We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but completely out of the way ..”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but completely out of the way ..”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked here for 4 nights in November and were impressed when we turned up. Hotel looks beautiful and the reception/ restaurant area has a really cool chilled out vibe with bi folding doors overlooking the jungle and beach.
Check in was very slow however I think they were having technical issues but once we got to our rooms we were very impressed with the size, cleanliness and amenities.
The pool was a lovely infinity pool overlooking the sea below which had the most amazing views.
Food wasn't great at all in the hotel and as a party of 6 it was quite frustrating that our food always arrived at completely different times meaning some had finished when others hadn't even been served but I think is is the norm in Thailand as a lot of places and resturants were the same.
The hotel however offers a pizza take out service and they were delicious. The main setback was there isn't much around the hotel so if you want to eat elsewhere or go to the shops everything was a taxi ride away.
The hotel offered a taxi service to full moon party which was 200 THB each which was great as its a good 45-50 mins away.
All in all it's a lovely hotel but very secluded and remote so we left after 3 days, it did rain the whole time we were there so I think had it have been sunny we may have felt different however in the rain and so far away from everything there wasn't much to do.
The hotel is on a huge hill and with the rain so heavy it didn't seem safe to get a scooter to travel around.
I think as the hotel is remote they could do with improving the quality of their food and bar snacks as there are no nearby shops, however as a hotel and setting it was beautiful and Wii the receptionist was one of the sweetest people ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbunny3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Beachbunny,

Thank you for your review and for the great comments about our hotel and staff. We are sorry that you had so much rain during your stay, which naturally was a hurdle for discovering the surrounding area. Most of your comments about our location I have already covered in my response to the previous review.

Regarding your comments about our restaurant: During FM parties most resorts and restaurants are extremely busy so unfortunately service tends to be slower than usual. However we are working hard to improve this, especially during peak times. Therefore we have hired a new English chef who will start in December to serve our guests during the high season. We' ll also make the menu more exciting with a fusion of Thai and Western dishes.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back another time with less rain.
Best regards,
The Sunset Hill Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    119
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
238
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel in itself is beautiful and the staff are outstanding, however the hotel is not close to much!! There are some restaurants but no convenience shops to stock up on snacks and drinks. While we were there it rained for the duration of our stay, so there was nothing for us to do, which was a shame but not the hotels fault! We had bought some DVDs from Bangkok so watched them and we ordered room service a fair bit. There is a crazy hill to get to the hotel so always negotiate a price with the taxis which includes the hill, otherwise it'll be an extra 100 bahts each. There are scooters you can rent, but we did not feel comfortable on scooters in the rain and on the hills. There is a complimentary shuttle to the 7 11 shop, but it's one way, so you would either have to trek back or get a taxi. Also the shower wasn't overly powerful!!! When it storms the island can lose electricity and power, so we were without for a couple of hours. We had free wifi in our room though and that continued to work which was good. We went to the Full Moon Party and they offered taxi service there for 200 bahts per person which was pretty good considering it was like a 45 minute drive!

Overall the only thing which bothered us about the hotel was the lack of local shops around it!!! If you want a secluded holiday to relax then this will be perfect, but make sure you go outside of rainy season!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TripMember01282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Scouse23
First I would like to thank you for the positive comments about our resort in your review. We agree that our hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway and a relax holiday.
Unfortunately it can sometimes rain a lot in October-November which is the rainy (low) season.

The island is quite hilly and our resort is located on one of these hills (hence the view). Because of this, if you don’t like to remain at just one location on the island, want to have the best experience on Koh Phangan and discover the island, we really recommend renting a motorbike (200 THB per day) or a 4x4 small jeep (1000 THB per day). With these forms of transport many restaurants and convenience stores are just a few minutes away from our resort.

As you mentioned many restaurants and the nearest beaches are around 800 m from our resort, so for most people within walking distance. In our lounge you can buy drinks for a low discounted price to take to your apartment.

If you come to Koh Phangan just for the Full Moon Party it’s probably best to stay in Haad Rin or in the Ban Tai area (south part of the Island). Our resort is ideal if you do like to enjoy the Full Moon party but before and after the party would like to chill out at the pool, relax in the lounge, make a tour, go diving or discover the rest of this beautiful island by motorbike, especially the North part is very beautiful.
Thanks again for your informative review and we hope to see you back at our resort in the near future!

Best regards from the Sunset Hill team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Overall we were very happy with our choice to stay at Sunset Hill and would stay there again. Our room had an amazing panoramic view of the ocean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a kitchenette. They provide a DVD player and have a few movies at the front desk but I wish I'd brought some of my own. The bathroom had a sewage smell but we discovered if we left the fan OFF it went away. One odd thing about the room was that there wasn't a phone so we had to walk to the front desk anytime we had a question or needed anything. The pool was a little small but also had the same amazing view as our room. I've traveled a lot and don't know if I've seen a better ocean view. We tried 3-4 different beaches on the island and came to the conclusion that our pool was better so spent a lot of time there. The grounds and hotel had some work going on but it didn't disturb our stay. Other reviewers were correct in that a cab charges a lot more to go up the big hill from the main road to the resort. We were quoted 100 baht per person to get dropped off at the bottom of the bill vs. 300 to go up. The hill is a hike but totally do-able.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over October full moon party. I came with a friend and having spent a few nights in Bangkok previously we wanted somewhere to chill out before the FMP.

This place is quite far from the action of Haad Rin but there's plenty of restaurants and small bars within walking distance. The hill is a bit of a pain but when you get to the top you realise why as the views are stunning!

Rooms were great, spacious, clean. Couldn't ask for anymore. The pool is great and often had it to ourselves.

The real jewel in the crown though was the service. The girl on reception Wii can't do enough for guests, no fake smiles here she genuinely cares for her guests and it shows. All the staff were great too.

The food was average but being a hotel that I would imagine doesn't get much 'food only' trade due to its location it's not bad. I'd recommend eating there if nothing else for you to experience the almost 'treehouse' experience of watching the views. Also on the menu is pizzas which they order in from a local place.

Wii kindly organised a taxi to the full moon party for us, it was good as it gave us a chance to meet up with other guests and we all stayed in a big group at the FMP.

Overall I can't speak highly enough of this place. Of the few weeks I spent travelling around Thailand this place knocked spots off everywhere else I stayed. As we left (for Patong) we regretted not staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexJimwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear James and Chris,

Thank you very much for your nice review and for fairly describing our resort. This will give future guests a good idea about what they can expect. We are happy you had a great time staying with us and of course you are very welcome to stay longer with us next time!
Warm Regards,
The Sunset Hill team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed as a couple for 5 nights in October and we had bought it as a half price deal which turned out to be great value for money.

PROS:
- Views are absolutely amazing! Panoramic views of the ocean from top of the hill were stunning day after day when you had breakfast
- Rooms are top quality (except oddly our shower had no hot water for the time we stayed) they are very big and have a lounge with a few foxtel channels and also a DVD player which you can borrow for free from reception some movies which was really nice
- Up the quieter end of Koh Phangan which was nice discovering some of the quieter areas of the island
- Mama's Pooh's (the best Thai restaurant we ate at our whole 3 weeks in thailand is 15 mins walk to the left)
- Wii the receptionist is wonderfully friendly and super helpful the first night we were there they offered to special order in some food for us
- You can also order a pizza and pasta and have delivered to your room
- They also have a computer set up for free that guests can use which is convenient

CONS:
- It is very far away from all the action. We rented a scooter which wasn't so bad but the roads are quite dicey and very windy which can be a bit intimidating for some
- Make sure you arrive to Koh Phangan at the THONGSALA PIER - we didn't realise there was more than one so we were take to the Had Rin pier which cost us 1000baht to get our hotel (40mins by taxi). Similarly if you are going to the full moon party - expect to pay
- The hot water in our shower didn't work the whole time we were there - the staff tried to fix it twice but couldn't seem to get it fixed. At least they tried I guess!
- The restaurant is very poor quality. It is very slow and very expensive. We had breakfast there (as it was included 5 days) and not once did my eggs and toast come out warm together, and usually both were cold by time they brought it to our table. We also had lunch once and our meals were brought out 15 mins apart.
- Restaurant is very overpriced - there is much better food down the road definitely go for a walk!
- Although they are helpful in ordering cabs etc for you there is about a 100baht mark-up on everything they will do for you. Its not a deal breaker but was just annoying as you already spend a lot on transport when you are here.

Overall good stay but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Walk 15mins to the left of the driveway to have meals at Mama Pooh's restaurant - much better fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Hailey and William,

Thank you very much for providing a valuable opinion of your stay in our resort and for the positive things about our apartments and service you have mentioned under PROS.
We would like to clarify a few of the things you mentioned under CONS:

-Our resort is indeed located on the island's West Coast, a bit outside the main entertainment area but famous for its beautiful beaches, nature, cozy atmosphere and tranquil lifestyle. However since the island is not so big, the entertainment area is also easy accessible and just 20 minutes from our resort by car or motorbike. Your stay was in the low season when the island is generally quiet, in the high season the West Coast has much more entertainment on offer.
-Motorbikes are indeed the best way of transport on the island and most of our guests have mentioned that exploring the island by motorbike was the highlight of their holidays.
-Taxi fares to Haad Rin are usually 200 THB per person, but fees depend on with how many people you are sharing the taxi, and if they can pick up other passengers along the way. During special events like the Full Moon Party we arrange shared taxi’s for all our guests to go to the party together. For regular taxi service we indeed charge a small fee of 50 THB per person, for the taxi to come to our resort and pick up our guests to go everywhere on the island at any time they like.
-We are very sorry to hear about the cold shower which was caused by a safety fuse that kept switching off, our maintenance team have fixed this issue now
-We sincerely apologize that you had to a wait long time for your food and that it was not warm enough and we will take immediate measures to improve our restaurant service.
-The prices in our lounge restaurant are very reasonable, obviously our prices cannot be the same as at a local Thai roadside food stall.
It’s great to hear that your general experience of our resort and the island was positive.
Thanks again for your comments which are very useful for other travelers and definitely help us to improve our services.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we stayed for 3 nights, first night was the FMP. Wii, the lady who works there was brilliant to us! We had a great laugh with the staff, and it was easy to mingle with other guests. There was another lady there who was working the restaurant who was so good to us.

There is a very relaxed vibe here and the view is stunning.
The rooms were also great and we slept very well after coming back late from the FMP.

Would fully recommend it to anyone, you will be treated so well by the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCloudDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed 5 nights and can honestly say it was the best value for money resort. Very quiet and romantic. Wee is the receptionist and she made our stay so comfortable and cosy.
If you want a quiet and romantic place to run away this is it.
Also you will need to rent a motorbike to get around the island but it is convinient and cheap from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
9.4 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing