We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great isolated location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Ranked #83 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great isolated location”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

It could be perfect place for isolated vacation or family holidays cos Bungalows have great location outside of party-oriented places of Koh Phangan. But time to time they organize night-party with loud music and drinks. So I don't know who can be the target consumers cos for party lovers that place is too isolated and far from main party center but for family vacation it is too disturbing and doesn't have smoke-free zone.
The owner is nice and helpful woman. She helps her customers a lot.

Room Tip: The best cottages located just near the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    24
    14
    6
    29
See reviews for
6
57
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Good:

*) Very picturesque view around. Just near the water
*) Quite comfortable cottages on the 1-st line (near the water), but overpriced
*) Location is very good if you like to be far away from the mess. It's very quite here. But - approximately 10 minutes by foot from the center of HadRin. In night time it's very dark there.
*) Big restaurant with comfortable sitting places.

Not good:

*) Stuff could be very rood ! Anyway, they are not attentive. Owners, of course, attentive and helpful, but most of the time you deal with stuff, not with the owners...
*) Location is not for you, if you like to be in the center of mess.
*) Internet... it's problem.
*) Food is very basic and not enough tasty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed here with my partner and a small group of friends. It was a beautiful place to stay.

The slight walk along the boardwalk to get to the bungalows is very short, but still provides great removal from the hustle and bustle. The bungalows are comfortable and very relaxed. Food at the restaurant is reasonably priced and quite nice. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

One of the best places we stayed because of the stunning view from our bungalow! The bungalows are basic but clean. Leela beach is just 2 minutes away and really beautiful, most of the time there where just a few other people there! It is close to Haad Rin, I think a 15 minute walk over the beach and through Coconut hotel. This is a shortcut, be sure you take this shortcut and not the other one! ;) We paid 950Bath for a bungalow for 3.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you are looking for a Place to escape from all the tipical touristic stuff on kho phangan - the Lighthouse bungalows at the end of lela beach - is the Perfect adress! Such a silent & peaceful Place you cannot Imagine. The accumondations are very Nice and clean. We Stayed in the sunflower Bungalow which is Built right into the Sea just amazing! Just like the Rest of Bungalows they offer at the Lighthouse Bungalows. The staff at the Lighthouse are Super friendly and they Helped us whereever they could! They offer A delicous range of traditional Thai cusine for fair prices. The Way to get to this beautiyful Place is quite a challange but it was Always Fun because at the end you will Not Believe your eyes! def. worth it. We can recommend this Place to Everyone who is Not Expecting a luxioury Posh Thing on this beautiful Island! Best stay on kho phangan so far.

We will definatliy will come back - we are looking forward! Special Thanks to Karla and Dam

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Lighthouse Bungalows for 6 nights in early August. The view from our balcony was lovely and the sea breeze meant that we didn't miss air conditioning that much.

As others have said, getting to the place is not easy and it takes about 20 minutes to walk to Haad Rin. This is a good thing if you're looking to escape the Full Moon Party but you don't to need go that far to get away from the noise and madness.

It's also a horrible trek in the heat when you first arrive because you have to drag your bag down the length of Sunset/Lela beach. We were not offered the option of being collected from the top of the beach as others have mentioned and the number given to me in the confirmation email did not work when I tried calling to ask for a lift.

Our bungalow was clean and in good condition but it was very basic. The general "resort" was not well kept and looked very messy. With a bit of work the place could easily look a lot nicer and that is a shame.

The food was poor in terms of quality and presentation but the staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Language was a bit of a barrier at times.

Given the option we would not stay at Lighthouse again. It's not the worst of places but there are better options nearby which provide more comfort, better facilities and nicer food for only a bit more money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMcAvinue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

If you dont mind the short hike to get to the bugalows then it is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are far from luxurious but they have everything you need and have the most wonderful views from the balcony which had a hammock. The distance from the main beaches is just right, they are within walking distance but are away from any loud noise. We stayed in a double fan room for a very reasonable price of 360b per night (£7.40). The beds are covered by a mosquito net which was good as there are a few creepy crawlies around! The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#99 of 374 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Paradise
Little Paradise
#111 of 374 in Ko Pha Ngan
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mr. Black Resort
Mr. Black Resort
#102 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Property: Lighthouse Bungalows
Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing