We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Second time to the resort and it is stunning as usual. Great staff, thanks to Wii and Sylvester for the great night. Beautiful facilities and def the place to relax and chill out.
Would highly recommend for those seeking a very relaxing holiday!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Astra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is on the quieter north western side of the island. The best thing about the apartments were the staff. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. They were friendly and welcoming.

The apartment (deluxe studio) was roomy, clean and came with a stunning view. The bed was comfortable. The decor, especially in the bathroom was worn and could do with a revamp. I was also disappointed the planters on the balcony, they were devoid of plants and seemed more like garbage bins, no plants also meant the room could be overlooked from the adjacent apartments
.
The resort had a small infinity pool which was nice. The grounds are well maintained.

The dining facilities were limited to breakfast and ‘order in’ from the local pizza place in the evening. There was a small bar.

The hotel sits on top of a hill (next to some phone masts) hence the marvellous views; this means it’s a steep climb to the hotel from the few restaurants on the main road. Also because of the hill and steps in the hotel I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone with mobility problems.
In December 2013 there was some building work on a nearly completed block of apartments. The noise was minimal.

The hotel staff recommended a company to provide a moped as this gets you up the hill and allows you to explore this wonderful island. The bike hire was cheap however as there is no insurance any damage is payable on return. The company hold onto your passport during the hire. Make sure you thoroughly check the bikes condition before the hire and get the rental agreement endorsed with any existing damage.

Room Tip: PIck a room with a view, the extra is worth it. The garden view rooms seem to have views of a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I spent two minutes in this resort and I already could tell they were managed well. Great view , great people , great food. The pool is amazing. I am rather shocked people would give this a negative review. I also dont mind being near communication towers...hey I need good 3G :) . the towers are a non issue. The welcome we received was perfect and we decided to upgrade immediatly.

This place should set the standard for others on the island. The check in lady WII was so polite and helpful. I am happy to see a new standard being set. this should up the game of all the others on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a long review but I hope you find it informative.

We stayed here from 10th November until 8th December 2013 as we had booked the combined 24 day Agama yoga course.

I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and the team there made it a pleasure and a joy to stay at this resort.

The hotel itself (as stated on their website) is up a very steep hill so you can enjoy some spectacular sunsets whilst relaxing in or around the infinity pool or jacuzzi.

The pool area is open from 8am to 10pm which is great as it's so hot in Thailand at night time, a swim is very refreshing. Most other hotels in Thailand close their pools around 7/8pm so it was an added bonus as we didn't return from our yoga course until well after 9pm on most nights.

We opted for a grand sea view room in the Jasmine building. It was very nice but it was the furthest away from the reception and pool. Very secluded (if that's your preference) and hidden from the morning sun if you prefer to have your breakfast and morning coffee on the balcony without the discomfort of the blazing sun!
The Wi Fi is also much better in this building. Very handy if you want to use soundcloud or other streaming services.

We were VERY unlucky with the weather while we were there. Torrential rain for a whole week! And the walk down to the Jasmine can be very slippery when it rains so we asked to change rooms to the grand sea view in the Rose building (above reception) which was not a problem to the team there. They went above and beyond to accommodate us. Having said that, the hotel was actually in the process of constructing a much more advance drainage system so should not be a problem for future guests.

If you are not bothered about a sea view, you can get the same quality of room in any of the buildings if you are on a budget. The standards are excellent regardless of room you are in. Cable tv (movies are in English with Thai subtitles) with DVD and surround sound are standard in every room. DVD's can be hired from reception but are quite generic so you can bring your own (regional compatibility permitting) We know this as we had visited the rooms of the other yoga students whilst there and the only difference was the view. But it is a great feeling every morning to wake up to spectacular scenery!

In respect of the combined booking of hotel and yoga. The Agama centre is quite a walk away so you should allow for a 30-40 minute walk to the yoga hall. Bare in mind it is very hot at all times and a 30-40 minute walk can be quite tiring so, get to the yoga hall a bit early so you can relax before your practice!

The classes are twice a day. 8:30-10:30 then 16:00-18:00.If you wish to stay for the lectures, you can stay until 19:00/20:00 depending on the lecture of the day. Although they are informative, it is not essential in order to gain your certificate.

It is a very intense course so be prepared!
I had never done yoga before in my life, and although it's challenging, I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you are a beginner or an experienced yogi, I guarantee you will take a lot from this course and I personally will be continuing the practises. Bare in mind (especially for beginners) if you plan on staying on the Island for longer than 1 month and have paid in advance you can re-do any of the classes/lectures at no extra cost as course repeats each month.

In terms of staying at this hotel (minus the yoga course) it's still an excellent place to stay and you will certainly not be disappointed by sunset hill.

Some tips;

If you are brave enough, you can hire a moped for about 4000THB (£80/$140USD) for a month. We opted for a jeep for 2 weeks which was 9800THB (£196/$314USD).
Thailand is cheap but taxis can be expensive and charge per person, so regardless of distance it will cost a minimum of 100 BHT per person 200 BHT to Thong Sala (Main pier town where you find lots of pubs, shopping and excellent food market)

The full moon party is on the south of the island (Haad Rin) and about 40-45 minute drive from sunset hill. The hotel can arrange a taxi for you and there are plenty of taxis there for you to get back safely.
(We visited Haad Rin a few times and it obviously caters for the short term stay! Not the best resort on this island to stay long term! But each to their own)

The nearest restaurant to the hotel is just down the hill. About a ten minute walk but if you're not feeling adventurous, the hotel has a good enough menu and is about the same price as some restaurants in the area. Pai's "no name" (which is deep fried vegetable in batter) is particularly good!!

You can afford to pack light! The hotel offer a laundry service for 70THB (£1.40/$2.24USD) per kilo and its ready within a day! And the quality was much better than some hotels I have stayed in that charge £10 for 1 item!

I can't complete this review without mentioning the team at sunset hill who made us feel like family while we stayed there. Wii, Jani and Pai (sorry if I've spelt your names wrong!) in particular! you are a credit to sunset hill and will never be forgotten!

Everyone at sunset hill were so friendly and I'm sorry I've forgotten your names!

Thank you for a great time and we will definitely return here when we come back to Koh Phangan.

Thank you for a great time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jannettaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked our honeymoon he.re, through living social Australia, about 8 months before we stayed. Did some research on trip advisor about the room we had included and the other minor inclusions, thought it was good value, so went ahead and booked. Emailed the hotel when we booked and explained the voucher. They must have known what it was about, as there was no problems on check in.

Wii, the girl at reception, was extremely helpful and welcoming. She helped us from the moment we checked in, taking our bags to our room and despite our late-ish arrival, made arrangements for room service dinner (we had been travelling since 7am and arrived about 8:30).

The room was good. There was no door to the bathroom (including toilet) which was odd, but we dealt with it. The tv had good reception, the AC was good, and the view was magnificent. We were in a junior suite, and the bed was oriented straight out over the bay. Slept with the curtains open the first few nights as it didn't get light until 6am or so, and was really private. Shower pressure was weak and the water never got more than lukewarm, but this is to be expected on Island. No wine glasses, but we never asked for any, so was a non-issue. Housekeeping were really good and efficient. It seemed as like we would put the sign on to make up the room and when we returned it was sparkling clean and nice and neat. Balcony was awesome. Watch out for bugs

Breakfast was included, but not spectacular. We ate every morning at the resort, since we are both early morning people and nearby restaurants don't seem to open until 10 or 11, whereas the breakfast service started at 8. Never ventured much from bacon and eggs, but my wife did and found some good options. She is gluten and dairy free, so options were limited.

Internet is complimentary, fast and useful.

Restaurant staff were very helpful, accommodating, and the food was great. Our visit was in the off peak season, so was quiet, but they remembered us, our usual orders and weird alterations (eg smoothies with coconut milk instead of real milk). We only ate here a few times as we went out for dinner most of the time, but was worth it.

Swimming pool is cool, amazing view, quiet and bar/food service down. Weird about the towel log, but was a non-issue.

Booking tours, spa, massage, taxi, motorcycles, etc was really easy. Was very quick and the payment terms, while cash, didn't always need to be instant. I would suggest hiring motorcycles, as it's about a 1-2km walk to the nearest hub and 10-15 to the pier/town. Only 200bht a day, which is about $7USD.

All in all, we were well looked after, the staff were fabulous, and everything was easy and trouble free. A few minor annoyances, but accepted because of the fact they are on an island - not a resort in the middle of Singapore or Hong Kong.

Well done to Wii and her staff. If we go to Phangan, we will be in contact!

Room Tip: Junior or grand suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todjo929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

From the reviews, name and information on booking.com we were very disappointed when we arrived in our sea view deluxe room to find a basic 2 star room that smelt and a partial sea view (sunsets being blocked by the building in front).

We were told the smell was due to the septic tank being cleared that day and whilst the smell subsided a little, we had to keep the bathroom door closed for our whole stay to stop the smell coming into the bedroom and run taps and the shower to alleviate it. Given we stayed for a week, I suspect there's an ongoing issue with smells...

In terms of the view, when I complained about this at reception, I was told that "sea view deluxe" meant partial sea view and if we wanted a full sea view, that would be a "grand sea view" room and they'd work out how much extra that would be...not impressed. I didn't see that outlined anywhere else when booking. We decided we'd use the extra cash to stay somewhere else for our last few days given how disappointed we were with the hotel.

The room was very basic, no real attention has been spent on putting the rooms together. The bathroom was awful, bad sinks, hotel things stored under the sink counter in full view, no shower curtain or screen. There were about 8 speakers in the bedroom but only 1 bedside table!

The hotel is in a remote location, there's not much around at all so you're forced to rent mopeds or use taxis to go out for dinner. (Note on mopeds later.) The driveway is a real issue. Yes, the island is hilly. But the hotel has basically dropped some concrete blocks on an incredibly steep hill up to the hotel itself and left it at that. It's not well lit or a particularly pleasant end to an evening walking up it.

The pool is lovely, as are the views. Slightly impacted by the need to sign out towels to take down to the pool(?!) and the building work noise from the new buildings they're constructing.

We had brunch in the hotel twice and it was lovely - the food and service. The lady at reception was lovely, always welcoming and happy to help with arrangements. The man at reception was much less helpful and I generally avoided speaking to him as he was so miserable.

If I'd been expecting (and paying for) a basic 2 star (which we'd stay in several whilst doing the Mae Hon Son Loop) then it would have been ok. But "sea view deluxe" and "boutique resort" build you up for a disappointment.

Note on renting mopeds - take detailed photos of the whole bike. "Rental companies" generally have someone whose job it is to remember every detail and scratch on every bike. It's much easier to negotiate "fines" when you have some evidence. Best rented through the hotel so you have some support.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at sunset hill resort during the full moon party since we dont like the madness that goes on on haad rin during the days of the party. The hotel is really nice, the rooms are clean and nicely done. The view is breath taking. The staff are really friendly and helpful. If you just want to relax that's the place to come to. I would rate is as excellent if it had a bit more around the hotel. You can't really walk to many places but if you get a scooter then it's no problem.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
3.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £36 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing