We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cookies Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cookies Bungalow
Ranked #29 of 131 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Not sure what the last review is on about. This place is amazing. Toilets aren't great, but a lot better than most of the others from the island. The rooms are amazing, Try and get one right on the beach. Best place to rent a moped as well, my mate crashed his and they hardly charged him anything (heard horror stories of people payin 10.000 baht). All the English speaking staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcbassman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    15
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

While the location of Cookies Bungalows is ideal (close to Thong Sala), I found the atmosphere less than friendly. Although a sigh reads "we are family," the older lady that sits in the restaurant never smiled once during our two weeks stay. It felt like we were an imposition, not family, if we wanted to order something at the restaurant. The prices were a bit high for the quality and quantity of food. We ended up eating at the night market (30Baht for make-your-own-pad-thai). That said, the restaurant area is a nice place to relax with other travellers and has a great view over water and we weren't forced to buy anything.

We stayed in two different bungalows during the two weeks and like a previous reviewer mentioned, we found the bungalows to have poor plumbing and felt a touch run down. The bungalows are small, but have a nice deck area (some have hammocks and a view of water). We tried to negotiate a better rate since we were staying for a longer time, but the best we could do was 400Baht a night. From speaking with other travellers, I think one could find similar bungalows but with a better view, closer to the water, and/or better atmosphere.

So, depending on what you are looking for, Cookies might suite your needs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

For the serious kiteboarder this is a dream. The days we were there there was a steady wind most of the day and the angle of the beach means you can scream in and out to your heart’s content. Sailboards, hobie cats and jet skies are other fun options. The bungalows themselves are cheap and cheerful and lack any frills – or indeed anything that resembles proper plumbing in some instances (our sink had no waste pipe and just splashed onto the floor). The walls are also paper-thin (just a rattan screen really) – so if you are a light sleeper and there is a heavy snorer (sorry!) or amorous couple nearby then prepare for the worst with some earplugs. The bar and restaurant is informal but has a great view and the food tastes better than the kitchen looks (and smells). The older of the two women running the bar is a bit scary (make sure you take off your shoes), but with a bit of effort you might coax a smile from her eventually. For free wi-fi cross the road and climb up to the Top Rock bar. Great sunset cocktail location.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get the air-con beachfront bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnBownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I came here hoping for a place to relax, sleep in a beach front bungalow and just enjoy myself and that's what I found. If you don't feel like ever leaving, they will cook you anything you want for more than reasonable prices. The family that owns and runs this are very understanding caring people and friendly while not invading on your privacy. I only stayed for 5 days, but the person next to me was there for 3 months. Cool showers were more than welcome during 90 degree days. Beds with mosquito nets as well. I can't wait to go back there again someday.

Room Tip: some are beach front bungalows, some are not. I think there were even tree houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

they have different bungalows, really easy ones for 400 baht, and then direct in front of the beach, a bit more expensive, but it is worth to pay a bit more. It is 20 minutes from the main town with bike, the restaurant is a dream to spent the time and the kitchen is authentic and delicious

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Llunastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunichScout
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

4th stay at this bungalow hotel. This time with a group of friends. As always very friendly - family like atmoshere. Bungalows are really basic but most of them with seaview. From her you can explore the whole island and remote from the party crowds. If you like more style and luxary stay away. If you need any assistance ask the always friendly staff. Motorbikes can be rented directly at the site - try in any case a canoe trip to the close Island. Sundown is alway a stunner at the restaurant deck.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

ultimate value for $$ beach front AC is highly recommended, really laid back and good location for getting to Thong Sala food markets and easy to get to FMP by taxi, cant wait to go back. good food there too

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennaduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
4.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.6 mi away
Cyana Beach Resort
Cyana Beach Resort
#15 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#22 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ford Sunset Beach Resort
The Ford Sunset Beach Resort
#24 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cookies Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies Bungalow

Property: Cookies Bungalow
Address: Ao Plaay Laem, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cookies Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing