We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookies kitchen”
Review of Cookies Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cookies Bungalow
Ranked #45 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A place with a beautiful view of the sunset. A pub on the rocks. Wild place :) in the evenings you can see the large lizards. delicious Thai food, good espresso and fruit juices.
While you can watch surfboards, watch the beautiful natural views.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Agrita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed only one night there just before leaving the island and it's a very nice place. Not so far from the port, the beach is really beautiful and clean (but very small !). Bungalows are corrects for the price and the food is good but a little bit expensive. I could have stayed longer there.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Thank ..Beautiful, tranquil location on the west coast of koh phangan. Friendly owner, too. (thai guy called Tom) Had a bungalow there for 300B, absolutely worth it. It's not too far away from shopping (thon sala) and party scene either.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed for 9 prepaid nights in February 2013.

What were great were the restaurant/terrace right over the water, the travelers who stayed there, the sunsets behind the off shore islands, and the location for wind-surfing and the like...spectacular!

Two things were not great forme. That part of Koh Phagan has a very shallow shelf, so swimming was basically restricted to swimming parallel to the shore at high tide..no deeper water. Just be aware.

Secondly, they have a rat problem. Whilst I was there rats not only walked around high up inside my room, but also on my bedside table. My friend found a big rat on the beams inside her bathroom, another girl had the straps of her back pack completely chewed through, and, before I arrived, prospective guests were apparently shown to their rooms and found rats on their bed; they left.

The reason for the rats are a large compost heap right in the center of the complex, a general lack of hygiene, and concern, and no cats.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriswenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Beautiful, tranquil location on the west coast of koh phangan. Friendly owner, too. (thai guy called Tom) Had a bungalow there for 300B, absolutely worth it. It's not too far away from shopping (thon sala) and party scene either.

Room Tip: give the hammock a try before you choose your bungalow :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Not sure what the last review is on about. This place is amazing. Toilets aren't great, but a lot better than most of the others from the island. The rooms are amazing, Try and get one right on the beach. Best place to rent a moped as well, my mate crashed his and they hardly charged him anything (heard horror stories of people payin 10.000 baht). All the English speaking staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcbassman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

While the location of Cookies Bungalows is ideal (close to Thong Sala), I found the atmosphere less than friendly. Although a sigh reads "we are family," the older lady that sits in the restaurant never smiled once during our two weeks stay. It felt like we were an imposition, not family, if we wanted to order something at the restaurant. The prices were a bit high for the quality and quantity of food. We ended up eating at the night market (30Baht for make-your-own-pad-thai). That said, the restaurant area is a nice place to relax with other travellers and has a great view over water and we weren't forced to buy anything.

We stayed in two different bungalows during the two weeks and like a previous reviewer mentioned, we found the bungalows to have poor plumbing and felt a touch run down. The bungalows are small, but have a nice deck area (some have hammocks and a view of water). We tried to negotiate a better rate since we were staying for a longer time, but the best we could do was 400Baht a night. From speaking with other travellers, I think one could find similar bungalows but with a better view, closer to the water, and/or better atmosphere.

So, depending on what you are looking for, Cookies might suite your needs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.6 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#11 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa Koh Phangan
The Villa Koh Phangan
#141 of 382 in Ko Pha Ngan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Sea Resort
Grand Sea Resort
#65 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Sunset Resort
Sea Sunset Resort
#79 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Jai Dee
Baan Jai Dee
#36 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cookies Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies Bungalow

Address: Ao Plaay Laem, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cookies Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing