We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Ranked #77 of 131 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

If you dont mind the short hike to get to the bugalows then it is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are far from luxurious but they have everything you need and have the most wonderful views from the balcony which had a hammock. The distance from the main beaches is just right, they are within walking distance but are away from any loud noise. We stayed in a double fan room for a very reasonable price of 360b per night (£7.40). The beds are covered by a mosquito net which was good as there are a few creepy crawlies around! The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    24
    13
    6
    26
See reviews for
6
54
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Getting here can be interesting. Make sure your cab drops you on the beach access. If you get left to walk over the hills then be prepared for a proper hike! But the views and the peace and quiet make it worth the trek. Food is simple, but cheap and wholesome. Rooms are basic, but ours was clean and well maintained. No more mosquitos here than anywhere else you will be pleased to know. Couple of good beach restaurants and bars just ten minutes walk. If you love going to sleep with the sound of waves on the rocks and waking with the sunrise streaming through the window then this is the place for you. They trust you to write down any drinks that you take from the fridge if there is nobody on reception - don't abuse the system!
(If you get a water taxi at high tide they can drop you at the jetty right next to the reception)

Room Tip: Sunflower bungalows are a top choice unless you are on a serious budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnBownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here after looking around and staying in some awful places on the beach - this place was a haven! We loved our room with a sea view and hammock on our balcony. The guesthouse owners were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The place is found at the end of Leela Beach (Hat Seekantang), a short walk along a wooden walkway round the rocks. We would recommend this place to anyone wishing to chill out, relax and enjoy Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavindraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

me and 3 mates went koh phangan for the full moon party over new years and wanted to be near the action without the noise. The moment you step into this resort you are cut off from the madness of the Haadrin. It has a nice family atmosphere with cute dogs and all.

We stayed in the sunset rooms. Just remember that you dont have hot water but apart from that its so peaceful with the only noise you hear is the crashing waves which puts you to sleep nicely. Its about 15mins walk from the action but we never felt scared coming over the bridge, just make sure you got a torch and if you really want the taxi bikes can bring you back most of the way for about 100 bhat after a night in Haadrin

The food in the restaurant is ok and is fine when you dont want to walk into town. Cocuhut which is under 10mins walk away on the same beach is a nice place to hangout especially if you like to play volleyball.

My advice would be try and get a few nights here if you want a relaxing holiday with the access to the nightlife. We are in our late 20's early 30's and it suited us just fine. I would also recommend it to couples. Get in before this pictureresque family resort becomes a luxure 5* spa which charges 5 times more and loses its charms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed here over New Years. Worst mistake we have ever made! The owner was a complete nutter, he is out of his head, him and 2 of his staff beat me up because my girlfriend forgot to take her shoes of in the restaurant! The room also happens to be terrible, full of mosquitos and is just literally a bed, no furniture!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Rooms have been refurbished since i last stayed so that was a nice surprise. Stayed in a lighthouse room. Basic but very cheap. Clean white sheets and a nice big comfy bed. The view from the balcony is fantastic. Very peaceful. A world away from hat rin, but within easy walking distance. Definatly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamjohn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Only planned on staying a few nights for the fullmoon party- but ended up staying a week. Whether you want a budget room with the basics or A/C with hot water... it's got something for everybody. Every bungalow has breath taking views and the food and lounge area are a great place to relax to recover after a party. The beach is a five minute stroll down a wooden pathway, and the full moon party just a 10 minute walk. If i'm ever back in thailand I will definitely stay here again! DONT MISS OUT!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Leela Beach Resort
Leela Beach Resort
#71 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#43 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#80 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moon Paradise Bungalows
Moon Paradise Bungalows
#63 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#26 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Property: Lighthouse Bungalows
Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing