We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Located on the more chill side of the island, half way up a Mountian side, the feeling is one of conqueror, safety and calmness. Incredible views with clean well appointed units. The units were developed to maximize privacy with large balconies, all electronics and appliances worked well, water pressure is good, a big plus for Koh Phangan! I found the pictures on the website to be very accurate. The staff works hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable but don't expect a traditional full service type resort.
Pool is usually quiet and wifi works great everywhere on the resort, another big plus for being located on Koh Phangan. Food is good and the lounge or outside deck are nice atmospheres.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wally248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

The resort is spectacular, and some of the sunset views from our balcony were the best we had seen whilst on our trip in Thailand.

Yes, the resort is far away from Haad Rin, but that suited us just fine as we got to explore a different side of the island, and this way we got to find some really special and secluded places. You will need to hire a scooter to get around here, but the walk up the hill is completely do-able and quite exaggerated by the other reviews.

Our first impression when walking into the restaurant area whilst checking in was wow!! Open windows, with views looking out to the beach, it was stunning. The resort has such a relaxing vibe, it was a beautiful start to our holiday and definitely helped the stress melt away from all of the responsibilities back home!

The staff are so friendly - especially Wii, your so kind!! You made us feel at home instantly! There was another lady too, that unfortunately I forgot her name, but she was so friendly and accommodating too.

Thank you for having us!!

Kind regards,

Brittany and Issac

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brittanyturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

the hotel itself is beautifull
The bed was comfortable.
hotel has stunning view and we love it, breakfast was included which is a little bit basic but its ok
and the staff was just ok to help and attend guest
after all it was a excellent holiday in bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the festive Xmas period. Room was big as we were checked into a suite but furnishings were rather basic with no telephone in the room so we couldn't call reception when needed.

Staff (Sylvester the manager) was friendly and helpful however restaurant staff was rude. We ordered pizza from the menu and it was surprisingly very very good (the pizzas are made by an Italian restaurant down the road)

It is a walk up a steep hill to get to and would highly recommend renting a motorbike. Taxis are not very easy to get from the hotel. Distance from the hotel to the party areas in haadrin and baantai is far so it will cost a lot on the taxis.

The view is absolutely stunning and almost enough to make the stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaniandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Second time to the resort and it is stunning as usual. Great staff, thanks to Wii and Sylvester for the great night. Beautiful facilities and def the place to relax and chill out.
Would highly recommend for those seeking a very relaxing holiday!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Astra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is on the quieter north western side of the island. The best thing about the apartments were the staff. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. They were friendly and welcoming.

The apartment (deluxe studio) was roomy, clean and came with a stunning view. The bed was comfortable. The decor, especially in the bathroom was worn and could do with a revamp. I was also disappointed the planters on the balcony, they were devoid of plants and seemed more like garbage bins, no plants also meant the room could be overlooked from the adjacent apartments
.
The resort had a small infinity pool which was nice. The grounds are well maintained.

The dining facilities were limited to breakfast and ‘order in’ from the local pizza place in the evening. There was a small bar.

The hotel sits on top of a hill (next to some phone masts) hence the marvellous views; this means it’s a steep climb to the hotel from the few restaurants on the main road. Also because of the hill and steps in the hotel I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone with mobility problems.
In December 2013 there was some building work on a nearly completed block of apartments. The noise was minimal.

The hotel staff recommended a company to provide a moped as this gets you up the hill and allows you to explore this wonderful island. The bike hire was cheap however as there is no insurance any damage is payable on return. The company hold onto your passport during the hire. Make sure you thoroughly check the bikes condition before the hire and get the rental agreement endorsed with any existing damage.

Room Tip: PIck a room with a view, the extra is worth it. The garden view rooms seem to have views of a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I spent two minutes in this resort and I already could tell they were managed well. Great view , great people , great food. The pool is amazing. I am rather shocked people would give this a negative review. I also dont mind being near communication towers...hey I need good 3G :) . the towers are a non issue. The welcome we received was perfect and we decided to upgrade immediatly.

This place should set the standard for others on the island. The check in lady WII was so polite and helpful. I am happy to see a new standard being set. this should up the game of all the others on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
9.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
9 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
6.3 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: £27 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing