunset Hill is a SUPER property with every luxury you could want (far and away one of the best hotels on the island), and the package costs only a few more dollars a night than if you rented cold-water, no-internet, no support bungalows. Really, if you are interested in doing the First Level Course at Agama, you CANNOT beat the value of the arrangement they have with Sunset Hill.

Everything about the hotel is great - view, rooms, property & landscape, pool, restaurant, Monkey the dog ... but I cannot say enough about the fantastic people there - especially Mickey. She arranged everything I needed. And in the "way above and beyond" category, she even drove me down to yoga at 8am the first morning before opening reception, since I had arrived on the island only 12 hours before in the dark, with no idea of where anything was.

I have been home for three weeks and I STILL miss everyone's smiling faces and their kind hearts. :-)

If you are thinking of taking a trip to Koh Phangan, DO IT, and stay at Sunset Hill. It will be the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: All rooms are great ... but let yourself splurge for a room with a view. It is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kievexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, really lovely hotel. The views were stunning and we loved watching the sunset each night - wish we had gone for a room with a sea view although was nice to enjoy in the lounge with a cocktail!

We ate dinner in the hotel once which was good - a range of Thai food or you can get pizza/pasta which is ordered in from a local Italian.

The pool was gorgeous, the room clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The walk up the hill is a bit hard in the heat but wasn't too bad in the evening after dinner!

Will stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A big thanks to Surmat, Nikki, Wii, Hendricks ad the team for a great stay.
It is a climb up to the hotel which see to have about 12 rooms in two buildings but the view is welll worth while.
Pool is small but in a fantastic location. Food was great with a choice of Tha (go for it) or european.
they organised al transport and any trips required and checked all arrangements.
Stay couldn't do enought for you they were very helpful and so friendly we would have like to stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We staid in Sunset Hill for 5 nights in August 2013 without prior booking and we didn't regret a single minute. First, we were amazed by the professionalism of the staff - Thai people are very often supportive, nice and smiling to you but the lady, I cannot remember her name, but she was living in Bangkok before (she will know if reading it:-) moved this to a next level, being extremely supportive, being a first reason why we really felt comfortable and welcome, therefore we moved in on a next day. The resort has amazing location, vith stunning view of the western coast and sunset. Rooms are very comfy, having even small home cinema with dvd player (I wish I had taken some dvds:-) only the beds could have a bit better mattraces. Overall the resort is a very good value for money, and especially for young couple a great choice of romantic getaway. We loved it there, I can only recommend the place!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently spent a week on the island and loved it. The staff at the resort are extraordinary helpful and friendly. They referred us to Rafael at the Dive Inn (a fantastic scuba instructor) and to Mr Aon from whom we rented scooters (bikes) - he taught us how to drive before letting us take off on our own! The infinity pool is one of the best features along with the stunning view from the restaurant. We hope to be back in the future! Breakfast was simple but just what we needed (wanted) and dinners were good too.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra to stay in a seaview room - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinginTurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
3.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £35 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing