We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaflower Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disaster from start to finish”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?! When we arrived we were put in the wrong bungalow, which was not an issue in itself, but we were informed loudly in the restaurant by the owner and she stood over us glaring until we moved our stuff to the correct bungalow (even though we were just finishing lunch). We had to move everything quickly with no help, and the young lad would only point in the general direction of the correct bungalow and not show us there (as he was very willing to do with the higher priced bungalow) - we were in mid-range accommodation, not the cheap seats!

We were told there were safety deposit boxes, but not where they were or how to access them.

They ration your toilet roll, and make you ask for more in the restaurant if you run out (a little un dignified, but this may be an issue only because I am British).

You get a single duvet for a double bed (that is concrete solid). We asked for another duvet, the person at the restaurant laughed and said yes, but it never materialised so I had the duvet and my husband used the sheet.

We had to sweep our bungalow when we arrived as it was covered in sand and what can only be described as droppings from some unknown animal/lizard.

We were given no map or recommendations of trips, sights, travel options. We have our own guide book, so not a huge issue, but there was no welcome at all, unlike the great introductions we have had everywhere else.

We wanted to see Phaeng waterfall, and the person at the restaurant said it would be a 20 minute walk. It was actually 7.5km which would have taken us 1.5 hours to walk if we had actually listened to her, so we started to walk and a taxi picked us up about 1km down the road.

When we needed to book our transport at the end of our stay, I was told they couldn't help me, and we had to wonder down the street and find someone who would give us the info on boats and order a taxi for the port. I was told on a couple of occasions that they won't order taxis for you......so be prepared to stand on the street if you need to get anywhere.

We had a whole saga when we tried to order the fish BBQ that was 'never written down' so we waited 2 hours for a meal that was never going to arrive, and being accused of lying that we placed the order in the first place.

It was a total nightmare, we felt very unwelcome, total lack of service. Don't expect any help, information, or advice. Expect to find everything by yourself!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Laurablue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    56
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
58
142
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great bungalows nestled amongst beautiful grounds with a lot of green cover.Great staff and an even better owner Lise and her husband Chai. A good bar on the beach to watch the great sunsets. wi-fi worked well.Great restaurant with good food .My only complaint would be, the inadequate lighting in the bungalows, would make it very difficult to get ready in the evenings.sea kayaks available. Beach was good and the waters were clear. it was pretty shallow for about a 100 metres but beyond that, it was good for snorkelling. Rooms cleaned every 2 days as is the norm in KOH PHANGAN, but it was brought to my attention during check in , which was ok. A safe available at the reception , with access to it between 7am to 9pm. carry a mozzie spray.It is a great place to get away from it all.stayed in traditional aircon bungalow 18.

Room Tip: Pirate bar on your left when you're facing the sea.There is a store 50 metres on the right when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islaparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Spent 2 weeks at Sea flower. 6 nights in #20 and the rest in #4. Loved both of them but even though #20 is right on the beach, too many other people hang out right in front. I think # 3 or 4 are perfect as they are more private but you can still see the water. Sea flower is very laid back atmosphere although the Heaven Bar can be loud sometimes at night. Beautiful sunsets, beach bbqs, great happy hour and music makes for a very chilled out experience. Love the bonfires and the Chinese lantern release on your last night :-) Owners are right there to help with everything. Food is all excellent and great price.

Room Tip: Love # 3 and 4 as A/C and semi private but close to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bajagirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I booked the Seaflowers Bungalows based on all the 'wonderful' reviews on here... Honestly, I was a bit disappointed. I am not one to complain, and overall our stay in Thailand was fantastic, with friendly staff in most places we stayed. Here I felt as if we were in the way, they seem to go out of there way to make time for their 'regular' visitors, but if we asked, wheres good to go. eat etc... they werent very helpful.

Postives
Beautiful Sunset at the Bar
Good, Reasonable Food
Very reasonable price for a short stay - we probably should have stayed a couple of days, and then moved on, but we booked before we left.

Negatives
Dirty Bungalow - we were there for 6 days, not cleaned once. I didnt like to ask.

If they arent going to clean the bungalows UNLESS you ask, then they should let you know on arrival.

It was dirty when we got there (sheets not changed, dirty towels on the floor) They changed the sheets once we let them know.

Dirty hammock

We had a fan bungalow, fan didnt work very well.

Would recommend as a short stay as fan bunglows very reasonable, however, perhaps 6 days too long.

Room Tip: I would recommend the newer bunglows and definately not A4
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbiC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is one of the best places I've stayed in Thailand
We stayed there for 2 weeks in June 2010
The owners are really sweet, friendly, interesting to talk to and comfortable to be around.
Great atmosphear.
There is a small bar on the beach. They serve tasty food, barbecues, drinks.. Laid back.
(and restaurant - hang out - with hammocks, books, backgammon, guitar etc, close to the reception)
We travelled with babies, and this location was great, so we could hang out in the evening/night and still be close to the bungalow. (We had a baby monitor)
There are white ducks walking around in the lovely colourful garden.
Thanx Lis and Jai!
I have some great pictures but the uploading doesnt seem to work..

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows.. / the ones closer to the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metamette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed in No 12 fan room.
Comfortable room and the fan was enough to keep you cool when getting ready or sleeping at night. Balcony was nice.
The beach is nothing special but we hired a bike for the 2 days we were there and saw all of Koh Panghan which we really liked.
Heavan Bar at night was a nice setting on the beach with live music some nights and a good place to chat to fellow guests.
Lighting in the room was hopeless though and made geting ready in the evening very difficult.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trayolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Incredible:The Family who runs this place manages to keep the spirit from over 20 years ago - and combined it with some luxury our days.They still have some of the original sheds side by side with AC Family Bungalows.If you are on holiday with your kids or a lost Backpacker looking for a place to meet new interesting people - that's your place. Very laid back, highly communicative - not to mention the wonderful ambiance.I met people there coming back after 20 years and still finding it as joyful as in "the good old days".It's now on my list of my four "Must Go" for Thailand.I could keep on writing about it for hours - but hey, just go there, you won't regret it!
Thank you,Liz ,Chai, Pascal and all the others of the "crew" - actually more a big Family.
This was definitely some of the best time I had in me life!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudie_Rudeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.5 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#19 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paragon Spa Resort
Paragon Spa Resort
#1 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaflower Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaflower Bungalows

Property: Seaflower Bungalows
Address: 81/2 Moo 8 Seethanu Koh Phangan Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seaflower Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaflower Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing