We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality - like family to us!”
Review of Cookies Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cookies Bungalow
Ranked #31 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MunichScout
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality - like family to us!”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

4th stay at this bungalow hotel. This time with a group of friends. As always very friendly - family like atmoshere. Bungalows are really basic but most of them with seaview. From her you can explore the whole island and remote from the party crowds. If you like more style and luxary stay away. If you need any assistance ask the always friendly staff. Motorbikes can be rented directly at the site - try in any case a canoe trip to the close Island. Sundown is alway a stunner at the restaurant deck.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    15
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2010

ultimate value for $$ beach front AC is highly recommended, really laid back and good location for getting to Thong Sala food markets and easy to get to FMP by taxi, cant wait to go back. good food there too

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennaduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at Cookies Bungalow for 6 days and found it to be the prettiest and best located hotel on Haad Salad beach. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was outstanding (we ate there for every meal because there was so much great food to choose from!) and the view was perfect. For a home away from home experience at the sea make sure you book a oversea view cottage at Cookies! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bavaria, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

I was @ cookies for more than one week. I had a bungalow on the seaside. I had my cold shower and my bucket flush toilet.
It was all fine, I mean, I payed about 5 Euros/US $7.50 for my bungalow. The food was GREAT and the Service was... not perfect but real.. it is family-owned and the atmosphere is nice. Everybody is so friendly. Sometimes you have problems having your favorite film shown in the restaurant/lounge/whatever... sometimes they wanted to decide which film to play.
But I still liked it a lot, even though I couldn't experience the beach very much due to rain at the end of April/beginning of May...
You pay every friday and you wonder how you manage with little money even though you've had a lot of food and drinks.
When I was there it was really crowded of cool people. I had a lot of fun and met so many nice people.
When there was full moon party the owners took all our valuables to protect them. I've heard that it is dangerous to keep your belongings in the bungalows during full moon due to break-ins. Even though they assured us we will be fine they also offered to keep it.
You have to go a pretty long way to the full moon party but it is ok. I loved the privacy of this nice little "resort"
the pool was not very clean but, hey, who wants to go to the pool if you have got a nice beach..

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felixmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I may have appreciated Cookies more had I not just come from a pristine, newly-renovated, and cheaper bungalow up the coast of Koh Phangan. Nowhere on the island did I sense such a desolate air. My beachfront bungalow had cracks between the floor and wall planks and when I arrived the mosquito net was covered in live beetles and spider carcasses. Thankfully the handyman replaced it with a clean one when I expressed my sheer terror. I loved that my porch had a darling writing desk facing the water, but I couldn't lie in the hammock because it was right underneath it and too heavy to move.

The en-suite bathroom had a bucket-flush toilet, a tiny square of mirror hanging by string, no sink, and cold-water shower. A large gap between the shanty walls and makeshift ceiling allowed passersby to clearly observe anyone showering within; not for the modest. Other guests, few and far between, appeared to belong to a middle-aged bracket. The restaurant was consistently deserted, which was odd because I stayed here two nights before the full moon party, so by all rights, it should have been teeming with partygoers. I had a delicious tofu burger but the pad thai was pathetic. Just noodles and ketchup.

Cookies's beach is blanketed with boulders and sea-shrubs; picturesque but bad for laying out. The beach next door, reached only by traversing and scaling the large rocks, is lonely and dull compared to most of the others on the island. This resort would be ideal for low-maintenance, exhibitionist couples longing for seclusion, NOT for solo travelers with any interest in meeting others. For those like me afraid to drive a motorbike, Thong Sala is a scenic 15-minute walk away. With advance notice Cookies will provide free pickup from there or nearby bungalows.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solo_sybarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
4.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#22 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bluerama Resort
Bluerama Resort
#54 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa Koh Phangan
The Villa Koh Phangan
#132 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#44 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cookies Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookies Bungalow

Property: Cookies Bungalow
Address: Ao Plaay Laem, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cookies Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing