We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Had Rin area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Ranked #86 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Had Rin area”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great place to stay away from the noise and hectic energy of Had Rin. Amazing, beautiful view, like no other place. Really stunning. Options for either budget travelers or those who want a bit nicer room. And the staff there is really friendly and helpful, providing great service. Free pickup and rides to Had Rin, which is great if you're not renting a motorbike.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaaniBhavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    24
    13
    6
    28
See reviews for
6
56
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing views, if not a little basic. The aircon rooms are a lot more luxurious than the fans, probably worth paying the extra.

Our room wasn't totally sealed (gaps in the floor/windows etc so bugs/mozzies still got in - the newer aircon bungalows looked a lot better built so would expect not to have same issue

Fan rooms have only cold showers. Cold means cold. Nice people running it, decent food; party is a laugh when they do it, goes on past the early hours, to mid day the next day. Hammock on the balcony is possibly the most relaxing place I've ever been.

Would go again, but I did miss the hot water and wifi in the rooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location, beautiful walk to the town along amazing beach and over the bridge. Good food with good prices. Nice clean bungalow, air con didn't see the cheaper bungalows. All rooms seemed to have amazing views right over the sea. Beach is just 2 minutes walk away and so beautiful. Quiet place but easy to get into the town and pick up and drop off is available if you ask before. Would live to go back here one day.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here so that I could be close to the party in Had Rin but also able to escape the noise. It is perfect for this. My room had amazing views out to sea and I couldn't have asked for more. The walk way to the resort is amazing and I loved to just stop and sit and enjoy the peace and views from the little sala on walk way. I am already trying to piece together another trip to Koh Phangan and will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walailuck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The unique aspect of Lighthouse Bungalows is its position ... rooms looking out over a boulder covered headland and stunning sunset sea views ... from every room, from your own hammock on your own balcony, both budget fan or more expensive aircon room. This is why you stay at Lighthouse, this is its unique feature and feel. This is what you pay for.
I have stayed in both the budget fan rooms and the more expensive and better appointed air con rooms ... all share the same superb views, note that the fan rooms are higher up the hillside ... hence more steps.
Some reviews complain about the long walk to Haad Rin ... Karla will arrange a pickup should you need it on arrival, and a drop off on departure. Alternatively a taxi will take you there for a modest fee. Generally I walked - 15 mins, much of which is down the lovely Leela Beach. I am 60 and found it no problem, even in the dark (take a small torch) .... I worry about the youth of today if they find it too far lol (but avoid the beach walk if you have a large wheely flight bag!)
Being away from the main bars of Haad Rin gives a lovely feel of seclusion, and the ability to be undisturbed, even on Full Moon Night, but still within easy reach of the action. The resort also has a feeling of security and avoids many of the theft and hassle problems that can occasionally be encountered in Haad Rin at Full Moon.
The food is good, and, whilst not the cheapest in Haad Rin, is value for money.
Remember ... this is Thailand, not Florida or Majorca ... different standards apply ... ants in beds (probably termites actually - unless you have a wooden leg ... they dont bite!), mosquitos (very few at Lighthouse because of the breeze on the end of the peninsula ... many more bites on Leela or in Haad Rin ... and doesnt everyone use deet???) ... but the upside is the geckos and the monkeys that can be seen from your balcony ... a touch of wildlife on your doorstep.
Snorkelling in the sea off Lighthouse is good, and the lovely Leela beach is 2 minutes stroll down the scenic wooden walkway.
If you like a 5* featureless white box, Lighthouse isnt for you ... if you want a feel of Thailand ... and did I mention those superb sunset views?? Lighthouse is where I will stay every time!

Room Tip: choose your budget ... fan or aircon ... all have a superb position and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnfrombuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Good:
Was very quiet which can be nice around full moon time.
Walking distance to Haad Rin (10-15 mins)
Free Wifi (but only around the restaurant- was none in the room)
Was quite an attractive resort.
Nice balcony with seaview and hammock was very relaxing

Bad:
We stayed in the basic room. But this was below basic. Get incredibly hot with just the fan. There is a big price difference between the fan room and air con but I think it would be worth it.
Moquito net in the room was ripped. Ended up getting a few bites.
They close the 'reception'/ restaurant early which means you have to use Wifi outside which is dark.
Not on the beach. Large rocks make it impossible to use the water there. However Leela beach is 3 mins walk away.
Ate there once for breakfast. Wasnt great. Expensive also.
Lack of English except for Karla but to be honest she wasnt very talkative with the guests from what I could see.
There is a lot of steps and can get a bit tiring.

Overall:
There is definitely better value for money on Leela beach just make sure you book early. Leela beach is the perfect base for Full Moon and the beach is beautiful.

Room Tip: Book aircon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

nice bungalows, nice place but not clean and many other anoying details like ants around lavabo, a tanga string behind the curtain, a too smal moskito net with a lot of holes...its a pitty for such a lovely place

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Leela Beach Resort
Leela Beach Resort
#72 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#44 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
AmaresA Resort & Skybar
#82 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moon Paradise Bungalows
Moon Paradise Bungalows
#58 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#27 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Property: Lighthouse Bungalows
Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing