We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Hill Resort
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We highly recommend Sunset Hill. Sure you do not have direct beach access but the setting of the resort and the spectacular panoramic view you get of the ocean and the sunset make this place very special. The crew at Sunset (Wii, Peter, Mio - not sure about the spelling sorry! - and the newly hired Dutch woman) makes you feel at home right away and will go the extra mile to please you. Thank you Peter for calling the restaurant about our daughter's b-day, this was a great surprise and she was very touched! The rooms are great (we were in a penthouse suite) with lots of room and large terrace. The furniture inside needs to be upgraded though. Bedding is very comfortable. The restaurant is also very good and the prices of the food and drinks very reasonable compared to the other places. It caters to all tastes (Western or delicious Thai). Well done Sunset Hill. Would definitively come back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room in the Rose building (the oldest building but with no other building in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianOceanFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    117
    43
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
232
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I think we enjoyed the stay at Sunset Hill Resort the most thoughout our whole trip though thailand. Staff was wonderful and helfpul with all our questions. We had a beautiful room with a private terrace and a stunning ocean view. Even though we stayed there during fullmoon party and the hotel was fully booked, it was still very calm and not crowded at all. The infinity pool is really cool, too. Most of the time we were there by ourselves.

It's about a 15 Minute walk down the hill to get to the beach and all the restaurant. The beach was really clean and the ocean was really nice to swim in. It was calm and not crowded. We really enjoyed eating at the restaurants at the beach at night. The 15-minute walk was total ok for us, you might think about staying there if you're not good at walking up and down the hill. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from a (different) beach, which we took one day. We found the beach there to be much more crowded and dirty, so we went back to walking the next days.

Only downside: we booked breakfast and were really disappointed. One could only choose one beverage and one option from the breakfast menu (for example two small croissants with butter and jam or muesli with fruit and yoghurt), which did not leave us full and content. If you wanted anything extra (like juice or even ham with your egg), you had to pay for it. We think, if breakfast is included, anything should be inlcluded and one should not be hungry after breakfast.

In a nutshell: We loved our stay. Staff was so friendy and made us feel very welcome. The hotel was calm and not crowded at all. Beach was a bit to walk but beatiful. We would totally stay there again and recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with ocean view. It's stunning. We enjoeyd our stay the first nights in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchideenfreundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Shame on us for not getting to this sooner.....sorry Sunset team.......I would like to start by responding to others' critique of the location; plain and simply, the resort's location on top of the hill not only adds to its mystique, but also provides the most spectacular full sunset-scape (hence the name for the resort) over the water on the west side of the island.....our initial booking was for 2 nights in early December; we ended up staying 21; left for a week, then came back for one more week.....the rooms are large, spacious, open, extra clean, have stove top burners, a fridge, microwave in some, stereo, many channels to choose, wifi, a/c and plenty of room in the washrooms. The rooms in the main wing are a few years old, while the new wing was just opening during our stay; magnificent new room choices with peaceful and secluded garden views or more sea and sunset.... once again, the views are truly spectacular. Infinity pool over looking the Gulf of Thailand and sunset...imagine a cocktail in hand while wading about as the sun sets.......the food is very good with lots of western and local choices, as well as fresh coconuts, smoothies, extensive coffees, wine and cocktails... but most importantly, the staff is incredible.....from the maintenance workers, the groundskeepers, to housekeeping, front end staff, and management.....all so friendly, warm and polite...I will not begin to list names as I am afraid I do not remember or know each and everyone and wish not to do a disservice by neglecting to mention one name...and believe me, after being there for nearly one month, everyone got to know everyone......very social place and ended up going to different parties with some other guests....from one end to another, everyone was willing to bend over backwards....the extremely helpful front end staff are more than willing to help arrange travel plans, day trips, scuba diving, motorbike rentals, party tickets, etc....name it, it was getting handled........short term motorbike rentals are generally about $5-6/day.....we paid $3/day for our month......mini marts, multiple restaurants, and beaches are all within a few hundred meters away.......Thong Sala, the main town on the west side, is about 20 mins away (btw, average speed is about 40km/hr); it has night markets, oodles of cheap shopping, the local ferry terminal and much, much more.....cab would cost about $5....although I did hitchhike a couple of times when I could not drive the bike, and usually got picked up by the third vehicle; got to love the peaceful, yogi, friendly, loving side of the island ;) ......you're in Thailand, relax and enjoy the slower pace and the peaceful ways on the west side of Koh Phangan.......thank you again everyone at "Sunset" for providing a warm home for the month and an epic chapter in our 'round the world adventure. Cheers from the two smiling Canadians!

Room Tip: We are suckers for the sunsets...if you are too, ask for a room in the middle on the third floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeekTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Koh Pangang is famous for beautyful nature and Full Moon Party .-) . One of the best electro festivals in the world. 90% of the visitors are from australia or new zealand. Many clubs, but the best is the beach party on the about 5km long beach.

The hotel for the party you need to book 6 month before. The hole island is fully booked any Full Moon.

The rooms are very big, and you have a nice view from the window over the nature of Thailand. You can book any excursion from the hotel about 30% cheaper as from the next bigger island. Koh Samui. Diving and the yacht tour to the national sea parc ist the best i think.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Sunset hill is by far and large the best hotel retreat in Ko Phangan whether you are a couple or a solo traveller the staff help you out so much with your travel arrangements as well as this the views from the hotel are amazing.

Room Tip: Best rooms to pick are the sea view ones and not the stand alone apartments :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperHaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A huge thank you to Sylvester and Wii for a very relaxing stay. Some quick points to share-

The distance from the other hotels and restaurants is perfect….enough
to create space to breathe and enjoy, but not too much that you cannot easily walk
down the hill to explore other possibilities. If you are not able to walk down hill, this is likely not the place for you anyway, as even coming to the restaurant has some (easy) climbing.

The top level of the lounge/restaurant is very special, giving you the room to chill whilst enjoying fantastic Thai food and cold beer, overlooking the sea. Previous reviews have noted a limitation on the menu, however it is clear this has changed. I recommend contacting the hotel in advance to ask them about what is current, as this perhaps changes based on their staffing levels.

Wii and Sylvester are there to please you as their guest. They are lovely.
This is a very chill and relaxed spot that happens to also be extremely beautiful.
It is not a five star, pampering your every whim. This easily becomes your own space, in which you are given the freedom to create and enjoy your own relaxation and enjoyment.

Another mention on the food offering-- the menu, at least currently, is plentiful, unlike some past reviews. We are big foodies and enjoy both quality and taste...and choice! We were very happy with eating here every night, never feeling the need nor desire to go elsewhere.
Of course we were there to chill….and we did.

Again, huge thank you to Wii and Sylvester!

Room Tip: You are there for the view. Pay the little extra and indulge. That said, if there are no rooms ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulTravellerCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Located on the more chill side of the island, half way up a Mountian side, the feeling is one of conqueror, safety and calmness. Incredible views with clean well appointed units. The units were developed to maximize privacy with large balconies, all electronics and appliances worked well, water pressure is good, a big plus for Koh Phangan! I found the pictures on the website to be very accurate. The staff works hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable but don't expect a traditional full service type resort.
Pool is usually quiet and wifi works great everywhere on the resort, another big plus for being located on Koh Phangan. Food is good and the lounge or outside deck are nice atmospheres.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wally248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.5 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
9.1 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Property: Sunset Hill Resort
Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing